| || |
Regular trains (usually 2 per hour) run to ''Helensburgh Central'' from [[Glasgow]] Queen Street station (Low Level). A few services a day also run to ''Helensburgh Upper'' on the [[West Highland Railway]] from [[Oban]], [[Fort William]], [[Mallaig]] and Glasgow Queen Street (High Level).
Regular trains (usually 2 per hour) run to ''Helensburgh Central'' from [[Glasgow]] Queen Street station (Low Level) . A few services a day also run to ''Helensburgh Upper'' on the [[West Highland Railway]] from [[Oban]], [[Fort William]], [[Mallaig]] and Glasgow Queen Street (High Level).
| || |
- For other places with the same name, see Helensburgh (disambiguation).
Helensburgh is a town in Argyll and Bute, Scotland. The town is notable for being the birthplace of John Logie Baird, the inventor of television.
Helensburgh is around 30 miles west of Glasgow.
Helensburgh can be accessed via the A82/A814 roads.
Regular trains (usually 2 per hour) run to Helensburgh Central from Glasgow Queen Street station (Low Level) and Edinburgh. A few services a day also run to Helensburgh Upper on the West Highland Railway from Oban, Fort William, Mallaig and Glasgow Queen Street (High Level).
The passenger ferries from Kilcreggan and Gourock ceased operation in April 2012. It is still possible to get a ferry from Gourock to Kilcreggan and then get a bus to Helensburgh.
The paddle steamer Waverley occasionally calls at Helensburgh during the summer.
Buses run services into most of the town's areas on a regular basis until around 11pm at night. Regular buses also run to Glasgow and various other outlying villages and towns.
- Hill House - A house designed by renowned architect Charles Rennie Mackintosh
- Glenarn, Rhu - Open daily 21st March - 21st September from sunrise to sunset. 1 mile west of Helensburgh off the A814 in the conservation village of Rhu. A special woodland garden with a Himalayan atmosphere where you can walk under superb giant species rhododendrons or look out across the Gareloch
- Henry Bell Monument - West Clyde Street. Erected in memory of Henry Bell, first Provost of the town in 1807 and builder of the Comet paddle-steamer in 1812 to link Glasgow, Greenock and Helensburgh.
- Waverley Paddle Steamer - Sails from Helensburgh to Inellan, Dunoon,Rothesay and round the Kyles of Bute during the summer season .
As well as its supermarkets and multiple stores, Helensburgh has a great variety of privately owned retail shops and other businesses. There are hotels, restaurants, pubs, cafés and coffee shops, some with outside tables in the square.
There are lots of places in the centre of town for a daytime snack or cup of tea, but less for evenings. There are Indian and Chinese Restaurants, and Fish and Chip shops.
- Commodore hotel 112 - 117 West Clyde St. Tel: 01436 676924 Hotel serving "pub grub".
- Ardencaple Hotel Shore Road Rhu Tel: 01436 820200 Hotel serving "pub grub".
Helensburgh has many pubs and restaurants to choose from.
The Clyde Bar a warm and friendly local pub with many entertainment evenings, it has a unique style and charm that makes it a popular draw for locals and visitors, young and old. A must not miss for a flavour of Helensburgh.
Helensburgh has a wide mix of accommodation from homely B&Bs/guest houses to hotels.
Bed and Breakfasts
- Sinclair House, 91/93 Sinclair Street, Helensburgh, Argyll & Bute G84 8TR Telephone: +44 1436 676301.  B&B from £52 per room.
- Commodore Hotel , 112-117 West Clyde Street, Helensburgh, G84 8ES Tel: 01436 676924,  The biggest hotel in town with rooms from £55. Refurbished in about 2004. On the sea front about 1/2 mile from the town centre.
- Imperial Hotel, 12-14 West Clyde St, Helensburgh, G84 8SQ Telephone: 01436 672320. In the centre of town on the sea front.
- County Lodge Hotel, Old Luss Road, Helensburgh, G84 7BH, Tel: +44 1436 672034 . Nearly 1 mile east of the town centre, near Colgrain Station. Rooms £40-£55.
The Tourist Information Office is in the Clock Tower, East Clyde Street, (01436 672642), open in the summer only. From the station, walk one block towards the sea down Sinclair Street, then cross the road to the office in the clock tower of the former Old Parish Church (the rest of the building was demolished).