Tuam lies 32km north of Galway City on the N17 major route. It owes its origin according to legend, to the broken chariot wheel which St. Jarlath took as a sign to found his monastic settlement here in the 5th century. Tuam, the probable capital of Ireland during the 12th century, when the High King Rory O’Connor was in residence. During this period the O’Connors endowed Tuam with the processional Cross of Cong (now in the National Museum), and are associated with the ornamental High Crosses (now in St. Mary's Cathedral). Tuam's location on the N17 makes it a natural dormitory town of Galway city, but it also has many fine local industries.
Tuam is best known as a centre of church affairs, ancient and modern and has two cathedrals. The town owes its foundation to a monastery established here in the 6th century by St. Jarlath; ruins of Temple Jarlath, in the centre of the city, date from around 1360. The 14' 12 century High Cross of Tuam, a decorated sandstone piece, was once broken in three, with each piece in different ownership. It is now situated in the rebuilt (1878) Church of Ireland cathedral, which has a magnificent red sandstone chancel arch in laboured Romanesque, erected certainly between 1128 and 1152.
Tuam commemorated the 400 year anniversary in 2013. Tuam 400 was a festival of events designed to celebrate this historic marker as well as acknowledge the extraordinary achievements of its townspeople and market Tuam as a great place to live, work and visit.
Tuam is located on the N17 which is well services by Bus Eireann. An hourly bus service is available to and from Galway City. Both bus and train services are available from Galway City to other parts of Ireland.
Knock Airport is located 30 minutes to the North of Tuam Town.
Tuam is well serviced with chauffeur, taxi and hackney services.
There are also a number of private bus operators who transport small or large groups all over Ireland.
St. Mary’s Cathedral and Synod Hall incorporating the chancel and Hiberno-Romanesque arch of a former Cathedral. The Church of Ireland Cathedral dates from the 12th, 14th and 19th centuries. St Mary's also houses The High Cross of Tuam which was erected in the south transept of the 19th century building.
Cathedral of the Assumption the location at which St Jarlaths chariot wheel came undone.
Cloonfush Graveyard reputed to be the starting point of St Jarlath’s journey. Directions – from town centre, 1km towards Galway, first turn right, 2km to end of road.
Castlehackett reputed to be the burial spot of Queen Maeve. Directions – from town centre, 2km towards Galway, 2nd turn right, sign posted for Belclare 1km in that road.
Chair of Tuam part of the O’Connor castle, located in O’Tooles car park.
Teampall Jarlath 13th century parish church ruins and graveyard.
Palace Grounds a beautiful maintained scenic park with picnic area and 2km walkway through the trees.
Golf : Tuam Golf Club  is one of the top parkland courses in the West of Ireland. Green fees are available Monday through Saturday, with an Open competition every Wednesday.
Swimming : Tuam Swimming Pool is a modern complex with gym and sauna. Includes club member times and open visitor times.
Fishing : Tuam is a 30 minute drive from both Lough Mask and Lough Corrib. Both lakes offer some of the best fresh water fishing in Europe.
Walking : There are several scenic walks in the area, including :
- Knockma the great 'Hill of Maeve' which is situated 2km west of Belclare. Maeve the legendary Queen of Connacht is reputed to be buried in the Cairns on the summit of the hill from which one of the greatest panoramic views in Ireland may be obtained.
- The 1km river walk at Milltown, just 10km to the North of Tuam on the N17.
- The Palace Grounds to the rear of Tuam Swimming Pool at Bishop Street is a 1.2km walk in a woodland park. The hilly park includes a playground, tennis courts, picnic area and free car park.
There are several popular and well know bars and lounges in the Town, including Junie's at Shop Street, Canavan's at High Street and The Bridge Bar at Foster Place.