| || |
Revision as of 11:34, 13 November 2010
Fribourg  is a city in Switzerland that is also the canton's capital and economic center. The city was founded in 1157 by Herzog Berthold IV of Zaehringen. Fribourg is known for its cultural plurality, university, and bridges over the Sarine River that link the French-speaking part of Switzerland to the German-speaking part.
Fribourg offers a multitude of architectural sights. The Old Town, with Switzerland's best-preserved fortifications, is under a preservation order and there are still more than 200 Gothic-style houses to be admired.
In addition there are aristocratic town houses, monuments, St. Niklaus cathedral and numerous churches.
Fribourg has been a part of the Swiss Confederation since 1481, with over 10,000 inhabitants at that time. Since the city was founded on a penninsula many bridges were built to span the Sarine River, the first one in 1250. In the 19th century Fribourg was famous for its suspension bridges which have now been replaced with concrete. The university was founded in 1889. The 2000 census showed a population of 35,000 city residents and 235,000 in the Fribourg canton.
Sprinkled throughout the city are Renaissance fountains and more recent fountains such as the Tinguely Fountain made in 1984.
- Fribourg Tourism Office, Avenue de la Gare 1 (Walk outside the main train station and turn to your right. Directly across the street you will see the familiar 'i' marking a tourist office in Switzerland.), ☎ +''41'' 26 350 11 11 ([email protected], fax: +''41'' 26 350 11 12), . Mo-Fr 09:00-18:00, Sa 09:00-12:30.
Fribourg is accessible by one of the most efficient rail services in the world, the SBB . Trains run from Geneva airport, Geneva, Thun, Lausanne, St. Gallen, and Bern and Zürich, as well as many other cities and towns throughout Switzerland (anywhere from every half hour to daily) throughout the day and night. The SBB website has an excellent online timetable and route planner.
There is an intercity train from Zürich airport to Fribourg (1hr 41min). Other connections can be made but require changes. Zürich airport is Switzerland's largest international gateway with flights from all over Europe and North America, Asia, Africa and the Middle East and is 160km from Fribourg.
Fribourg can also be accessed from Basel's EuroAirport within 1hr 48min by bus and train. Bus 50 takes you from the airport to the Basel SBB in 17 minutes and runs frequently throughout the day. There are multiple connection every hour from the Basel SBB to Fribourg. EuroAirport is an international airport servicing many cities throughout Europe and is 140km from Fribourg.
Geneva airport is also 140km from Fribourg with direct train links that run hourly.
The best way to see the ancient and modern sights of Fribourg is on foot. Many of the main attractions are within walking distance from the main railway and bus station.
Portal over entrance to St. Nicholas Cathedral
- Bern Bridge, (Bus 4 to Palme). This covered wooden bridge is 40m long. The original bridge has been constantly renovated and it is now Fribourg's only remaining wooden bridge. Free.
- Berne Gate, (Bus 4 to Palme). This gate is 24m high with a winding staircase around the exterior. The structure was built between 1270 and 1290 and has been heightened twice since then but still retains its original doors.
- Bibliothèque Cantonale et Universitaire, Rue Joseph-Piller 2, ☎ +41 26 305 13 33 ([email protected], fax: +41 26 305 13 78), . M-F 8AM-10PM Sa 8AM-4PM. This library contains medieval documents and transcripts of Fribourg as well as photographs, books, and audio-visual materials that are displayed in temporary exhibits that can be seen in guided tours and lectures.
- Cathedral of St. Nicholas, Rue des Chanoines 3 (From the SBB station, bus 2 or 6), ☎ +41 26 347 10 40, . Su 2-5PM M-F 9AM-6PM Sa 9AM-4PM. Contruction on this cathedral first began in 1283 and was completed around 1430. Work on the unfinished west tower was stopped in 1490. It has been the Cathedral of the diocese of Lausanne, Geneva, and Fribourg since 1945. There are a total of 13 bells in the western tower and bell tower of the choir. The western tower is open to the public and provides a view high above the city. CHF3.50 (tower).
- Chemins de fer du Kaeserberg, Fondation des Chemins de fer du Kaeserberg (From the main station, bus 575 (La Faye) to stop 'Coteau' then walk for 5 minutes.), ☎ +41 26 467 70 40 ([email protected]), . Su Tu Sa 9:30AM-3:30PM (every 40min). This museum presents a network of minature railways with 2045m of track through a make-believe Switzerland. The model is built on three levels on a scale of 1:87. The show lasts approximately 90 minutes and requires a reservation that can be made through their website. CHF18.
- Espace Jean Tinguely Niki dè Saint Phalle, Rue de Morat 2 (From the SBB, bus 1 (St-Léonard) 2 (Schoenberg) or 6 (Musy) to stop Tilleul), ☎ +41 26 305 51 41 ([email protected]), . W F-Su 11AM-6PM Th 11AM-8PM. This is a really interesting museum that displays major works from both artists and also regularly holds temporary exhibits. The museum is housed in a building from 1900 once used to shelter trams Adult CHF6, Student CHF4.
- Fontaine Jo Siffert, Grand-Places (From SBB turn walk east down Ave. de la Gare, turn right at Place Jean Tinguely. Grand-Places is on the right just past Place Jean Tinguely). This fountain by Jean Tinguely was dedicated to the memory of his friend Jo Stiffert, Formula 1 driver. The performance of the mechanical fountain varies depending on sun, clouds, and ice. Free.
- Musée d'Art et d'Histoire, Rue de Morat 12 (From the SBB, bus 1 (St-Léonard) 2 (Schoenberg) or 6 (Musy) to stop Tilleul), ☎ +41 26 305 51 30 ([email protected], fax: +41 26 305 51 41), . Tu-W,F-Su 11AM-6PM Th 11AM-8PM. This museum of art and history is housed in Fribourg's only Renaissance building, The Ratzé Palace. The collections housed here include paintings and statues from the 12th to 19th centuries as well as historical remains that depict political, religious, and business aspects of life in Fribourg during that period. There is also a former slaughterhouse that now contains paintings and stone statues from the 19th and 20th centuries. In the garden is the piece of art La Lune by Niki de Saint Phalle as well as four other works. Adult CHF8, student CHF5(With no temporary exhibits Adult CHF6 Student CHF4).
- Musée de la Bière Cardinal (Cardinal Beer Museum), Passage du Cardinal, ☎ +41 26 429 22 16 ([email protected], fax: +41 26 429 22 21), . Tu Th 2PM-6PM. Learn the history of the brewery and ancestral breweing methods, housed in former storage cellars. CHF10 (includes a drink).
- Zaehringen Bridge, (From SBB, bus 2 or 6 to 'Pont Zaehringen'). The original suspension bridge was built in 1834 and replaced in 1924 with concrete. The bridge is 165m long and spans the Sarine River. There is a footpath beneath the roadway. To get a clear view of the bridge try the Bern Gate or Bern Bridge.
Zaehringen Bridge from Bern Gate's base
- HC Fribourg-Gottéron, Allée du Cimetière 1 (From SBB, bus 1 (Portes-de-Fribourg) to Stade-Patinoire), ☎ +41 26 347 13 13 ([email protected]), . See Fribourg's ice hockey team in action. Standing CHF10-20 Seats CHF30-40.
- Ride the Funnicular, ☎ +41 26 351 02 00 ([email protected]), . Workdays 7-8:15AM Daily 9:30AM-7PM. This cable railway links the upper part of the city to the lower part. It has been running since 1899 and is powered solely by the town's waste water. The two cars counterbalance one another through their ascent and descent and as they make the journey along the steep slope they offer a clear view of Old Town. Runs every 6 minutes based on demand. Return CHF2.30 Single CHF1.30.
- Walk through Old Town. The Old Town of Fribourg is better known as Basse Ville and offers narrow winding streets to churches, fountains, ancient bridges and medieval buildings with over 200 Gothic facades dating from the 15th century. There are also many cosy cafes and warm restaurants throughout the area. Old Town is easy enough to find, just look for the 76m high tower of the St. Nicholas Cathedral. Other sights worth noting in Old Town are the Town Hall, the Church of Notre-Dame, and the Musée d'Art et d'Histoire.
- St Nicholas Day. First week of December. St. Nicholas is the patron saint of the town of Fribourg and is celebrated every year during the first week of December throughout the region. The celebration includes a parade at dusk with the saint riding a donkey at the head of the procession, and an outdoor market.
- Café des Arcades, Place des Ormeaux 1, ☎ +41 (0)26 321 48 40, . Le Café des Arcades is a typical, local café-comptoir-restaurant located close to the famous cathedral. This café has existed over 140 years. During the summer time, you may want to check out the beautiful terrace. The food is excellent and not too expensive. A perfect place to dive into the typical atmosphere of Fribourg's café scene.
- RDV Café, Place de N. Friburgo. +41 26 322 32 55. A cozy little bar on a hill overlooking the main plaza between the old old town and the slightly newer old town. There seems to be free wireless, though there are no signs advertising the fact, so it might just be a neighbor's access point. 4Chf coffee, 5Chf draft beer.
Another Fribourg little panorama
- Fribourg Youth Hostel, rue de l'Hôpital 2, Fribourg. +41 26 323 19 16 [email protected]