YOU CAN EDIT THIS PAGE! Just click any blue "Edit" link and start writing!


From Wikitravel
Jump to: navigation, search
Evan Prodromou

My goal as a Wikitraveller is to channel other contributors' exuberance and knowledge to best meet our goals. With technology, community guidelines and policy, and day-to-day copyediting and re-structuring, I want to optimize the impact of Wikitravellers' efforts, and shorten the distance between editors and readers.

About me

Evan Prodromou, having bia hoi in Hoi An
Hometown Montreal
Residence Montreal
Other homes San Francisco, Lisbon, Geneva, Black Rock City
Have visited Kuta, Sherbrooke, Munich
Wishlist Montevideo, Marfa, Malta, Labrador

I was born 14 October 1968 in Cincinnati, Ohio but moved to California at an early age. After graduating with a major in physics and a minor in English at the University of California at Berkeley in 1990, I spent a year writing software in Amsterdam before returning to San Francisco to join the nascent Internet boom. I did a stint working for Microsoft's Bay Area office, then I lept into the Web with both feet, working on dozens of Web sites and Web software packages between 1995 and 2001. I developed a passion for Open Source software and Open Content, grass-roots Internet culture, and SF's Burning Man-oriented techno-artistico-music scene. I was lucky enough to meet Maj during this time.

In 2001 I got a generous layoff package from RSA Security and took the opportunity to quit the expensive hurly-burly SF lifestyle. I piled my belongings into the back of my beloved 1972 Citroen DS and spent the next 6 months alone driving around Canada, the United States, and Mexico. I eventually settled in Montreal to write my first novel (still unfinished), then joined Maj in Geneva for a round-the-world trip including touring Southeast Asia and living in Lisbon for a season. We returned to Montreal in July 2003 for Maj to start graduate school at McGill University, and as a side-project started Wikitravel.

A year later, we were married on the platform of the Biosphère in Montreal. Today, we're still living in Montreal, parents of a beautiful 2-year-old girl named Amita June. I work on Wikitravel full time doing development and system administration, and try to find time to write.