Milies (Greek: Μηλιές) is a village and a municipality on Mt. Pelion in Greece. It is a traditional Greek mountain village, at a height of 400 m. It is 28 km from Volos, the capital city of the prefecture of Magnesia. Milies is connected with the GR-34A (Volos - Promyri) It has traditional stone houses, cobbled roads, good restaurants and accommodation in abundance. Milies is also notable for being the terminus of the narrow gauge (60 cm) Pelion Railway, built by the Italian engineer, Evaristo de Chirico, (father of the famous painter) between 1895 and 1903. This proved to be of considerable economic advantage to the region. The village commands striking views across the Pagasitikos Gulf and benefits from the many streams and water sources that Mt. Pelion is renowned for. These result in rich vegetation and cool, forested mountain slopes.
During the summer months one can also use the local small wooden-wagon train departing twice a day on weekends from Ano Lechonia, near Volos, in a very picturesque journey.
Visit the old library, founded by Anthimos Gazis. (M,T,W,T,F: 08:00~14:00, Sat 10:00-14:00, Sun closed, Free)
Take a look at the museum of the village. (16/6~14/9: 10am~2:30pm & 6:30~9:00pm - 16/9~ 15/6: W-F 10:00~2:00pm, Sat-Sun 11am-3pm, Public holidays 10am-5pm, Free)
Light a candle in the church on the central square.
Explore the forested hills along the numerous very old paths around the village. Running waters, springs, brooks, watermills, stone bridges, two caves, numerous species of wildlife.
Many family owned restaurants on the village. Some well known are
"Aigli" at the central square
"Palios Stathmos", at a very picturesque setting with a very good collection of plates,
"To Salkimi", on the main road, just before the central square
The tap water is drinkable and restaurants will serve glasses of ice water upon request. Local drinks include Mythos (beer) and Ouzo.
Milies is a generally safe destination.