Kaikki ei kuulu Wikitraveliin. Aika usein joudumme poistamaan Wikitravelista artikkeleita; tämä käytäntö määrittelee miksi ja miten.
Syitä poistaa artikkeli[muokkaa]
Artikkelin sisällön voi kokonaan tai osittain poistaa kuka tahansa, mutta vain ylläpitäjä voi poistaa itse artikkelin nimen ja linkin. Näin pitäisi tehdä kun artikkeli...
Article entries should not be deleted from the site when a legitimate article can be written for the subject. Some examples:
In these cases, rather than deleting the article, its text should initially be replaced by a stub and later with a real article.
Reasons to delete redirection pages[muokkaa]
Redirection pages that link to non-existent pages show up as Broken redirects and Dead-end pages. As a general rule redirection pages should not be deleted. Redirection pages provide alternative page titles for articles and allow search engines to locate articles by their alternative names. If you are deleting a page, be sure to check that any links to that page are also changed to point to the right place, especially if content has been moved. Unlinked redirect pages can, and should, also be changed if possible, though consider deleting it if:
Deleting vs. redirecting[muokkaa]
Redirecting non-articles, when possible, is usually preferred to deletion because a) anyone can make a redirect and b) redirects may help with search engine optimization. The rule of thumb is, if it is a real place, redirect rather than delete. Major attractions and geographical areas can and should be redirected, but articles about restaurants, bars, hotels, and other such commercial establishments should be deleted rather than redirected, in order to curb touting.
Reasons to delete images[muokkaa]
Unlike articles, images and other media can't easily be edited within the Wiki. For this reason, it's more reasonable to delete them than articles.
Some reasons to delete images are:
Other contributors can discuss whether the article or image should be deleted. Articles and images are presumed guilty until proven innocent. After fourteen (14) days of discussion, if a consensus is reached to retain an article, it won't be deleted. Otherwise it will be deleted by an administrator.
Pages in a user's namespace (User:Foobar/MyPage) can be deleted by any administrator immediately upon the user's own request, but such requests should still be posted to Wikitravel:Votes for deletion. The standard procedure applies if somebody other than the owner requests deletion.
Administrators may also, at their discretion, delete obviously inappropriate articles and images:
If there is any doubt whether the criteria above apply, or any chance that an article or image could be considered useful, they should go through the deletion voting procedure. If the content has potential but the name is hopeless, the content should be moved to the proper place before deletion. If the name is OK but the article content is a copyright violation, it should be blanked and replaced with a template, not deleted.
To contest a speedy deletion, raise the issue on Wikitravel:Votes for undeletion.
In some cases an article or image may be nominated for deletion, and a consensus to keep the content is then reached before fourteen days have passed. In this case leaving the article or image as a candidate for deletion is no longer necessary and the VFD may be ended early. When ending a VFD early:
Do not end a VFD early unless a clear consensus is reached. A consensus is not the same as a majority, nor do a small handful of comments in favor of keeping an article constitute a consensus. If you are unsure about whether a consensus has been reached, allow the VFD to continue.
It may occur from time to time that we delete an article by mistake -- that is, that the article doesn't actually meet the standards for deleting articles listed above. In this case, a Wikitraveller should link to the page on Wikitravel:votes for undeletion, with an explanation of why the deletion wasn't in accordance with the deletion policy. Articles and images are still considered guilty until proven innocent. After fourteen (14) days of discussion, if a consensus arises that the page was deleted unnecessarily, then an administrator should reinstate the page. Otherwise, the page will stay deleted.