YOU CAN EDIT THIS PAGE! Just click any blue "Edit" link and start writing!


Jump to: navigation, search


2 bytes removed, 11:24, 19 June 2008
Most Indians who practise vegetarianism do so for religious or cultural reasons — though cultural taboos have their roots in ethical concerns. Indians' dietary restrictions come in all shapes and sizes and the two symbols (see right) do not capture the full range. Here is a quick guide:
* '''Veganism''' is practically unknown in India, because milk and honey are enthusiastically consumed by virtually everyone. But eggs are considered non-vegetarian by many, though you are very likely to find people who are otherwise vegetarian eating eggs. These people are often referred to as '''eggetarians'''.
* The strictest vegetarians are some '''Jains and some Vaishnava Brahmin sects''' - they not only abjure all kinds of meat and eggs, they also refuse to eat onions, potatoes or anything grown under the soil.
* Even meat-eating Hindus often follow special diets during religious days or during '''fasts'''. Hindu fasts do not involve giving up all food, just eating a restricted diet — some take only fruits.
* A very small group of Indians are, or used to be '''piscatarians''' — i.e. they count fish as a vegetable product. Among these are Bengali and Konkani Brahmins. Such people are increasingly rare as most have taken to meat-eating.}}
Anonymous user

Navigation menu