YOU CAN EDIT THIS PAGE! Just click any blue "Edit" link and start writing!


From Wikitravel
Jump to: navigation, search

About myself

I am an Austrian living in Germany and study maths and computer science, but am always eager to travel and learn new languages. Current language knowledge:

  • Mother tongue: German
  • Fluently: German, English, French, Spanish
  • Quite well: Bulgarian
  • Beginner: Italian, Russian

I am probably starting an Arabic course this year (2004), and who knows what other languages... Most fascinating languages are Georgian and Armenian to me (but I dont know too much about them).

I live in Erlangen, Germany, a small yet charming town (at least for a limited time with a really cool beer festival once a year (Erlanger Bergkirchweih).


I have been up till now in these countries (some more if you count those i have passed on some way or another

Western Europe 
France, England, Netherlands, Spain (lived there for 5 months), Portugal, Italy, Switzerland (only Fribourg), Austria, Belgium (only Brussels)
Central and Eastern Europe 
Poland (Poznan and Wroclaw), Czech Republic (love Prague!!!), Romania, Moldova, (Transnistria - not a recognized country!), Bulgaria (lived there for 5 months and loved it!)
South Eastern Europe
Turkey (only seen Ankara so far) and Cyprus (both parts!)
Outside Europe 
only Canada


One major reason why I travel so much is that I am a member of AEGEE - also dubbed "European Students Forum", which has antennae (locals) in most European university cities that organise Congresses and other events (virtually every week) and Summer Universities (from june till september, all over Europe) for a really low price, yet with sometimes little comfort (but who cares about that, when you get to know a lot of people and sleep only a few hours per night?).

My current focus of interest is on the Caucasus, as we will most probably have a Case Study Trip there next year (either Armenia or Azerbaijan).