Earth : Europe : France : Great West : Brittany : Ille-et-Vilaine : Talensac
Talensac (Breton: Talenseg, Gallo: Talanczac) is a commune in the department of Ille-et-Vilaine in Brittany. The river Meu forms all of the commune's eastern border. Located at 20 km west of Rennes in the perimeter of the second suburb of Rennes, Talensac is crossed from the West to the East by the brooks of Guillermoux and of Bignons which form the Barillais, the Serein and the Rohuel and then the Chèze which are confluents of the Meu river. It is next to the forest of Montfort-sur-Meu. The town stretches on 2.161 hectares including 174 hectares of forest with a population of 2.100 inhabitants. Talensac has hamlets: Crabassou and Trénube.
As soon as 1803, Talensac was an independant parish which also included the village of Le Verger. The first church was replaced and rebuilt around 1703. But this church, dedicated to Saint-Anne, was devastated by a fire in June 1872. Another church was then built (actual church). It has been consecrated in 1882 by the archbishop of that time. Judicaël and Erispoë, kings of Brittany, had a residence from the VIIth and IXth century in Talensac. Erispoë lived in the village of the "Châtellier" next to the road of Breteil. This fortification was protected as it had moats. The 2nd of November 857, Erispoë is assassinated in the church of Talensac by Salomon, his first cousin, who didn't want Erispoë's daughter to marry the son of Charles le Chauve. This would have brought into play the lands of Salomon and the independance of Brittany faced to West Francia, but also all the chances of Salomon to access to the throne. In 1152, Guillaume I's spouse gave Saint-Jacques de Montfort abbey, the taxes of Talensac and the mill of the town to monks. The son of Guillaume I and of Amice de Porhoët, Godefroy de Montfort, left the "le pré au Comte" in 1171. Around 1372, the castle of the "Châtellier", property of the Bintin family, is devastated. In 1697, Jeanne-Françoise De Massuel, Lady of the Bois-de-Bintin, married the Lord of Belin, Mathurin Lesné, in Talensac. Him and his spouse lived in the castle of "Bédoyère", an imposing residence from the XVIIth century. The castle, badly preserved during the different periods it went through, was demolished around 1920.
Take the road RN24 (Rennes / Vannes-Lorient) and the exit Talensac-Montfort.
The closest airport is at Rennes.
Railway station of Montfort-sur-Meu, direct lines from Rennes.
Illenoo Bus, line 2 : Breteil, Iffendic, La Nouaye, Montfort-sur-Meu, departing from the Railway station of Rennes.
It is dated from the XIXth century but the cross next to it is from the XVIth century.
Cross the Eminescu park is discover an exceptional view on the Meu valley. Starting point of pedestrian paths, this park offers playgrounds and picnic areas.
The departure of this circuit is at the esplanade "Eminescu". It lasts about 1h and is 5 Km long. It is marked with green arrows. The path has a few quite steep hills.
The departure is at the esplanade "Eminescu" and is marked by red arrows. The circuit lasts 2h45 and is about 11.5 Km long. The circuit offers a panorama on Montfort-sur-Meu, Bédée and Breteil. Brooks and small waterfalls liven the walk.
The departure is at the esplanade "Eminescu" in Talensac. The circuit is 14 Km long and lasts 3h15. It is marked with blue and red arrows. The landscape is undulating and there is a lot of moor. It offers a nice panorama on the villages of Monterfil, Le Verger and Treffendel, but we can also see a bit of the city of Rennes.
The departure is at the esplanade "Eminescu". It is 4.5 Km long and lasts 1h10. It hasen't got any major difficulties.
The district of Montfort en Brocéliande offers many local products:
Production of honey, chouchen, gingerbread, royal jelly, pollen, sweets. Sale on the scene, in the market of Montfort-sur-Meu (Friday morning), at the coffeeshop of "Mille et une raisons" (Iffendic) and at the Tourist Office of Montfort-sur-Meu.
Milk fed veal meat and bovine meat. The meat is carved, vacuum-packed, ready to eat or to deep-freeze. Information on the scene, by phone or on the internet.
2 decorated caravans in the "bohemian" style for four people each (three adults maximum).
The guesthouse is a former farm. It is at disposal of all kind of group (full pension, half board, with or without activities). The guesthouse is also equipped of a big room which can house up to 80 people.