Originally founded by King U-Thong in 1350 within a bend of the Chao Phraya river, Ayutthaya was the capital of the Thai kingdom at its mightiest. Conquered and sacked by the Burmese in 1767, today only the ruins of its splendor remain. The modern city was founded a few kilometers further east.
Ayutthaya was originally known as "Ayothaya" which refers to the capital of King Rama (see Ramayana). When King Naresuan the Great defeated the Burmese, he changed the name of the city to "Aytthaya" meaning "the undefeatable city". Ayutthaya has been the kingdom of Siam for 417 years, and 33 kings of different dynasties ruled the kingdom.
The Bowring Treaty (1855), signed by King Mogkhut between Siam and Britain, was the first of its kind and successfully opened up Siam to Western influence and trade.
Among Thai cities, Ayutthaya's English name is probably the least standardized - it is also known as Ayotaya, Ayothaya, Ayudhya, Ayutaya, Ayuthaya and Ayuttaya. Historically, even names like Iudea and Judea were used.
Ayutthaya, due to its history as a previous capital of Thailand, the former base of Thai Buddhism and home to tens of kings; it is soaked in original Thai-Thai culture.
The people of Ayutthaya are certainly proud of their heritage; a place of beautiful temples, palaces and art. Besides royals, royal sub-ordinates and monks, the people of Ayutthuya were originally farmers who worked in the fields.
Ayutthaya was the first destination of any foreigner back in the days of the Kingdom of Ayutthaya and was the location of the first treaties ever signed behind powerful European nations and Siam.
There are various bicycling routes in Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya:
Route 1 TAT Ayutthaya Office – Ayutthaya Historical Study Centre, a total distance of approximately 1km. From opposite TAT, turn left into Rotchana Road, via the Chao Sam Phraya National Museum and Ayutthaya Historical Study Centre on the opposite side. Visitors should spend an hour and a half here.
Route 2 Ayutthaya Historical Study Centre – Wat Phra Si Sanphet, a total distance of approximately 2km. From the Ayutthaya Historical Study Centre, turn left into Rotchana Road, via the old city hall, turn right into Si Sanphet Road, via TAT and Wat Ket, straight on to Wihan Phra Mongkhon Bophit and Wat Phra Si Sanphet, on the left. Visitors should spend at least one hour here.
Route 3 Wat Phra Si Sanphet – Wat Mahathat – Wat Ratchaburana, a total distance of approximately 1km. From Wat Phra Si Sanphet, go straight ahead on Naresuan Road in between Wat Mahathat and Wat Ratchaburana. Visitors should spend at least one hour at the two temples and may stop at the nearby Thai Boat Museum.
Route 4 Thai Boat Museum – Wat Na Phra Men, a total distance of approximately 1km. From the Thai Boat Museum, follow the old Chikun Road, turn left into Naresuan Road, turn right at the intersection and go straight ahead, turn left again into the around town or Rop Ko Mueang Road, follow the Lop Buri River to Wat Na Phra Men. Visitors should spend at least one hour here to admire the beauty of the Phra Ubosot and its principal bejewelled Buddha image of the Ayutthaya period.
Route 5 Wat Na Phra Men – Wat Lokayasutharam, a total distance of approximately 1km. From Wat Na Phra Men, turn right to follow the Lop Buri River, via the remains of the old Grand Palace of the Ayutthaya Kingdom on the left, go straight ahead and down the bridge, turn left to the canalside road, straight on and turn right into Wat Lokayasutharam. Visitors should spend about 15 or 30 minutes here.
Route 6 Wat Lokayasutharam – Wat Chai Watthanaram, a total distance of approximately 2km. From Wat Lokayasutharam, return on the same route to the entrance of the canalside road, turn right via Suan Somdet Phra Si Nakharin, go straight ahead to the T-junction and turn left across the Wat Kasattrathirat Bridge, turn left again and continue along the route to Wat Chai Watthanaram. Visitors should spend at least half an hour or more here.
Route 7 Wat Chai Watthanaram – Portuguese Village, a total distance of approximately 4km. From Wat Chai Watthanaram, continue on the asphalt road via old traditional Thai houses, turn left at the T-junction via Wat Phutthaisawan, the Portuguese Village is at the end of this road.
Route 8 Portuguese Village – Wat Phutthaisawan, a total distance of approximately 2km. From the Portuguese Village, return on the same route to Wat Phutthaisawan. Visitors should spend about half an hour here.
Route 9 Wat Phutthaisawan – TAT Ayutthaya Office, a total distance of approximately 1km. From Wat Phutthaisawan, pedal via Wat Phutthaisawan School, turn left to the ferry pier, cross the river on board the ferry, turn left to return to the TAT Ayutthaya Office.
There are still many other bicycling routes such as to the Japanese Village, Wat Yai Chai Mongkhon and Wat Phananchoeng. For more information, contact the TAT Ayutthaya Office at Tel. 0 3524 6076 – 7. Bicycles for rent are available at Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya Tourist Police Office, in front of Ayutthaya Railway Station, Chao Phrom Market and several guesthouses at 50 – 70 Baht per day.
Tours to nearby natural and man made attractions can be made with local tour agencies. Some of the more reliable ones are Bangkok Day Tours , Ayutthaya Boat and Travel  or Nutty's Adventures . They all organize one day excursions and several day treks in Ayutthaya Province. The single-day excursions range in price from roughly 500 to 4000 baht. You can also hire a Rice Barge, and cruise through Ayutthaya and see its sights first class.
Most of Ayutthaya's sites are on the protected western half of the island, while the modern city sprawls to the east. There are additional sites off the main island.
The temples with entry charges are usually in ruins, so there is no dress code, although visitors are still requested to refrain from blatant stupidity like clambering up the Buddha statues. Working temples tend to charge no fees and there are often no officials to check that a dress is appropriate (though it is advised to follow these customs to show respect for sacred places).
- Wat Borom Phuttharam (วัดบรมพุทธาราม) situated inside Rajabhat University Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, the north-facing temple was built some time during 1688–1703 during the reign of King Phetracha on his former residence area near the main gate of the southern city wall. Its location and area plan was confined to be in the north-south direction by ancient communication routes; namely, Khlong Cha Krai Noi in the east and a royal pathway known as Thanon Maha Ratthaya or Thanon Pa Tong in the west. Unlike other temples, the King had all buildings roofed with yellow glazed tiles and the temple became known as “Wat Krabueang Khlueap” or the “glazed tile temple”. The construction took 2 years and the temple underwent a major renovation in the reign of King Borommakot, who had 3 pairs of door panels decorated with fine mother-of-pearl inlays. One pair of them is currently at Ho Phra Monthian Tham inside the Temple of the Emerald Buddha, the second is at Wat Benchamabophit (The Marble Temple), and the third was turned into cabinets and is now exhibited at the Bangkok National Museum.
- Wat Phra Si Sanphet (Sri Sanphet Rd) is the largest temple in Ayutthaya, known for its row of chedis (Thai-style stupas). Housed within the grounds of the former royal palace, the wat was used only for royal religious ceremonies. It once housed a 16-meter Buddha covered with 340 kg of gold, but the Burmese set fire to the statue to melt the gold and destroyed the temple in the process. Used as a residential palace, it became a monastery in the reign of King Ramathibodi I. When King Borom Trai Lokanat commanded new living quarters built, this residential palace was given to be a temple area, thus originating Wat Phra Si Sanphet : The royal chapel does not have any monks and novice inhabitants. It is open everyday from 8.00 a.m.-6.00 p.m. Entrance fee of 30 baht.
- Viharn Phra Mongkol Bopitah (Sri Sanphet Rd) is next to Wat Phra Si Sanphet and houses a large bronze cast Buddha image. It was originally enshrined outside the Grand Palace to the east. King Songtham commanded it to be transferred to the west, where it is currently enshrined and covered with a Mondop. Later in the reign of Phra Chao Suea, the top of the Mondop was burnt down by a fire due to a thunderbolt. Then, the King commanded a new building be built in the form of a big sanctuary (Maha Wihan) to cover the image in lieu of the former Mondop. During the second fall of Ayutthaya, the building and the image were badly destroyed by fire, the one currently seen was renovated but does not have as beautiful craftsmanship as the previous ones. The open area east of the Sanctuary (Wihan) was formerly Sanam Luang, where the royal cremation ceremony took place (This practice is now held at Sanam Luang, the Phramen Ground of Bangkok). No entry charge.
- Ancient Palace (access through Wat Phra Sri Sanphet, no additional entry charge) is mostly low-lying ruins set in large grounds, with only a few free standing buildings remaining. It was originally called the Grand Palace, the residential palace of every king was located close to the city wall of Ayutthaya. A road passes by from Chantharakasem Palace, which is two kilometres away to the north. Important buildings inside the Grand Palace compound are:
Wihan Somdet Hall (พระที่นั่งวิหารสมเด็จ): The top of this hall has been decorated in a unique style of architecture called Prang. It has longer space in front and rear gabled rooms, and shorter space in the side gabled rooms. It was surrounded with a three-sided cloister and utilized for various royal ceremonies such as coronations. This was the first building over constructed in Ayutthaya to be affixed with gold leaf.
Sanphet Prasat Hall (พระที่นั่งสรรเพชญ์ปราสาท): This is the middle building construted in the same design as Wihan Somdet Hall. Kings used it to welcome foreign envoys and visitors.
Suriyat Amarin Hall (พระที่นั่งสุริยาสน์อมรินทร์): A four-gabled roof building constructed of sandstone and brick; it is close to the riverside city wall. It was used as a place to witness the royal barge processions.
Chakkrawat Phaichayon Hall (พระที่นั่งจักรวรรดิ์ไพชยนต์): With a three-gabled roof, is on the inner eastern city wall in front of the Grand Palace. It was used to view processions and military practice.
Trimuk Hall (พระที่นั่งตรีมุข): This is located behind the Sanphet Prasat Hall. It is believed to have been the residential area of the consort members and also the garden was the royal relaxing place.
Banyong Rattanat Hall (พระที่นั่งบรรยงค์รัตนาสน์): Formerly known by the name of “Phra Thinang Thaisa”, it is in the back compound of the Grand Palace on an island in a pond. It has four-gabled roof architecture.
Remains of the throne halls that are left to be seen at present, were constructed in the reign of King Borommatrailokkanat and used to serve as royal residences for all later kings. Open daily during 6.00 a.m. – 6.00 p.m. Admission is 30 Baht each. A package ticket is also available at 180 Baht each, covering admission to temples and museums within the province and valid for 30 days, including Wat Phra Si Sanphet and the Ancient Palace Complex, Wat Mahathat, Wat Ratchaburana, Wat Phra Ram, Wat Chai Watthanaram, Chao Sam Phraya National Museum and Chantharakasem Museum. For more details call Tel. 0 3524 2501, 0 3524 4570.
Wiharn at Wat Thammikarat
- Wat Thammikarat (วัดธรรมิกราช) (U-Thong Rd) is a working wat, but also contains the ruins of a large chedi and a huge wiharn which has a large tree growing picturesquely out of the side of one wall. It is a temple in the Mahanikaya Sect, Wat Thammikarat was formerly known as Wat Mukkharat. When King Sainamphueng had Wat Phananchoeng constructed before the establishment of the Kingdom of Ayutthaya, King Thammikarat – his son, had this temple constructed in an old town called Sangkhaburi. The temple had successively been restored by later kings. In the reign of King Songtham (1610 A.D.), the temple was renovated and a Wihan Luang constructed for sermon hearing. The Wihan Luang once enshrined an enormous bronze head of the Buddha of the U Thong period, now exhibited at the Chao Sam Phraya National Museum. The temple also houses a Reclining Buddha hall called Wihan Phra Phutthasaiyat built by his queen consort following her wish made for her daughter’s recovery from an ailment. The Wihan is located to the north of Phra Chedi with a base of 52 surrounding Singha or lions, and houses a north-facing reclining Buddha image measuring 12 metres in length, with both feet gilded and inlaid with glass mosaic. No entry charge.
- Wat Ratchaburana (Naresuan Rd) stands out for having a large prang recently restored to its original condition, clearly visible if you come in from the east. A major find of golden statues and other paraphernalia was made here in 1958, although much was subsequently stolen by robbers — the remnants are now in the Chao Sam Phraya Museum. You can climb inside the prang for nice views and a little exhibit. The mysterious staircase down, leads to two unrestored rooms with original paintings still visible on the walls. Entrance fee of 30 baht.
Headless Buddha statues, Wat Mahathat
- Wat Phra Mahathat (Naresuan Rd), across the road from Wat Ratburana, is a large temple that was quite thoroughly ransacked by the Burmese. Several Leaning Prangs of Ayutthaya are still feebly defying gravity though, and the rows of headless Buddhas are atmospheric. This is also where you can spot the famous tree that has grown around a Buddha head. Entrance fee of 30 baht.
- Wat Phra Ram (Sri Sanphet Road) consists of one huge prang and some smaller chedi and outbuildings, all in disrepair though the top of the prang is complete. Staircases to the side of the prang give views of Ayutthaya. This monastery was situated outside the grand palace compound to the east. King Ramesuan commanded it built on ground, where the royal cremation ceremony for his father, King U-Thong, took place. A big lagoon is in front of this monastery. Its original name was “Nong Sano”, it was changed to be “Bueng Phraram” or currently Phraram Public Park. It is open everyday from 8.00 a.m.-6.00 p.m. Entry charge of 30 baht.
- Phra Chedi Sisuriyothai (เจดีย์พระศรีสุริโยทัย), (U-Thong Rd) is a white and gold coloured chedi built as a memorial to a previous queen. Set in a small, well-kept gardens, it is the memorial for the first heroine in Siamese history, is in Ko Mueang to the west. Among various places of interest within the Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya Historical Park, this ancient place is of much importance as a proof of honour that ancient Siamese society gave to Thai women.
In the reign of King Rama V, there was a quest for the historical sites as mentioned in the Royal Chronical. The exact location of Wat Sopsawan was identified with a large indented stupa which was renamed by King Rama VI as Chedi Phra Si Suriyothai.
In 1990, the government assigned the Fine Arts Department and the National Security Command to restore the chedi, which had deteriorated over time. Fortunately, on 20 May 1990, some antique objects were found such as a white rock crystal Buddha image in the posture of subduing Mara, a chedi replica, and a golden reliquary. These ancient objects were brought to be under the care of the Chao Sam Phraya National Museum.
No entry charge.
Chedi at Wat Phu Khao Thong
- Wat Phu Khao Thong (about 3km out of town, west off the Ang Thong Rd) is a huge white, and slightly wonky, chedi set in a big field. The actual nearby wat is still working and has small grounds with a smiling fat buddha image set in the ruins of a small viharn. You will see the Monument of King Naresuan the Great on the way. No entry charge.
- Wat Phanancherng (on the Bang Pa-in Rd, about 1.5km out of town) is a working wat which contains the oldest large cast bronze Buddha image in Ayutthaya, though it was covered in scaffold in June 2006 for refurbishment. There is a small room to the right of the main hall which contains a nice collection of Buddha images and the room is painted with many individual unique pictures, in bright colours offset with gold. A 20 baht temple donation per person is asked for.
- Wat Phananchoeng (วัดพนัญเชิงวรวิหาร): This monastery located south of Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya has no record as to its date of construction or the person causing its construction. It existed before Ayutthaya was founded as the capital. The principal image in the Wihan called “Phrachao Phananchoeng” was built in A.D. 1325; it is made of stucco in the attitude of subduing evil ; considered beautiful, it is most revered by the inhabitants of Ayutthaya. It is open everyday from 8.30 a.m.-5.00 p.m. Admission fee is 20 baht. (Same sight as previous listing)
Wat Yai Chaimonkorn, Courtyard with Buddha Images
- Wat Yai Chaimongkon (on the Bang Pa-in Rd, 1km east of Wat Phanancherng) is a large working wat, with ruins that appear on some of the well known photos of temples in Thailand. It features a large reclining Buddha in saffron robes in its own ruined wiharn, and, most spectacularly, a huge chedi swathed in golden cloth set in a courtyard which is lined by Buddha images all wearing saffron robes. Very photogenic. Entry charge of 20 baht.
- Wat Yai Chaimongkhon or Wat Chao Phraya Thai (วัดใหญ่ชัยมงคล หรือ วัดเจ้าพระยาไท) This monastery constructed in the reign of King U-Thong is located outside the city to the southeast in the same direction as the railway station; one can see its large pagoda from far away. King Naresuan the Great commanded that the pagoda be built to celebrate the victory of his single-handed combat on the elephant back. He also intended a huge construction to match the large pagoda of Wat Phukhao Thong, and named it “Phra Chedi Chaiyamongkhon”. It is open everyday from 8.00 a.m.-6.00 p.m. Admission fee is 20 baht. (Same sight as previous listing)
- Wat Cheung Tha (about 1km out of town, east off the Ang Thong Rd) is a small working wat with small grounds with chedi and viharn ruins and some buddha images. No entry charge.
- Wat Nah Phra Meru (about 1km out of town, east from Wat Cheung Tha) has a large viharn containing the biggest bronze buddha image in Ayutthaya, cast dressed in full royal regalia. The viharn is set in well maintained grounds with buddha images, a small koi carp pond, and three ruined chedis, one of which has a large bodhi tree growing out of the top of it. A 20 baht temple donation per person is asked for.
- Wat Senas Sanaram (วัดเสนาสนาราม): This ancient monastery named “Wat Suea” is behind Chantharakasem National Museum or Chantharakasem Palace. The main attractions are two Buddha images : Phra Samphuttha Muni, the principal image enshrined in the Ubosot, and Phra In Plaeng enshrined in the Wihan ; both were transferred from Vientiane.
- Wat Suwan Dararam Ratchaworawihan (วัดสุวรรณดารารามราชวรวิหาร): The temple is located inside the city wall to the southeast of the town island near Pom Phet. It was formerly known as “Wat Thong” and was constructed by King Rama I’s father in the Ayutthaya period. When King Rama I was crowned as the first king of the Rattanakosin period, he had the temple re-established and renamed it “Wat Suwan Dararam” to compliment his parents’ names.
The temple’s Phra Ubosot – Ordination Hall – is of the late Ayutthaya style, being situated on a boat-like concave foundation. Its gable depicts the God Vishnu on Mount Garuda. Inside, there are murals of angels on the upper parts and scenes from the Jataka stories on the lower parts of the side walls. The front wall to which the principal Buddha image is facing depicts the scene of the Buddha Subduing Mara from the life of the Lord Buddha, with the Mother Earth Goddess in the centre. Unlike the Phra Ubosot, Phra Wihan – Lecture Hall – does not have a concave foundation and has pillars with a cap of elongated lotus petals. It was built in the reign of King Rama II. Inside, there are fine murals depicting the story of King Naresuan the Great painted in the reign of King Rama VII, which are the prototype of Don Chedi Monument in Suphan Buri.
Thaen Phra Si Maha Pho: A platform with lotus petals decoration supporting the sacred Bodhi tree, the shoot of which was brought from India by King Rama IV. There is a brick belfry of western style nearby. The 2-tiered square structure with a pointed arch door downstairs and a bell tower upstairs is believed to have been built in the reign of King Rama IV during a major renovation.
To get there, use the same route as Chanthara Kasem National Museum, turn right at the T-junction for another 1km.
- Wat Lokkayasutha (วัดโลกยสุธา): This monastery is over a kilometre behind the Grand Palace adjacent to Wat Worachettharam. Accessible by the road behind the Ancient Palace, passing Wat Worapho and Wat Worachettharam. It has a large reclining Buddha, made of brick and covered with plaster, approximately 42 metres long. Many large hexagonal pillar ruins near the image are believed to be the ruins of the Ubosot.
- Wat Kasattrathirat Worawihan (วัดกษัตราธิราชวรวิหาร) is the monastery located outside Ko Mueang, opposite Chedi Phra Si Suriyothai, on the bank of the Chao Phraya River. Its former name was Kasattra or Kasattraram. It is an ancient temple of the Ayutthaya period with a main Prang (stupa) as its centre.
- Wat Chaiwatthanaram (วัดไชยวัฒนาราม) Is another monastery that is on the bank of Chao Phraya River, on the west of the city island. King Prasat Thong commanded it built. The great beauty has been reflected from the main stupa and its satellite stupas along the gallery, an architecture influenced by Khmer. Travelling can be made by river form Chantharakasem National Museum. A long-tailed boat service is available at 300-400 baht for a round trip, consuming about one hour.
- Wat Phutthaisawan (วัดพุทไธสวรรย์) is the monastery situated on the river bank opposite Ko Mueang to the south. Travel by car along the route Ayutthaya-Sena to the west of Ko Mueang. After passing the bridge in front of Wat Kasattrathirat, turn left to Wat Chaiwatthanaram. Follow the direction signs, you will find a left turn to Wat Phutthaisawan. This monastery was built in the area where King U-Thong moved to establish his city. The area was first known as Wiang Lek, named after the royal palace of King U-Thong. The most interesting part of Wat Phutthaisawan is the great principal Buddha image; its style is of the early Ayutthaya Period.
- Wat Kudidao (วัดกุฎีดาว) Located in front of the railway station to the east, this old monastery has beautiful work with better craftsmanship than many other temples, but it has deteriorated to a high degree.
- Wat Samanakottharam (วัดสมณโกศฐาราม) Located near Wat Kudidao, it was renovated by Chao Phraya Kosa (Lek) and Chao Phraya Kosa (Pan) during the reign of King Narai the Great. The main attraction is a large Prang having an unusual outlook different from the others. It is believed to imitate the design of Chedi Chet Yot of Chiang Mai.
- Wat Na Phramen (วัดหน้าพระเมรุ): The former name of this monastery was Wat Phra Merurachikaram. Located on the bank of Khlong Sabua opposite the Grand Palace, the date of construction is unknown. The Ubosot design is of very old typical Thai style. The most interesting objects are the principal Buddha image, fully decorated in regal attire, and another ancient Buddha image made of black stone in the small Wihan. It is open everyday from 8.00 a.m.-6.00 p.m. Admission fee is 20 baht.
- Wat Tum (วัดตูม): Located in Tambon Wat Tum on the bank of Khlong Wat Tum on the Ayutthaya– Ang Thong Road, 6 – 7km from Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, the temple covers an area of approximately 15 rai. There is no evidence as to when it was constructed and by whom. It is believed to have existed since the Ayothaya period before the establishment of the Kingdom of Ayutthaya and must have once been abandoned after the fall of the Kingdom in 1767, before being renovated in the reign of King Rama I and has resumed a status as a monastic temple ever since. Wat Tum has also served as a temple for a war strategy ceremony for at least 1,000 years presumably since the foundation of Ayutthaya. The temple houses a special Buddha image of which the top part above the forehead can be lifted and the head finial known as Ketumala can be removed. There is a hollow inside the head deep down nearly to the throat containing drops of seeping drinkable clean water that never runs dry. It is a bronze crowned and bejewelled image of the Buddha seated in the gesture of subduing Mara, measuring 87 centimetres in width and 150 centimetres in height. Originally named “Luangpho Thongsuksamrit”, the image is currently called “Luangpho Suk” and is of an unknown origin. The head of the image will be opened on the first day of each month.
- Wat Niwet Thamprawat (วัดนิเวศธรรมประวัติ) is the monastery located to the south of an island in the Chao Phraya River, on the riverbank opposite the royal palace. In 1878, King Rama V ordered its construction to have the same architectural style of a Western cathedral. The building and its decorations are of Gothic style and beautified with colourful stained glass. The base; where the principal image of Buddha and his followers were placed, was designed to resemble the one for the Cross in a Christian church, not a traditional Chukkachi base as seen in general. The window blocks were especially made for curved windows. On the Ubosot wall in front of the principal Buddha image, there is a picture of King Rama V created with stained glass. Situated to the right of the Ubosot is Ho Phra Khanthararat, a shrine where Phra Khanthararat-a Buddha image in the posture of requesting rain, is put for worship. Opposite Ho Phra Khanthararat is another shrine, which is the house of a seated stone Buddha image protected by a seven-headed naga. It is an ancient Buddha image aged a thousand years, built in the Lopburi period by a Khmer craftsman. This venerated Buddha image is very close to the big banyan tree that spreads its branches to shade the area in front of the Ubosot. Not far from the Ubosot, there is a cluster of stones naturally found in Thailand, which contains the relics of Chaochommanda Chum, a consort of King Rama IV and mother of Prince (Somdet Kromphraya) Damrong Rajanubhab and the members of the ‘Diskul’ family. From Bang Pa-In Palace, visitors can access the monastery through a cable car that carries 6-8 passengers at a time. The fare depends on the passengers’ contributions.
- Wat Chumphon Nikayaram (วัดชุมพลนิกายาราม) is the monastery located in the front area of Ko Mueang, opposite to the train station. It was founded in 1632, by King Prasatthong’s command and restored during the reign of King Rama IV.
- Wat Kai (วัดไก่): Located at Tambon Han Sang, 25km from Ayutthaya on Highway No.32, the entrance to the temple is 600 metres away to the right and marked by a monkey symbol. It dates from the Ayutthaya period and was once abandoned after the fall of the Ayutthaya Kingdom. Around 1992, it was renovated and established as a ‘Samnak Song’ – a monastic residence – before having been granted consecrated boundaries in 1997 for establishing a temple and named “Wat Kai,” or ‘Chicken Temple,’ after the fact that a large number of chicken died of an epidemic here. The temple also provides home for a large herd of wild macaques that are not fierce but no one knows as to when they came to take sanctuary here.
- Wat Tan En (วัดตาลเอน): A temple amid a shady and serene natural surrounding, it provides home for a flock of flying foxes and various species of waterfowls such as cormorant, grebe, egret, etc. There is an irrigation canal behind the temple where shoals of various freshwater fish came to take sanctuary. To get there, take Highway No.32, the Asia Highway, to Bang Pahan Intersection, turn right into Highway No.347 and the entrance to the temple is on the right. Continue for another 2km to the temple, a total distance of approximately 20km.
- Chao Sam Phraya National Museum (Rojana Rd) is where you can find some of the Buddha heads that are so conspicuously missing at the sites themselves. Opened in 1961 and looks the part. Perhaps the most interesting displays are the golden regalia from Wat Ratchaburana, on the 2nd floor of Hall 1. Open Wed-Sun from 9 AM to 4 PM, entrance 30 baht.
It is located at Tambon Pratu Chai, on Rotchana Road opposite Rajabhat University Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya. The construction of this museum was funded by the proceeds from the sale of votive tablets discovered in the underground crypts of the principal Prang tower of Wat Ratchaburana. Since the temple was built by King Borommarachathirat II (Chao Sam Phraya), the museum was named after him. The opening ceremony of this museum was held in 1961 and was presided over by Their Majesties the King and the Queen. It was the first museum in the country to present a new form of exhibition, displaying not too many objects in an interesting presentation.
There are 3 exhibition buildings as follows:
Building I Downstairs exhibits artefacts unearthed from the archaeological excavations as well as restoration of ancient monuments in the province during 1956 – 1957, including Buddha images of the Dvaravati, Lop Buri and Ayutthaya periods. The ones put on exhibition include an alabaster Buddha image seated in the European style of the Dvaravati period once enshrined in a niche of an old stupa at Wat Phra Men in Nakhon Pathom province. The images was originally broken in fragments which were taken to different places but eventually retrieved and reconstructed by the Fine Arts Department. This is a priceless Buddha image, as there are only 6 of its kind in the world; 5 in Thailand and 1 in Indonesia. In Thailand, 2 of them are now at Wat Phra Pathom Chedi in Nakhon Pathom, 1 at the Bangkok National Museum in Bangkok, 1 at the Chao Sam Phraya National Museum and 1 at Wat Na Phra Men in Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya. There is also an immense bronze head from a Buddha image of the U Thong period discovered at Wat Thammikarat. This head of the Buddha image indicates how old the temple is as well as how fine the ancient craftsmanship is in casting huge objects. Intricate wood carvings of the Ayutthaya school are exhibited here, as well.
Upstairs Two rooms are allocated for golden items. Room I exhibits golden miniature regalia and ornaments discovered in the crypts of the principal Prang tower of Wat Ratchaburana in 1957, with a highlight being the golden sword known as Phra Saeng Khan Chai Si. The blade of the iron sword has 2 cutting edges cased in a golden sheath decorated with traditional Thai designs inlaid with precious gemstones, and a handle made from quartz crystal. Room II houses an exhibition of golden offerings discovered in situ in the crypt of the principal Prang tower of Wat Mahathat where a golden reliquary containing the Lord Buddha’s relic was enshrined. The balcony exhibits votive tablets and plaques made of terra-cotta and pewter (an alloy of tin and lead; lined with copper) of the Sukhothai, Lop Buri and Ayutthaya periods, discovered in the crypts of the Prang towers of Wat Ratchaburana, Wat Mahathat and Wat Phra Ram.
Building II exhibits artefacts and objects d’art of different periods from the 6th – 19th century; namely, Dvaravati, Sri Vijaya, Lop Buri, Chiang Saen, Sukhothai, U Thong, Ayutthaya and Rattanakosin for comparative study purposes. Important items include Buddha images in various gestures, Bodhisattva Avalokitesvara, Ganesha, etc.
Building III is a complex of traditional Thai houses of central Thailand built in the middle of a moat exhibiting household equipment and utensils in the ancient daily life of the Thai people such as pottery, coconut graters and various basketworks. These folk items reflect the glorious past of the Ayutthaya Kingdom.
The museum is open on Wednesdays – Sundays and national holidays during 8.30 a.m.– 4.00 p.m. and closed on Mondays and Tuesdays. Admission is 30 Baht each. A package ticket valid for 30 days is also available at 180 Baht each, covering admission to Wat Phra Si Sanphet and the Ancient Palace Complex, Wat Mahathat, Wat Ratchaburana, Wat Phra Ram, Wat Chai Watthanaram, Chao Sam Phraya National Museum and Chantharakasem National Museum. For more information, please contact Tel. 0 3524 1587.
To get there, from Bangkok, enter the city of Ayutthaya, cross the King Naresuan the Great Bridge and go straight ahead for 2 junctions, the museum will be on the right.
- Ayutthaya Historical Study Centre (Rojana Rd), across the road and to the east of the ChaoPhraya national museum, is a more modern museum that tries to depict life in Ayutthaya with models.
It is a national research institute devoted to the study of Ayutthaya, especially during the period when Ayutthaya was the capital of Siam. The Centre is responsible for the museum of the history of Ayutthaya, which exhibits reconstructions from the past. The Centre also supports an information service and a library containing historical materials about Ayutthaya.
The Centre is open everyday from 9.00 a.m.-4.30 p.m., official holidays from 9.00 a.m.-5.00 p.m. For more details please contact Tel: 0 35-24 5123-4. A good place to start or end your tour, but a little pricy (by Thai standards) at 100 baht.
- Chankasem National Museum(U-Thing Rd.) northeast corner of island
- Phra Ram Park (behind Wat Mahathat) is a large wooded area with paths and bridges over waterways leading the way past various statues, buddha images and buildings. No entry charge.
- Khun Phaen Residence (Sri Sanphet Rd) is a renovated traditional teak house set in a good-sized park with water and various seating areas. The elephants doing the tourist circuit stop here for photos, with Wat Phra Ram in the background. No entry charge.
- Monument of King Naresuan the Great (in front of Wat Phu Khao Thong), is a large bronze statue of King Naresuan on a horse. Situated on the entrance road to Wat Phu Khao Thong.
- Ayutthaya Tourism Centre (ศูนย์ท่องเที่ยวอยุธยา–ATC), Tel. 0 3532 2730–1. Housed the province’s old city hall. Information in English is available at the Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT) center located on the first floor of the right wing The building hosts, in addition, a museum which as a variety of exhibits on local history and culture, as well as a contemporary art gallery which aims to promote local culture and tourism. Open during Thursday – Tuesday (closed on Wednesday), 9.00 a.m.–5.00 p.m. Admission is free. For more information, Tel. 0 3521 0225.
- Institute of Ayutthaya Studies (สถาบันอยุธยาศึกษา), situated in Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya Rajabhat University, is a complex of buildings in a typical Thai style which was constructed for the purpose of studying, conducting research, and collecting knowledge on Ayutthaya in the areas of history, culture, way of life and local intellect. There are exhibitions in 5 buildings, including the Ayutthaya Studies Hall, Local Intellect Hall, Cultural Heritage Hall, Rotating Exhibition Hall, and Ceremony Hall. In addition, there are displays, demonstrations and distribution of OTOP products. The institute opens daily, except on public holidays, at 9.30 a.m. – 3.30 p.m. (Tour groups who would like to attend a performance “Twilight Ayutthaya” in the special case at the Ruean Thai Building, Institute of Ayutthaya Studies, please contact in advance). For further details, please contact the Ruean Thai Building, Institute of Ayutthaya Studies, at Tel. 0 3524 1407, or 08 9115 5181.
- Japanese Village (หมู่บ้านญี่ปุ่น) Tambon Ko Rian. In the late 16th Century, there were more foreign commercial traders coming to Ayutthaya. Japanese merchandisers were also permitted to sail their junks to trade with foreigners. A number of them came to Ayutthaya and were granted royal permission by the Siamese king at that time to settle around the city island of the Ayutthaya Kingdom like the traders of other nationalities. There were more and more Japanese coming to Ayutthaya ever since. A Japanese headman at that time was Nagamaza Yamada. He was a favourite of King Song Tham and was appointed Okya Senaphimuk before being promoted to be the Ruler of Nakhon Si Thammarat where he lived till the end of his life. A statue of Mr. Nagamaza and an inscription on the historical background of the village in the Ayutthaya period were erected by the Thai-Japanese Association, with a building exhibiting the relations between the Kingdom of Ayutthaya and foreign countries. Open during 8.00 a.m. – 6.00 p.m. Admission is 20 Baht. To get there, turn left at the Chedi Wat Sam Pluem Roundabout for approximately 2.5km via Wat Yai Chai Mongkhon towards Amphoe Bang Pa-in. For more information, please call Tel. 0 3524 5336.
- King U-Thong Monument (พระบรมราชานุสาวรีย์พระเจ้าอู่ทอง): Erected between Bueng Phra Ram and Wat Phra Si Sanphet. The life-size and a half statue cast from bronze and fumigated with green chemical is standing with a sword in his right hand. He is clad, crowned and bejewelled in a royal costume of the early Ayutthaya period. The monument was opened by His Majesty King Bhumibol on 24 June, 1970.
- Chantharakasem National Museum or Chantharakasem Palace or Front Palace (พระราชวังจันทรเกษม หรือ วังหน้า): On the bank of Pasak River, this palace was built during the reign of King Maha Thammaraja, the 17th Ayutthaya monarch, for his son’s residence (King Naresuan). Like other ruins, the palace was destroyed by the Burmese and left unrepaired for a long time. King Mongkut of the present Chakri dynasty ordered reconstructoin of this palace for use as a residence during his occasional visits to Ayutthaya. Some of the more interesting sites are:
- Palace Wall and Gate (กำแพงและประตูวัง): They were newly constructed by the command of King Rama IV. The original foundation of the palace wall has since been found through excavation, thus revealing that the original area was much more spacious than what is currently seen.
- Phlapphla Chatulamuk (พลับพลาจตุรมุข): This wooden four-gabled roof pavilion is near the east gate of the palace. Originally, a residential place of King Mongkut during his visit to Ayutthaya, it later became the “Chantharakasem National Museum,” under the responsibility of the Fine Arts Department. It is open everyday except Mondays, Tuesdays and national holidays from 9.00 a.m.-4.00 p.m. Admission is 30 baht
- Phiman Rattaya Hall (พระที่นั่งพิมานรัตยา) A group of buildings located amidst the compound of the palace, which once served as government offices and the Provincial Administrative Building for several years.
- Phisai Sanyalak Hall (พระที่นั่งพิสัยศัลยลักษณ์): This is a four-storey tower located close to the western side of the Palace. It was originally constructed during the reign of King Narai the Great, but was destroyed during the 2nd fall of Ayutthaya. It was reconstructed according to the original foundation in the fourth reign of the present dynasty. King Rama IV used the tower to observe the stars. The palace is now used as a national museum. It has been decorated for demonstration of antiques such as Chinaware, ancient weapons, King Rama IV’s personal things for daily life, Buddha images, sculptures and votive tablets of different times.
The museum is open everyday cxcept Mondays, Tuesdays, and national holidays from 9.00 a.m.-4.00 p.m.(Admission fee : 30 Baht). For more information Tel: 0 3525 1586, 0 3525 2795
- City Wall and Fortresse (ป้อมปราการรอบกรุง): The city wall originally built by King U Thong was merely a moat-and-mound enclosure with a wall of wooden poles on top. A brick one was built later in the reign of King Maha Chakraphat. According to a Royal Chronicle, a number of fortresses were constructed such as Pom Maha Chai, Pom Sat Kop, Pom Phet, Pom Ho Ratchakhrue and Pom Champa Phon. Large fortresses were built on the meeting points of rivers. Pom Phet on the meeting point of the Chao Phraya and Pa Sak Rivers is now a public park while Pom Maha Chai at the corner of Chanthara Kasem Palace near Hua Ro Market was dismantled in the reign of King Rama I who had the bricks taken to be used in the construction of a new capital in Bangkok.
- Somdet Phra Si Nakharin Park (สวนสมเด็จพระศรีนครินทร์): Located on U Thong Road in the Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya Historical Park area, to the southwest of Ko Mueang, the Park covers a vast stretch of land with plants in Thai literature, a Thai pavilion and remains of ancient monuments. Part of the area is being developed into a herb garden. The Park also houses a monument of Her Royal Highness the Princess Mother.
To get there, from Bangkok, upon crossing Naresuan Bridge to enter the city of Ayutthaya, turn left at the T-junction near Rajabhat University Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthya, turn right via the provincial hospital and the Park will be on the right.
- Wang Lang or the Rear Palace (พระราชวังหลัง): This palace is located close to the western city wall of Ayutthaya (in the vicinity of the present location of the distillery plant of the Excise Department). It was originally the royal garden where the king made a visit from time to time. There was only one residential building in the entire area. King Maha Thammaracha commanded more buildings to be built in the area to mark it a palace which would be the residence of King Ekathosarot. Later on, this rear palace was only the residence of royal family members, so now no one can see the important items.
- Chedi Phra Si Suriyothai (เจดีย์พระศรีสุริโยทัย), the memorial for the first heroine in Siamese history, is in Ko Mueang to the west. Among various places of interest within the Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya Historical Park, this ancient place is of much importance as a proof of honour that ancient Thai society gave to Thai women.
Phra Si Suriyothai was the royal consort of Phra Mahachakkraphat. In 1548, only 7 months after being crowned as king, he was challenged by a Burmese attack under the supervision of Phrachao Tabeng Chaweti and his warlord, Burengnong. The Burmese army intruded into the kingdom through the Three Pagoda Pass in Kanchanaburi and came to set up military camps around the royal compound. During the fighting on elephant back, Phra Mahachakkaraphat faced danger. Phra Si Suriyothai, clad in a warrior’s suit, interrupted the fighting with the intention to provide assistance for her husband. She rode her elephant in the way of Phrachao Prae, a Burmese commander, and was cut to death by his sword. After the end of the war, Phra Mahachakkraphat arranged a funeral and established the cremation site to be a temple named “Wat Sopsawan”.
In the reign of King Rama V, there was a quest for the historical sites as mentioned in the Royal Chronical. The exact location of Wat Sopsawan was identified with a large indented stupa which was renamed by King Rama VI as Chedi Phra Si Suriyothai.
In 1990, the government assigned the Fine Arts Department and the National Security Command to restore the chedi, which had deteriorated over time. Fortunately, on 20 May 1990, some antique objects were found such as a white rock crystal Buddha image in the posture of subduing Mara, a chedi replica, and a golden reliquary. These ancient objects were brought to be under the care of the Chao Sam Phraya National Museum.
- Si Suriyothai Park (สวนศรีสุริโยทัย) is located within the area of the Ayutthaya liquor plant adjacent to Chedi Phra Si Suriyothai. On its total area of 5 rai, there is a common building, a Somdet Phra Si Suriyothai pavilion, a mound with marble Semas (boundary stones of a temple) aged over 400 years where the fragmented parts of Buddha images taken from Wat Phutthaisawan were buried, etc. The Liquor Distillery Organisation, who sponsored the construction of the park, wished to devote all good deeds in transforming the former inner part of the royal compound to all of the late kings who used to live here before. King Rama IX graciously named the park “Suan Si Suriyothai” on 25 May, 1989. Then, the park was conferred to Her Majesty Queen Sirikit on the eve of Her 60th birthday anniversary. The park opens daily for the public from 9.00 a.m.-5.00 p.m.
- Somdet Phra Suriyothai Monument (พระราชานุสาวรีย์ สมเด็จพระศรีสุริโยทัย – ทุ่งมะขามหย่อง): Located on a plain known as Thung Makham Yong on the east bank of the Chao Phraya River at Tambon Ban Mai, approximately 3-4km to the northeast of the city island of Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya. There is a life-size and a half bronze statue of Queen Suriyothai on the neck of her war elephant as well as another 49 associated sculptures, models of historical events, a huge reservoir and a public park. This plain was once a battlefield for several Siam–Burmese wars in the past. One of the heroic deeds that took place here was Queen Suriyothai’s fight to save her husband, King Maha Chakraphat. She was killed on her elephant’s neck by the King of Burma. In another later war 2 years after King Naresuan the Great declared independence, the Burmese king sent his son to station here at Thung Makham Yong whereas the king himself led his army to position to the south of the plain. King Naresuan, with a sword in his mouth led his soldiers to climb the wooden pole wall into the Burmese king’s camp in many successful plunders. His sword was named “Phra Saeng Dap Khap Khai” in reminiscence of his victories.
As a historical battlefield of such great significance, a monument of Somdet Phra Suriyothai was constructed under Her Majesty Queen Sirikit’s suggestion. Funding was provided jointly by the government and Thai people. The monument was constructed in honour of Her Majesty the Queen to mark her sixtieth birthday anniversary in 1992.
- Elephant Kraal Pavilion (พระที่นั่งเพนียด) The pavilion, utilized as the royal seat to witness the elephant round up, is in Tambon Suan Phrik, 4km from the city along Highway No.309. The outlook is a big cage surrounded with logs having, from the front centre, fencing lines of 45 degrees spread out to both sides far away into the jungle area. Around the kraal itself, is an earthen wall with bricks to the height of the pillars’top. Behind the kraal and opposite the front fencing line is the pavilion housing the royal seat. The Kraal currently seen was renovated in the year 1988 by the government.
- Mu Ban Protuket (หมู่บ้านโปรตุเกส) is the Portuguese village located in Tambon Samphao Lom, on the west bank of the Chao Phraya River and to the south of the city. The Portuguese were the first Europeans who travelled to trade with the Ayutthaya Kingdom. In 1511, Al Fonco de Al Buquerq, the Portuguese governor to Asia, dispatched a diplomatic troupe led by Ambassador Mr.Du Arte Fernandes to Ayutthaya during the reign of King Ramathibodi II. After that, some Portuguese came to the kingdom for different purposes: trade, military volunteers in the Ayutthaya army, or on a religious mission. They built a church as the centre of their community and to serve religious purposes.
Presently, some traces of former construction have been found at the village site. At the ancient remains of San Petro, a Dominican church, some antique objects were excavated together with human skeletons such as tobacco pipes, coins, and accessories for a religious ceremony.
- Thai Boat Museum (พิพิธภัณฑ์เรือไทย): A private boat museum located opposite to Wat Mahathat, Bang Ian Road, within the same area as the residence of Master Phaithun Khaomala, who has had an affectionate bond with boats and water since his childhood and wishes to preserve this field of folk wisdom for younger generations. The museum building is a large Thai-style teak house with accordion folding partitions, exhibiting models and miniatures of various boats as well as royal barges built with the same techniques as the original ones. Hundreds of them ranging from large ocean liners to small rowing boats are on display, as well as various types of traditional Thai boats that are now rare to be seen on the waterway. Open daily during 8.00 a.m. – 5.00 p.m. For more information, Tel. 0 3524 1195.
- Bang Sai Arts and Crafts Centre (ศูนย์ศิลปาชีพบางไทร) Located on the left bank of the Chao Phraya River in Tambon Bueng Yai, Amphoe Bang Sai. Farmers from Ayutthaya as well as from other provinces undergo training in folk arts and crafts here. At this centre, you will have a glimpes of how farmers in the four regions live and work; how their products of arts and crafts are produced. The centre is under the Promotion of Supplementary Occupations and Related Techniques (SUPPORT) which was established under Royal Patronage on the 21st July, 1976. Products and activities which can be seen here are Fern Vien Basketry, Weaving Basketry, Artificial Flowers, Hand-Woven Silk and Cotton, Silk Dyeing, Wood Carving, Miniature Hand - Modelled Thai Dolls, Furniture Making, Cloth-Made Products, etc. All the products are sold at the Centre and in every branch of Chitralada Store. The Centre covers a total area of approximately 1,000 rai and houses several places of interest including:
- Sala Phra Ming Khwan (ศาลาพระมิ่งขวัญ) is a 4-storey applied Thai building with 4 porches, towering in the heart of the Bang Sai Royal Folk Arts and Crafts Centre. The first floor houses arts and crafts demonstration and shops displaying as well as selling products from the Centre and other arts and crafts centres throughout the country. The second and third floors exhibit the Centre’s masterpieces of the arts and crafts products, and the fourth floor accommodates meetings and seminars. Open daily during 9.00 a.m. – 5.00 p.m. on weekdays and 9.00 a.m. – 6.00 p.m. on holidays. Admission is free.
- Arts and Crafts Village (หมู่บ้านศิลปาชีพ) The establishment of this village was supported by the Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT) in order to showcase different aspects of architecture of the Thai houses in various regions of the country as well as their ways of living and culture. Lifestyle and handicraft demonstrations are provided daily between 8.30 a.m.–5.00 p.m. on weekdays and 9.00 a.m.–7.00 p.m. on weekends. Thai classical dances and folk entertainment of the 4 regions are performed during 4.30–5.30 p.m. on weekends and national holidays.
The village also offers a traditional Thai wedding ceremony of the Central Region which is to include a religious rite, a procession of the groom’s presents for the bride or Khan Mak, a lustral water pouring ceremony, venue decorations, music as well as food and beverage for guests and relatives. For more details, contact the Arts and Crafts Village at Tel. 0 3536 6666-7, 08 9132 0303 (Khun Atchara).
- Arts and Crafts Training Buildings (อาคารฝึกอบรมศิลปาชีพ): They are situated in the heart of the Centre and comprise various divisions of arts and crafts. The Centre currently provides 29 divisions of arts and crafts training for farmers from all regions of the country to be their supplementary occupations out of the farming season. Visitors can have a look at all stages of the elaborate arts and crafts production. Open daily between 9.00 a.m. – 4.00 p.m. during training periods.
- One Thousand-armed Kwan Yin Bodhisattva (พระโพธิสัตว์กวนอิมพันพระหัตถ์): The 6-metre high image of the one thousand-armed Kwan Yin Bodhisattva was carved out of yellow sandalwood and presented to His Majesty King Bhumibol Adulyadej on the auspicious occasion of his 6th cycle birthday anniversary by Mr. Tu Zhia on behalf of the Chinese people. His Majesty had the image enshrined in a temporary shrine at the elephant pavilion – Sala Rong Chang - within the Centre for the public to pay respect daily during 9.00 a.m.–5.00 p.m.
- Phra Tamnak (พระตำหนัก) is a royal residence for Their Majesties the King and the Queen and their royal children built into a traditional Thai house of Central Thailand with an open basement, using construction materials available locally and surrounded by a beautiful garden and miniature waterfall.
- Wang Pla (วังปลา) is an aquarium displaying freshwater fish constructed and administered by the Department of Fisheries. The main building contains two large aquariums; one is of a bean shape with a capacity of 1,400 tons, the other of a round shape with a capacity of 600 tons, both accommodating various species of freshwater fish native to Thailand. Open during 10.00 a.m. – 4.00 p.m. and closed on Mondays and Tuesdays.
- Suan Nok (สวนนก) is a bird park operated by the Wildlife Fund Thailand under the Royal Patronage of H.M. the Queen. There are two large aviaries providing nests for more than 30 species of rare birds within natural-like environments including an artificial stream and waterfall as well as forest. There is a suspension bridge for visitors to have a look and take photos of the birds from on top of the aviaries. Other wild animals are also to be seen nearby. Open daily during 9.00 a.m. – 7.00 p.m. Admission is 20 Baht for adults and 10 Baht for children.
Bang Sai Arts and Crafts Centre is open during 8.30 a.m.–5.00 p.m. on weekdays and 8.30 a.m.–6.00 p.m. on weekends and national holidays. Admission is 100 Baht for adults and 50 Baht for children. Visit the Arts and Crafts Village, “Wang Pla” – Thailand’s largest freshwater fish aquarium, arts and crafts training buildings, “Sala Phra Ming Khwan” – a modern Thai building where the Centre’s products are on sale, pay respect to the one thousand-armed Kwan Yin Bodhisattva at the elephant pavilion and take a mini-train free of charge around the Centre. For more information, Tel. 0 3536 6252-4, 0 3528 3246-9 or click www.bangsaiarts.com.
How to Get to Bang Sai Arts and Crafts Centre
- Route 1 Highway No.9 (Western Ring Road), from Highway No.345 intersection (Amphoe Bang Bua Thong), which is also accessible from Suphan Buri – Taling Chan, or Pathum Thani via Sam Khok elevated intersection – across the Chao Phraya River – turn left at Bo Sa Intersection – straight on to the Centre.
- Route 2 Highway No.306 (Tiwanon Road) from Pak Kret Intersection – Suan Somdet Intersection – Pak Khlong Rangsit Intersection – Bang Phun Intersection – turn right into Highway No.347 (Pathum Thani – Bang Pahan) at Pathum Thani Technological College Intersection via Chiang Rak Noi Intersection – turn left at Chiang Rak Noi elevated intersection and straight pass Bo Sa Intersection – U turn under the bridge across the Chao Phraya River – turn left at Bo Sa Intersection – straight on to the Centre.
- Route 3 Pak Kret – Bang Pa-in Expressway – out of the expressway and straight pass Bo Sa Intersection – U turn under the bridge across the Chao Phraya River – turn left at Bo Sa Intersection – straight on to the Centre.
- Route 4 Highway No.1 (Phahon Yothin Road) from Rangsit, or the North or Northeast – via Bang Pa-in elevated intersection into Highway No.9 (Western Ring Road) – straight pass Chiang Rak Noi elevated intersection – pass Bo Sa Intersection – U turn under the bridge across the Chao Phraya River – turn left at Bo Sa Intersection – straight on to the Centre.
- Route 5 Asia Highway from Bang Pahan – Ayutthaya along Highway No.347 (Pathum Thani – Bang Pahan) – across the Chao Phraya River – turn right at Chiang Rak Noi elevated intersection–straight pass Bo Sa Intersection – U turn under the bridge across the Chao Phraya River – turn left at Bo Sa Intersection–straight on to the Centre.
- Route 6 Highway No.3309 (Bang Pa-in–Chiang Rak Noi), from Asia Highway, or Ayutthaya, via Bang Pa-in Paper Manufacture – under the bridge of the Chao Phraya River – turn left at Bang Sai Pier – straight on to the Centre.
By train : Take a train running from Hua Lamphong (Bangkok Railway Station) to Bang Pa-in Railway Station daily every hour starting from 06.40-22.00 hrs. Then, connect a Song Thaeo or mini-bus to Bang Sai Arts and Crafts Centre. Bangkok Railway Station , Tel. 1690, 0 2220 4334 or check the website .
By bus : Take a Public Buse no.838 (Rangsit-Bang Sai Arts and Crafts Centre) leaving from Bangkok from the Future Park Rangsit Bus Stop on Phahonyothin Road to Bang Sai starting 06.00-21.00 hrs. or take a bus from the Northern Bus Terminal on Kamphaeng Phet Road to Bang Pa-in. Then, connect a Song Thaeo or mini-bus to Bang Sai Arts and Crafts Centre. For more details, please call Tel. 0 2936 2852-66 or click www.transport.co.th and Ayutthaya Bus Terminal, Tel. 0 3533 5304
- The Support Arts and Crafts International Centre of Thailand (ศูนย์ส่งเสริมศิลปาชี พระหว่างประเทศ (องค์การมหาชน) is on the left bank of the Chao Phraya River, at Chang Yai sub-distract, on a plot of land covering an area of 45 rai 3 ngan. There are two mains building at the centre, namely Phra Ming Monkhon Pavillion and the Marketingplace Building.
- Phra Ming Monkhon Pavillion (ศาลาพระมิ่งมงคล): This is a large three-story building with the area of 34,340 square meters used for product display and exhibitions of handicrafts for export. The first floor area is divided into 4 sections. Section 1 is the area for displaying products for living, dressing, giving and dining. Section 2 is the exhibition area for products from the Bang Sai Arts and Crafts centre. In addition, there are shops selling arts and crafts items made by trainees from both the Bang Sai Arts and Crafts Training Centre and from other support arts and crafts centres. Section 3 is the area for shops selling Thai handicrafts comprising OTOP products and items from various regions of Thailand. Section 4, this area is allocated for demonstration of exceptional and rare pieces of Thai handicrafts. The second and third floor are the auditorium and the meeting rooms for trade negotiations to promote the expansion of arts and crafts products in international markets. Facilities to accommodate E-commerce are also provieded
- Market Place (อาคารตลาด): This building is built to facilitate sales of handicrafts and OTOP products from the 76 provinces of the country. It is open everyday (Monday-Friday from 10.00 a.m.-5.00 p.m., Saturday-Sunday and national holidays from 9.00 a.m.-6.00 p.m.) For more information Tel: 0 3536 7054-9, Fax: 0 3536 7051 or the website .
- Prasat Nakhon Luang (ปราสาทนครหลวง) Situated on the east bank of Pa Sak River, Tambon Nakhon Luang, it was used as the royal accommodation during trips to the Buddha’s Footprint Shrine and Lopburi. It is assumed to have been constructed during the reign of King Songtham, but was improved to be a brick and plaster accommodation during the reign of King Prasat Thong.
- Handicrafted Aranyik Knife Villages (หมู่บ้านหัตถกรรมมีดอรัญญิก) Background Ban Ton Pho and Ban Phai Nong are two densely populated villages in Tambon Tha Chang, Amphoe Nakhon Luang, Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya. Both have been widely recognised for nearly 200 years as a major source of the country’s hand-made knife products.
Ethnology The ancestors of Ban Ton Pho and Ban Phai Nong villagers came from Vientiane in Lao PDR around the early Rattanakosin era. Most of them were artisans earning their living as goldsmiths and blacksmiths. Around 1822 A.D., the goldsmith occupation was wound up and only the blacksmith remained and has been their single occupation ever since. That these immigrants from Vientiane used to be goldsmiths is evident from the fact that if the soil from these villages is taken to be panned, there will be remains and filed powder of gold.
Settlement There is no evidence whether these people were forced to move by the Thai army in an attack on Vientiane or immigrated, but it was recorded that their leader was Nai Thao, who was later appointed to the position of “Khun Naraborirak” by King Rama V. Nai Thao found that this area was a good location for settlement, with dense bamboo thickets to make use of as well as the Pa Sak River and swamps as their channel of transportation and source of water. Bamboo could be fuel for their forges, building materials for their houses, and handles for their knives. Ban Phai Nong, which means a swamp bamboo village, was named after the topography at that time while Ban Ton Pho, a Bodhi tree village, was named after a large sacred Bodhi tree in the heart of the village.
- Aranyik Knife Village (หมู่บ้านหัตถกรรมมีดอรัญญิก)The Reign of King Rama III In the reign of King Rama III around 1826 A.D., King Anu Wiang Chan came from Vientiane, Laos, to attend the royal cremation of King Rama II and persuaded the Vientiane people to return to their hometown. They refused and insisted to stay and live under the rule of King Rama III. Their fine craftsmanship in blacksmith and knife-making became known around the country, resulting in their wealth and prosperity throughout his reign.
The Reign of King Rama V: Having been informed that Ban Ton Pho and Ban Phai Nong were knife-making villages, King Rama V and his royal family members went to visit them. A pavilion was constructed to welcome the king and his family, and villagers demonstrated their knife-making.
The Reign of King Rama IX In 1976, His Majesty King Bhumibol Adulyadej came on a personal visit to the villages. In 1988, Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn took her military cadets here on an educational trip. Six year later, Princess Ubonratana and her family also paid a visit to the villages.
- Aranyik Knife: There used to be a market, shops and gambling houses at Ban Aranyik, Tambon Pak Tha, Amphoe Tha Ruea, Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, approximately 3km from Ban Ton Pho and Ban Phai Nong. Ban Aranyik was a marketplace where villagers including those from the two knife-making villages took their products to offer for sale or exchange. Their knives were famous by word-of-mouth for their good quality, and Aranyik knives have become known ever since.
Aranyik Knife Products There are currently 4 categories of Aranyik knives; namely, farming, domestic, weapon, and others. Each category can be classified by application into 12 types and each type can still be classified by sizes and materials used in various parts, totalling 274 of them.
Tradition and Culture Other than merit-making that has been observed generally by Thai people on special occasions such as Magha Puja, Visakha Puja, Buddhist Lent, Robe Offering, Floral Alms-giving and Songkran, the villagers also have their own important tradition known as Wai Khru or Wai Khru Bucha Tao. After the Songkran Festival, the community leaders will meet to fix the date of the ceremony held to pay salute to their masters (Wai Khru) and forge spirits (Bucha Tao), usually on a Thursday of the waxing moon of the sixth lunar month. Once the date is fixed, all equipment and tools will be repaired and cleaned, new forges built and all required offerings prepared for the early morning ceremony on the set Thursday. This ceremony has been observed until nowadays for the auspiciousness and prosperity of their community. All visitors will be welcomed on that day.
To Get There Both villages are now accessible by bus from Chao Phrom Market in Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya. Take the bus with a sign reading “Ayutthaya–Tha Ruea”, which runs along the Asia Highway (Highway No.32) towards Nakhon Sawan, pass beyond Somdet Phra Sangkharat Hospital for about 100 metres, turn left under the bridge across the Pa Sak River towards Amphoe Nakhon Luang and follow the direction signs. A boat trip is also available from in front of Chanthara Kasem Palace backward against the Pa Sak River via the Military Arsenal Department’s explosives plant and Amphoe Nakhon Luang, respectively. The boat trip takes approximately 2 hours.
Located on Rochana Road, the Ayutthaya Historical Studies Center is the national research institute to study about the period that Ayutthaya was the capital of Thailand.
For those who would like to learn about the life of elephants and perhaps even help out, there is the Elelphantstay Experience. For more information see the website .
Trip No.1 One day trip of Ayutthaya and Bang Pa-In
- 07.15 Leave Bangkok by train from Bangkok Station (Hua Lam Phong) Rama IV Road.
- Arrive Ayutthaya and visit
- Ayutthaya Historical Study Centre (ศูนย์ศึกษาประวัติศาสตร์อยุธยา)
- Chao Sam Phraya National Museum (พิพิธภัณฑสถานแห่งชาติ เจ้าสามพระยา)
- Wihan Phra Mongkhon Bophit (วิหารพระมงคลบพิตร)
- Ancient Palace (พระราชวังโบราณ)
- Wat Na Phramen (วัดหน้าพระเมรุ)
- Wat Maha That (วัดมหาธาตุ)
- Wat Ratchaburana (วัดราชบูรณะ)
- 12.00 Lunch at Hua-Ro Maket (ตลาดหัวรอ)
- 12.30 Visit Wat Yai Chai Mongkhon (วัดใหญ่ชัยมงคล)
- 13.15 Visit Wat Phananchoeng (วัดพนัญเชิง)
- 14.00 Leave for Bang Pa-In by mini - bus from Chao Phrom Maket (ตลาดเจ้าพรหม)
- Arrive Bang Pa-In and visit
- Bang Pa-In Summer Palace (พระราชวังบางปะอิน)
- Wat Niwet Thammaprawat (วัดนิเวศธรรมประวัติ)
- 17.30 Leave for Bangkok by bus.
- Chao Sam Phraya National Museum opens everyday except Mondays, Tuesdays and national holidays from 09.00 - 16.00 hrs.
- Bang Pa-In Summer Palace opens everyday from 08.00 - 16.00 hrs.
Trip No. 2 Two days and one night to Ayutthaya and Bang Pa-In
- 07.00 Leave Bangkok by bus from the Northern Bus Terminal.
- Arrive Bang Pa - In
- Wat Niwet Thamprawat (วัดนิเวศธรรมประวัติ)
- Bang Pa - In Summer Palace (พระราชวังบางปะอิน)
- 10.30 Leave for Wat Phananchoeng (วัดพนัญเชิง) by boat.
- 12.00 Arrive Wat Phananchoeng
- 13.00 Leave for Ayutthaya Historical Study Centre (ศูนย์ศึกษาประวัติศาสตร์อยุธยา) and Chao Sam Phraya National Museum (พิพิธภัณฑสถานแห่งชาติ เจ้าสามพระยา)
- 15.30 Leave for Wat Chaiwatthanaram (วัดไชยวัฒนาราม)
- Visit the Ancient Palace (พระราชวังโบราณ)
- Wat Maha That (วัดมหาธาตุ)
- Wat Ratchaburana (วัดราชบูรณะ)
- Wat Na Phramen (วัดหน้าพระเมรุ)
- Wihan Phra Mongkhon Bophit (วิหารพระมงคลบพิตร)
- Khun Phaen House (คุ้มขุนแผน)
- 12.00 Lunch in the area ; relaxation at Phra Ram Park
- 14.30 Leave for Chantharakasem National Museum (พิพิธภัณฑสถานแห่งชาติ วังจันทรเกษม)
- 16.00 Leave for Bangkok
- 17.30 Arrive Bangkok
- Leave Bang Pa - In for Wat Phananchoeng by boat is recommended.
- Boat fare is about 400 Baht, (10 seats per boat).
- Tourists who have more time and want to continue their journey to the north and the northeast can take the train direcly from Ayutthaya.
- TAT itself does not operate tours.
- This itinerary may be adjusted as appropriate.
Experience the Thai lifestyle and overnight at:
- Khlong Rang Chorakhe (คลองรางจระเข้): A canalside community on Khlong Rang Chorakhe in Amphoe Sena. Pay respect to the 400-year-old Luangpho To image at Wat Rang Chorakhe, which was built in the Ayutthaya period, visit the fish sanctuary in front of the temple, have a look at a diamond-eyed cat at Panya Sophit Meditation Centre, take a boat trip to enjoy canalside scenery and Thai houses in a peaceful atmosphere. The fare is 700 Baht inclusive of 2 meals. For more details, contact Police Sergeant Major Roengchai Roekbuppha, Tel. 08 9881 1042 and 08 1251 8058.
- Bang Sai (บางไทร): A community on the Noi River in Amphoe Bang Sai. There are 5 houses for homestay which can accommodate 25 visitors at a time. A boat trip to enjoy a riverside way of life such as fishing and prawning in the Noi River and hand-made glass crafting is available. During farming season, visitors can also join activities in the paddy fields. Contact Khun Urai Sikaeo-in at Tel. 08 1684 3196 or E-mail: [email protected]
Elephant Back Activities
- Ayutthaya Elephant Camp (วังช้างอยุธยา แล เพนียด) Located near Khum Khun Phaen within the area of the Ayutthaya Historical Park. It provides elephant riding, shows and feeding everyday during 9.00 a.m. – 5.00 p.m. The fee is between 100 – 500 Baht depending on the required duration: 15 or 30 minutes. For more details, Tel. 0 3521 1001, 0 3532 1982, click www.ayutthayaelephantcamp.com or the website .
- Ayuthaya Elephant Camp (บ้านช้างอโยธยาและโชว์งู) Located at 65/12 Mu 7, Tambon Phai Ling, Amphoe Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya. It provides elephant trips fording the stream, for bird-watching in the forest, visiting ancient monuments and to Wat Maheyong. A ride on an ox-drawn cart to visit ancient momuments as well as snake shows are also available daily during 8.00 a.m. – 5.00 p.m. For more information, Tel. 0 3524 5245 Fax. 0 3524 5245 or the website .
- Royal Elephant Kraal and village - Elephantstay Located at number 34. Elephant Kraal. Elephantstay  is an amazing program that offers a hands-on experience that helps care for retired elephants. If you want to work, live and play with elephants and help create a sustainable future for Thai elephants, then this is the place to be. Check their website for booking and availability. From one day to several weeks stay. Typical prices: 4000 Baht per person, 9500 Baht for family
- Northern Rangsit Golf Club (สนามกอล์ฟนอร์ธเทิร์น รังสิต กอล์ฟ คลับ) 19/2 Mu 7 Phaholyothin Road (Km.58), Tambon Wang Noi, Amphoe Wang Noi, Tel: 0 3521 5412-3, 0 3527 1755-6
- Bang Sai Country Club (สนามกอล์ฟบางไทรคันทรีคลับ) 77 / 7 Mu 3, Tambon Bang Phli, Amphoe Bang Sai, Tel: 0 3537 1491, 08 1643 9121
- Mueang Ake Wang Noi Golf Course (สนามกอล์ฟเมืองเอกวังน้อย) 85 Mu 4, Phaholyothin, Tambon Lam Sai, Amphoe Wang Noi, Tel: 0 3521 4825–9
Events and Festivals
Bang Sai Arts and Crafts Centre Fair (งานประจำปีศูนย์ศิลปาชีพบางไทร) At the end of January
Held annually toward the end of January at Bang Sai Arts and Crafts Centre, the Fair features displays and contests of the arts and crafts products, sales of local products and cultural performances.
Songkran Festival (งานเทศกาลสงกรานต์) April 13
Held annually on 13 April in front of Wihan Phra Mongkhon Bophit, Amphoe Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, it features a traditional procession, Thoet Thoeng drums procession, Song Nam Phra ceremony of the miniature of Phra Mongkhon Bophit image, and Nang Songkran beauty contest.
Wai Khru Bucha Tao Ceremony (พิธีไหว้ครูบูชาเตา) Around April – May
A ceremony held by blacksmiths and knife-makers of Aranyik knives at Ban Ton Pho, Ban Phai Nong and Ban Salai, Tambon Tha Chang, Amphoe Nakhon Luang to pay salute to their masters and forge spirits.
The ceremony is usually held on an early Thursday morning which may be the 7th, 9th, etc. day of the waxing moon of the 5th lunar month (around April – May) in order to express gratitude to their masters, sweep away possible accidents during their works as well as for their own auspiciousness and prosperity. After chanting for a congregration of angels and saluting the Triple Gem, the master of the ceremony will chant for a congregration of gods which include Siva, Vishnu, Brahma, Vishnukarma, Matuli, Vaya, Gangga, 8 ascetics, etc. as well as Thai, Lao, Mon, and Chinese masters who have imparted them with the ironwork skills, for them to receive their offerings and bless all participants. All tools and equipment will be gilded and lustral water made to sprinkle on the tools and participants.
Bang Sai Loi Krathong and Traditional Long Boat Races (งานลอยกระทง ตามประทีปและแข่งเรือยาว ประเพณีศูนย์ศิลปาชีพ บางไทร) November
It is an annual festival held toward the end of November at the Bang Sai Arts and Crafts Centre, Amphoe Bang Sai. Activities include Nang Nopphamat beauty contest, contests of processions, Krathongs, and hanging lanterns, folk entertainment, traditional and international long boat races, and sales of the Centre’s products.
Ayutthaya World Heritage Fair (งานแสดงแสงเสียงอยุธยามรดกโลก) December
To commemorate the occasion of the Ayutthaya Historical Park being declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO on 13 December, 1991, a celebration is held annually for 1 week during the same period of the year. The Fair features local ways of life, handicrafts, Thai traditions and culture as well as the light and sound presentation on the history of the Kingdom of Ayutthaya.
Ayutthaya Maha Mongkhon (อยุธยามหามงคล – ไหว้พระเก้าวัด) Buddhist Lent Festival
Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya Provincial Administration in collaboration with the Tourism Business Association and TAT Central Region Office: Region 6, organise the Ayutthaya Maha Mongkhon programme for participants to visit 9 temples in the province during the Buddhist Lent Festival. Booklets for this annual programme that have undergone a chanting ceremony are obtainable at the Ayutthaya Tourism Centre (Old City Hall) or Information Counter at the Ayutthaya Park Shopping Centre, and hotels/restaurants with a programme sign within the province. After that, visit the temples, pay respect to sacred images and have your booklet stamped by following the map provided. Once having visited all the nine temples, participants will be presented with an Ayutthaya Maha Mongkhon memorial coin and a chance to win a prize. For more information, contact the Ayutthaya Tourism Business Association at Tel. 0 3521 3828–9 ext. 101.
Ayutthaya is famed for its Boat Noodle Soup which is supposed to have originated during the Ayutthaya period. This special kind of authetic noodle soup is still served in some eateries were the counter is shaped like a boat.
Besides boat noodle soup, Ayutthaya is renowned for having the best tasting ‘Roti’ in Thailand, a unique one which is called ‘Roti Sai Mai’. It was originated amongst the large Islam communities which have lived for generations in Ayutthaya.
- Chao Phrom Market. Corner of Naresuan and Uthong Roads (on the east edge of the island). A bustling provincial market. There are particularly many protective Buddha amulet vendors here.
- Palm Leaf Fish Mobile (ปลาตะเพียนสาน เครื่องแขวน) Weavers of the palm leaf fish mobile, and other palm leaf products, in this province are Thai Muslims. The skills have been inherited for over 100 years. It is assumed that Thai Muslim spice traders who sailed their houseboats along the Chao Phraya River in the olden days were the first to have woven fish mobiles from palm leaf, out of inspiration from their affectionate bond with water and their surroundings, referring to a Thai barb with which they were familiar and using leaves from various species of palm grown locally. Originally, each woven fish mobile was not as colourful nor numerously composed as in the present, using only a mixture of natural pigment and varnish for the final touch. The fish mobile, mostly in red, is usually hung above a baby’s cradle so that Thai children are familiar with it since their babyhood.
There are some beliefs relating to the fish mobile. Thai people in ancient times regarded Thai barb as an auspicious fish that would help to attract wealth, so a palm leaf fish mobile would be hung in the corridor in front of the house. Some believed that by hanging the fish mobile that was numerously composed would help to enhance the growth as well as number of their children so that they would have plentiful supply of labour. It was also believed that, in hanging a fish mobile above the cradle, it should be hung at the right position easily visible for the baby, neither toward the head nor the feet or else the baby would be disturbed by the guardian spirit. In fact, that would cause defective eyes.
- Bamboo Fan (พัดสานไม้ไผ่) Bamboo fan weaving in Amphoe Ban Phraek, Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, has been inherited from the olden days. Formerly, the fans were woven with a quite simple technique into a rough design. The border was usually trimmed and sewn by hand with plain white cloth. Later, its form changed to imitate that of a Bodhi leaf or a heart shape. The border is trimmed with gold cloth while the weaving techniques and designs have become more complicated. Required materials are easily available including strips of golden bamboo, a splitting knife to make bamboo strips, golden trimming cloth, white cloth, dyes for bamboo strips, a cutting block, bamboo handle, etc.
- Palm Leaf Hat (งอบใบลาน) A handicraft that has been inherited since ancient times. Weaving a palm leaf hat requires no less craftsmanship than any other kinds of basketwork. The weavers have to be skilled and patient as the crafts will have to undergo a number of weaving steps. The palm leaf hat is now an OTOP product of Tambon Bang Nang Ra, Amphoe Bang Pahan, Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya. It has gained popularity among Thais and foreigners and is available in various provinces around the country.
- Roti Sai Mai (โรตีสายไหม) A snack composing of candyfloss (Sai Mai) wrapped with flat bread (Roti), initiated by Thai Muslim vendors. It is available near the Ayutthaya provincial hospital on U Thong Road and in shops.
Amphoe Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya
- The Grounds behind Wihan Phra Mongkhon Bophit and Wat Phananchoeng (บริเวณด้านหลัง วิหารวัดพระมงคลบพิตร และบริเวณ วัดพนัญเชิงวรวิหาร) There are numerous shops selling all kinds of local products ranging from palm leaf fish mobile, basketwork, rattan products, Aranyik knife, preserved fruits to sweets.
- Farmer’s Central Market (ตลาดกลางเพื่อการเกษตร) Located on the Asia Highway in Tambon Hantra. On the return trip upon crossing Naresuan Bridge to leave Ayutthaya, go straight ahead and turn left toward the Asia Highway (Highway No.32). There will be a right turn not too far away into the Market which is on the left. This market offers almost every kind of the province’s local products such as Aranyik knife from Amphoe Nakhon Luang, bamboo fan from Amphoe Ban Phraek, carved wood from Amphoe Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, ready-to-wear garments from Amphoe Bang Pa-in, preserved and dried fish, preserved fruits, as well as various other souvenirs from all districts. There are food shops offering delicious dishes of fresh prawn and fish, as well.
- Ayutthaya Park Shopping Centre (ศูนย์การค้าอยุธยาพาร์ค) A large shopping centre on the Asia Highway in Tambon Khlong Suan Phlu. Enjoy the lifestyle, trade and atmosphere of an indoor floating market. In addition to various products and delicious food, this shopping centre also provides Thai cultural performances on weekends and national holidays. For more information, Tel. 0 3522 9234 – 41 or visit www.ayutthayapark.com.
- Khon Mask Making (การทำหัวโขน) M.L. Phongsawat Suksawat, ด.5 U Thong Road, Tambon Tha Wasukri, Amphoe Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, Tel. 0 3524 5759.
- Traditional Thai Painting (การเขียนภาพจิตรกรรมไทยลงรักปิดทอง) Khun Suphachai Naiphongsi, Mu 3, Tambon Khlong Sa Bua, Amphoe Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, Tel. 0 3525 1710, 0 3524 1211.
- Fish Mobile (ปลาตะเพียน) Ketsuni Rungsattra (in front of Hua Laem Market), ด.16/3 U Thong Road, Tambon Tha Wasukri, Tel. 0 3524 3481, 0 3524 3770.
- Fish Mobile (ปลาตะเพียน) Mr.Wisit Kahangwe (Pla-thong shop) ร้านปลาทอง U-thong Rd. Ayutthaya Tel. 035- 210401 / 089-4136132
- Fish Mobile (ปลาตะเพียน) Wanthani Miphonkit (in front of Pratu Chai School), Tambon Tha Wasukri, Tel. 0 3521 1172, 08 9673 8801.
- Roti Sai Mai (โรตีสายไหม) Khun Niwat Saengarun (Bang Bi), 52 Mu 3, Tambon Pratu Chai, Amphoe Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, Tel. 08 1996 2564.
- Palm Leaf Fan (ผลิตภัณฑ์จากใบลาน พัดลาน) Khun Phatchari Sisanit, 96/54 Mu 2, Tambon Pratu Chai, Amphoe Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, Tel. 0 3528 6479, 0 3524 4645.
- Sangkhit Pradit Shop (ร้านสังคีตประดิษฐ์) All Thai musical instruments, 97 Mu 4, Worachet Village, Ayutthaya – Sena Road, Tambon Ban Pom, Tel. 0 3524 4631, 0 3524 5729.
- Carved Stone – Ceramic Shop (ร้านจำหน่ายหินแกะสลัก – เซรามิก) Khun Sombat Arunkasem, 83/7-8 Si Sanphet Road, Amphoe Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, Tel. 0 3524 5953.
- Artificial Flowers from Sesbania (ดอกไม้ประดิษฐ์จากต้นโสน) Mrs. Sommai Misirueang, 34/4 Mu 3, Tambon Khlong Suan Phlu, Amphoe Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, Tel. 0 3524 4727.
- Golden Dulcimer (ขิมสีทอง) Mr. Sakdecha Suwannaphingkhan, 63/3 Mu 2, Tambon Ban Ko, Amphoe Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, Tel. 08 9808 1142, 08 1947 8710.
- Earthen Miniature Thai House (เรือนไทยย่อส่วนจากดิน) Earthen Miniature Thai House Handicraft Centre, 4 Mu 1, Tambon Thang Klang, Amphoe Bang Pahan, Tel. 08 1776 3073.
- Fish Mobile (ปลาตะเพียน) Mrs. Praphat Rueangkit, 13 Mu 1, Tambon Phukhao Thong, Amphoe Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, Tel. 0 3521 1608, 08 1506 3160.
- Miniature Crafts (งานปั้นจิ๋ว) Mr. Chaloemkiat Rungphanit, 147/6 Mu 8, Tambon Pratu Chai, Amphoe Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, Tel. 08 1881 2747, 08 9538 1965.
- Incense Stick (ธูป) Mrs. Sombat Phuengnai, 7 Mu 4, Tambon Hantra, Amphoe Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, Tel. 08 1814 1225.
Amphoe Nakhon Luang
- Aranyik Knife (มีดอรัญญิก) Winai Ruaicharoen, 162/3 Mu 7, Tambon Tha Chang, Amphoe Nakhon Luang, Tel. 0 3535 9956, 0 3571 5346.
- Cutlery (เครื่องใช้บนโต๊ะอาหาร) N.V. Aranyik Company Limited, 48/3 Mu 5, Tambon Mae La, Amphoe Nakhon Luang, Tel. 0 3535 9657– 8.
- Mother-of-Pearl Inlay (ศิลปะประดับมุก) Mr. Sataphon Chanyanai, 100 Mu 5, Tambon Nong Pling, Amphoe Nakhon Luang, Tel. 08 6392 6643, 0 3525 5191.
Amphoe Bang Pahan
- Khun Chit Channgam, Mu 1, Tambon Bang Phloeng, Tel. 08 1851 5925.
- Tharawut Chunlawong, Mu 5, Tambon Nang Ra, Tel. 0 3530 1170.
- Prathum Ruphaen, 86 Mu 6, Tambon Bang Pahan, Tel. 0 3538 1507.
- Kasian Phiohom, 31 Mu 1, Tambon Bang Duea, Tel. 0 3571 0175.
- Winnowing Basket (กระด้ง) Khun Phayom Saengbut, Mu 4, Tambon Ban Ma, Tel. 0 3571 0379.
- Shallow Bamboo Basket (กระจาด) Khun Thanomsi Khumchan, Mu 2, Tambon Ta Nim, Tel. 0 3571 0163.
- Water Hyacinth Products (ผลิตภัณฑ์ผักตบชวา) Khun Suni Susin, 64 Mu 4, Tambon Han Sang, Tel. 08 9822 9817.
- Resin Products and Teak Picture Frame (ผลิตภัณฑ์เรซินและกรอบรูปไม้สัก) Khun Naret Suwanwong, 67 Mu 1, Tambon Bang Phloeng, Tel. 08 6603 4709.
- Thai Musical Instrument (เครื่องดนตรีไทย) Khun Pao Thapsakhon, 2/1 Mu 3, Tambon Thap Nam, Tel. 08 1836 7474.
- Herbal Cosmetic (เครื่องสำอางสมุนไพร) Khun Sotsai Sonthira, 44/88 Mu 5, Tambon Khwan Mueang, Tel. 0 3530 1488.
- Incense Products (ผลิตภัณฑ์ธูปหอม) Khun Sasipha Suksaman, 20 Mu 1, Tambon Sao Thong, Tel. 0 3538 1507.
- Earthen Miniature Thai House (บ้านเรือนไทยย่อส่วนจากดิน) Khun Ramphueng Silasa-at, 6 Mu 1, Tambon Thang Klang, Tel. 0 3525 5193.
- Carved Buddha Image Altar Table (แกะสลักโต๊ะหมู่บูชา) Khun Amnuai Noisophon, Mu 4, Tambon Phutthalao, Tel. 0 3571 3427.
- Artificial Flower (ดอกไม้ประดิษฐ์) Khun Naruemon Kantamara, 56 Mu 2, Tambon Khwan Mueang, Tel. 0 3538 1029.
- Khon Mask Miniature (หัวโขนจำลอง) Khon Mask Miniature Group, 44/5 Mu 5, Tambon Don Ya Nang, Amphoe Phachi, Tel. 08 6130 0920.
Amphoe Bang Sai (อำเภอบางซ้าย)
- Pearl-glazed Ceramic (เบญจรงค์เคลือบมุก) Mr. Somchai Leksathin, 61/3 Mu 3, Tambon Thep Mongkhon, Amphoe Bang Sai, Tel. 0 3529 2449, 08 1991 5146
Amphoe Bang Sai (อำเภอบางไทร)
- Crafted Glass (แก้วประดิษฐ์) 2nd Lieutenant Chaiyaphon Chamnan, 100/38 Mu 10, Tambon Bang Sai, Amphoe Bang Sai, Tel. 0 3537 1208, 08 1807 4628.
- Turned Stone Mortar (ครกหินกลึง) Production Group, Mu 12, Tambon Ban Hip, Amphoe Uthai Tel. 0 3525 5538.
- Basketry “Ban Hua Wiang” Basketry Group, 51 Mu 2, Tambon Hua Wiang, Amphoe Sena, Tel. 08 1904 6766, 0 2573 5296.
Amphoe Bang Pahan
- Thai House Building (การสร้างบ้านเรือนไทย) Khun Somchit Sukmano, Amphoe Bang Pahan, Tel. 08 1617 7825.
- Water Hyacinth Bag (กระเป๋าผักตบ) Mrs. Suni Susin, 64 Mu 4, Tambon Han Sang, Amphoe Bang Pahan, Tel. 08 9822 9817.
- Picture Frame (กรอบรูป) Mr. Naret Suwanwong, 70/1 Mu 1, Tambon Bang Phloeng, Amphoe Bang Pahan, Tel. 08 6603 4709.
- Patchwork Leather Bag (กระเป๋าหนังต่อ) Patchwork Leather Bag Production Group, 61/2 Mu 7, Tambon Rang Chorakhe, Amphoe Sena, Tel. 0 3527 5885, 08 9609 0081, 08 9668 8703.
Amphoe Wang Noi
- Silk (ผ้าไหม) Mr. Khanet Phalikham, 41/3 Mu 1, Tambon Phayom, Amphoe Wang Noi, Tel. 0 3521 1344, 0 3535 3764, 08 1946 0948.
Amphoe Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya
- Amnuai Bueng Phra Ram (อำนวยบึงพระราม) Pa Thon Road, Tambon Pratuchai, Tel: 0 3524 4585 (Papaya salad, Thai Food)
- Kroknaipun (ครกนายพัน) U-thong Rd. Ayutthaya Tel. 035- 322029
- Ban U-Thong (บ้านอู่ทอง) 39 Mu 1, U-Thong Road, Tambon Pratuchai, Tel: 0 3521 1293 (Vietnamese and Thai Food)
- Bonsai (บอนไซ) 19/23 Mu 3 Tambon Khlong Suan Phlu, Tel: 0 3524 3667 (Korean Food)
- Chainum (ชายน้ำ) จ.36/2 U-Thong Road, Tel: 0 3525 2013, 08 1696 2439
- Charoen Rung Rueang (เจริญรุ่งเรือง) 8/3 Mu 4, Pa Ma Phrao Road, Tambon Ho Rattanachai, Tel: 0 3525 1461
- Duang Phon (ดวงพร) (Talad Chao Phrom) 9 /49 Naresuan Road, Tambon Ho Rattanachai, Tel: 0 3521 0566 (Chinese Food)
- Farm Kung Luang (ฟาร์มกุ้งหลวง) 98/4 Mu 3, Asia Highway, Tambon Hantra, Tel: 0 3524 3588 (Thai Food)
- Gold Card (โกลด์ การ์ด) Rotchana Phon Hotel, Tel: 0 3533 5885 (Pub & Karaoke)
- Kai Yang Mae Phong Si (ไก่ย่างแม่ผ่องสี) ง.10/28-29 Mu 4, Tambon Ho Rattanachai, Tel: 0 3525 1554, 08 4136 2366
- Khao Tom Kamlang Phai Nai (ข้าวต้มกำลังภายใน) 17/17 Naresuan Road, Tambon Pratuchai, Tel: 0 3524 1934, 0 3521 1660 (Chinese Food)
- Khrua Khun Su (ครัวคุณสุ) (Opposite Somdet Phra Suriyothai Park) 48/1 Mu 2, Tambon Ban Mai, Tel: 0 3571 3549 (Thai Food)
- Khrua Taen (ครัวแตน) 65/16 Mu. 7 T. Pailing Ayutthaya , Tel: 0 3524 1375 (Thai Food)
- Khrua Tom Tun (ครัวต้ม-ตุ๋น) (Opposite Somdet Phra Sinakharin Park) 18/5 Mu 5, U-Thong Road, Tambon Pratuchai, Tel: 0 3521 1187 (Thai Food)
- Khrua Tonnam (ครัวต้นน้ำ) ก.26/2, U-Thong Road, Tel: 0 3525 2514 (Thai Food)
- Khrua Ya Bua (ครัวย่าบัว) 46 Mu 2 Tambon Kamung, Tel: 0 3524 2725(Thai Food)
- Khun Ad (คุณแอ๊ด ยีเลาะห์เจ้าเก่า) 60 Mu 3, Tambon Pratuchai, Tel: 0 3524 2105 (Muslim Food)
- King Kaeo-Kan Thong (กิ่งแก้ว-ก้านทอง) ค. 5/17, Tambon Ho Rattanachai, Tel: 0 3524 1793
- Kuai Tiao Ruea Wat Chine or Wat Rattanachai (ก๋วยเตี๋ยวเรือวัดจีนหรือวัดรัตนชัย) (In Wat Chine, near Pom Phet) (Pork, Meat, Chicken Noodle)
- Kuai Tiao Watyai (ก๋วยเตี๋ยววัดใหญ่) (Opposite Wat Yaichaimongkhon) 40/3 Mu 3, Tambon Khlong Suanphlu, Tel : 0 3524 2679 (Pork Noodle)
- Kuai Tiao Ruea (ก๋วยเตี๋ยวเรือ) Bang-iang Road (Pork and Beef Noodle)
- Lung Ad Pla Phao Bueng Phra Ram (ลุงแอ๊ดปลาเผาบึงพระราม) Pathon Road, Tambon Pratuchai, Tel: 0 3532 2692
- Malakor (มะละกอ) 9/36 Chikun Road, Tambon Pratuchai, Tel: 08 1712 5779 (Thai Food)
- Maream (มาเรียม) 69/6 Mu 3 Bang-ian Road, Tambon Horattanachai, Tel: 0 3521 0110
- Morradokthai ( มรดกไทย ) Rotchana Road, Tel 035-244655 / 035 - 243342
- Mungsawirat (มังสวิรัติ) 91/1 Khlong Makhamriang Road, Tambon Pratuchai, Tel: 0 3524 3423
- Naihuad Khao Khamhu (นายฮวดข้าวขาหมู) At the foot of Pridi Bridge
- Nang Kwak Bueng Phraram (นางกวักบึงพระราม) Pathon Road, Tambon Pratuchai, Tel: 0 3524 5628
- Nimitdee (นิมิตรดี) 57/25 Mu 4 , Ayutthaya-Pamok Rd. , Tel: 0 3525 1033
- Nuea Yang Kao Li (เนื้อย่างเกาหลี) (near the Provincial Stadium) Rotchana Road
- Pa Sak Coffee Shop (ป่าสักคอฟฟี่ช็อป) Krung Sri River Hotel, 27/2 Mu 11, Rotchana Road, Tambon Kamang, Tel: 0 3524 4333
- Pludhaya resort and spa (พลูธยา รีสอร์ท แอนด์ สปา), 2/3 Mu 7 Tambon Khlong Suan Phlu (15 mn out of town by tuk-tuk), ☎ +66 (0) 3522 5127 ([email protected], fax: 035- 255232), . Fine thai food, barbecue on reservation, quiet and peaceful edit
- River Island Cottage (ริเวอร์ ไอซ์แลนด์ คอทเทจ) 15/26 Mu 2, Ko Loi, Tambon Hua Ro, Tel: 08 1290 6630, 08 1434 1858 (Thai Food)
- Sagaewan (สะแกวัลย์) (Near the Railway Station) 19 Wat Pakho Road, Tel: 0 3524 5569
- Samanya Berkery (สมัญญา) Beside Thaipanit Bank 9/3, Naresuan Raod, Tel: 0 3524 1633, 0 3524 3273
- Seafood Park T & J (ซีฟู้ด พาร์ค ที แอนด์ เจ) (Opposite Ayutthaya Grand Hotel) 55/17 Mu 1, Tambon Thanu, Tel: 0 3533 5255-6 (Sea Food, Japanese Food)
- Sea Sea Inter Food (ซี ซี อินเตอร์ฟู้ด) 7/33 Chakkraphat Road, Tambon Pratuchai, Tel: 0 3524 1434, 0 3524 4330) (Thai and Sea Food)
- Siam (สยาม) 11/3 Mu 1, Maharat Road, Tambon Pratuchai, Tel: 0 3521 1070
- Somtam Bueng Praram (ส้มตำบึงพระราม) In the area of Bueng Phraram Park (Papaya Salad)
- Suan Arhan Khum Krungsri (สวนอาหารคุ้มกรุงศรี) 15/1 Mu 6, Tambon Pratuchai, Tel: 0 3521 0211, 0 3521 1676
- Suan Arhan O (สวนอาหารโอ) 66/6, U-Thong Road, Tambon Thawasukri, Tel: 0 3525 1536, 0 3525 2139
- Taphianthong (ตะเพียนทอง) Ayutthaya Grand Hotel, Tel: 0 3533 5483-8 (Thai, Chinese and Japanese Food)
- Tamnakkaew (ตำหนักแก้ว) 166 Mu 2, Chaimongkhon 5 Road, Tambon Phailing, Tel: 0 3524 5150-1 (Thai, Chinese Food)
- Thai House Restaurant (เรือนไทยไม้สวย) 8/2 Mu 3, Tambon Khlong Suan Phlu, Tel: 0 3524 5977-9
- Thepnimit (เทพนิมิตร) Ayothaya Hotel 12 Mu 4, Tambon Horattanachai,[email protected],fax="035- 251018","http://www.ayothayahotel.com" Tel: 0 3523 2851 ,0 3523 2857(Thai Food,International Buffet)
- Ayothaya Hotel (โรงแรมอโยธยา), 12 Mu 4 Tambon Horattanachai (5 mn from railway station by tuk-tuk), ☎ +66 (0) 3523 2855 ([email protected], fax: 035- 251018), . Fine thai food, barbecue on reservation, near Market and Sight seeing thai culture edit
- Toto Guesthouse (โตโต้ เกสต์เฮาส์) 6/5 Naresuan Road, Tambon Horattanachai, Tel: 0 3523 2658 (Thai Food)
- U-Thong Inn Cafe (อู่ทองอินน์คาเฟ่) U-Thong Inn Hotel, Rotchana Road, Tel: 0 3524 2236-9 (Thai, Chinese, Japanese Food)
- V. N. House (วี.เอ็น.เฮ้าส์) 32/7, U-Thong Road, Tambon Thawasukri, Tel: 0 3525 1513
- 29 Steak (29 สเต๊ก) ง 8/14-15 Pa Maprao (Sai 1) Road, Tambon Horattanachai Tel: 0 3525 1755 (Steak, Thai Food)
The Restaurants by the Riversides
- Ban Kunpra (บ้านคุณพระ) 48 Pathon Road, Tel: 0 3524 1978, 08 1442 2742
- Ban Mai Rim Nam (บ้านไม้ริมน้ำ) 33 U-Thong Road, Tambon Pratuchai, Tel: 0 3521 1516, 0 3521 1526 (Thai Food) (River Cruise)
- Ban Watcharachai (บ้านวัชราชัย) 9 Mu 7, Tambon Banpom, Tel: 0 3532 1333, 0 3525 5280 (Thai Food)
- Chainum (ชายน้ำ) จ.36/2 U-Thong Road, Tel: 0 3525 2013, 08 1696 2439 (Thai, Chinese Food)
- Chao Phraya Maruai (เจ้าพระยามารวย) 9/5, Tambon Horattanachai, Tel: 0 3521 1692, 08 1852 3079, 08 1948 3585(Chinese, Thai Food) (River Cruise)
- Kan Kitti (กานต์กิตติ) 7 Mu 2, U-Thong Road, Tambon Pratuchai, Tel: 0 3524 1971 (Thai Food) (River Cruise)
- Khrua Pom Phet (ครัวป้อมเพชร) 13/5 U-Thong Road, Tambon Horattanachai, Tel: 0 3524 3354 (Thai Food) (River Cruise)
- Khum Krung Si (คุ้มกรุงศรี) 15/1 Mu 6, Tambon Pratuchai, Tel: 0 3521 1676, 0 3521 0211 (Thai Food), (River Cruise)
- Krathom Chao Praya (กระท่อมเจ้าพระยา) 45/1 Mu 8, Tambon Banmai, Tel: 0 3539 8200–1
- Ku-Choeng Chinese Restaurant (กู่เฉิงภัตตาคาร) Krung Sri River Hotel 27/2 Rotchana Road, Tambon Kamung, Tel: 0 3524 4333 ต่อ 31 (Chinese Food)
- Phae Ahan Ayothaya Riverside (แพอาหารอโยธยาริเวอร์ไซด์) Ayothaya Riverside Hotel 91/1 Mu 1, Tambon Kamung, Tel: 0 3523 4873-7 (Thai, Chinese, European Food)
- Phae Krung Kao (แพกรุงเก่า) ข 4 Mu 2, U-Thong Road, Tel: 0 3524 1555, 0 3524 3455, 0 3524 1410 (Thai Food)
- Phae Ahan Thewarat (แพอาหารเทวราช) 74/7 Mu 1, Tambon Kamung, Tel: 0 3524 4224, 0 3524 1597, 0 3524 4124 (Thai, Chinese Food) (River Cruise)
- Phae Si Thong (แพศรีทอง) (Near Wat Suwandaram) ข 8/1 Mu 2, Tambon Horattanachai, Tel: 0 3524 6010 (Thai Food)
- Poeb Phitsadan Mae Choi Nangram (เปิบพิสดาร แม่ช้อยนางรำ) (Along the Soi near Wat Kasattrathirat), Tambon Ban Pom (Thai Food)
- Rim Khlong (ริมคลอง) (Along the Soi near Wat Na Phra Meru) ท.66 Mu 4, Tambon Thawasukri Tel: 0 3523 3003, 08 6644 3814, 08 1752 2151 (Thai Food)
- River View Place (ริเวอร์วิวเพลส) River View Place Hotel ก 35/5 Mu 1, U-Thong Road, Tambon Horattanachai, Tel: 0 3524 1729-30, 0 3524 1444
- Ruea Maithai (เรือไม้ไทย) (Along the Road passing the Provincial Hospital 100 kilometers) 6/43 Mu 6, Tambon Pratuchai, Tel: 0 3521 1177 (Thai Food) (River Cruise)
- Ruean Kanya (เรือนกัญญา) (Opposite Park Somdet Phra Sinakharin) U-Thong Road, Tambon Pratuchai, Tel: 08 9130 2088 (Thai Food) (River Cruise)
- Ruean Phae (เรือนแพ) (Opposite Krung Sri River Hotel) ข36/1 U-Thong Road, Tambon Horattanachai, Tel: 0 3524 1807, 0 3524 1964 (Thai Food)
- Ruean Rap Rong (เรือนรับรอง) 13/1-2 Mu 2, U-Thong Road, Tel: 0 3524 3090, 0 3521 1036 (Thai Food) (River Cruise)
- Sai Thong River (ไทรทอง ริเวอร์) 45 Mu 1, U-Thong Road, Tambon Pratuchai, Tel: 0 3524 1449, 0 3524 4575 (Thai Food) (River Cruise)
- Sam Ruai Pla Phao (สำรวยปลาเผา) (Opposite Park Somdet Phra Sinakharin) (Thai Food)
- Sombat Chao Phraya (สมบัติเจ้าพระยา) (Along the Road passing the Sai Thong Restaurant 200 meters) 19 Mu 3, U-Thong Road, Tambon Pratuchai, Tel: 0 3532 2259, 08 1947 5016, 0 3003 0568 (Thai Food)
- Irasschaimase (อิราชัยมาเสะ) (U-Thong Inn Hotel) 210 Mu 5 Rotchana Road, Tambon Phai Ling, Tel: 0 3524 2236 (Japanese Food)
Amphoe Bang Sai
- Em Ot (เอมโอษฐ์) (In the Royal Folk Arts and Crafts Centre at Bang Sai) Tambon Chang Yai, Tel: 0 3536 6901-2, 08 1550 7037 (Thai Food)
- Chaopraya Gungpao (เจ้าพระยากุ้งเผา) 33/1 Mu 5, Tambon Ratchakhram
- Rimnam (ริมน้ำ) Bang Sai Intersection, 16/3 Mu 5, Tambon Ratchakhram, Tel: 0 3536 6050
- Ruenthai (เรือนไทย) 7/2 Mu 4, Tambon Ratchakhram, Tel: 0 3536 6002
- Salathong (ศาลาทอง) 52 Mu3, Tambon Banmah
Amphoe Bang Pa–in
- Baetekseng (เบเต็กเส็ง) 73/6 Pratunam Prain, Tel: 0 3536 1150 (Thai, Chinese and Sea Food)
- Hudgi Ko (ฮัจยีโก๊ะ (ลูกชาย) (Near Masjid Roa Maneeya) Phanonyothin Road km.51 (Muslim Food)
- Khrua Den (ครัวเด่น) (Near Wat Prot Sat) 27 Mu 2, Tambon Khanon Luang, Tel: 0 3572 8324 (Thai Food)
- Khun Soada (คุณเซาดะห์) (In the Area of Talad Kao in Amphoe Bang Pa-in) (Muslim Food)
- Khun Mubin (คุณมูบีน) (Near Masjid Roa Maneeya) (Muslim Food)
- Khrua Pha (ครัวฟ้า) 212/8-9 Tambon Banglen, Tel: 0 3522 0930 (Noodle)
- Phutawan (ภูตะวัน) 58 Mu 5, Tambon Khlong Chik, Tel: 08 1986 0085 (Thai, Chinese Food)
- Ploy (พลอย) Tambon Banlen, Tel: 0 3526 1280
- Prasatthong (ปราสาททอง) Pratunamprain, Tambon Chieng Rak Noi, Tel: 0 3536 1011
- Queenrose 1 (ควีนโรส 1) Bus station (Muslim Food)
- Queenrose 2 (ควีนโรส 2) Talad Aek Center 80/121 Tambon Ban Len, Tel: 0 3526 2198 (Muslim Food)
- Roh Mat (เราะฮ์มัด) Near Bang Pa-in Hospital (Muslim Food)
- Tonnam RiverView (ต้นน้ำ ริเวอร์วิว) 26 Mu 6, Tambon Banlen, Tel: 0 3526 1006
- Yangdiao (ยางเดี่ยว) 5/1 Mu 4, Tambon Ban Len, Tel: 0 3526 1135 (Thai Food)
- Gung Puenpraew (กุ้งเพื่อนแพรว) 98/8 Asia Highway, Tambon Han Tra, Tel: 0 3534 5490 (Thai Food)
- Jachai 2 (จ่าชัย 2) 32/5 Mu 10, Asia Highway, Tambon Khao Mao, Tel: 0 3521 3896 (Thai Food)
- Suan Ahan Rimnum (สวนอาหารริมน้ำ) 98/36 Asia Highway, Tel: 0 3534 5494
- Ameena (อามีนา) 51/14 Mu 1, Tambon Thanu, Tel: 0 3536 6184
Amphoe Wang Noi
- Bua Chom (บัวชม) 184 Mu 3 Tambon Lamtasao (Thai Food)
- Khrua Sam Ran (ครัวสำราญ) 45/1 Mu 2, Tambon Wang Chula, Tel: 0 3572 1073 (Thai Food)
- Lungnuai (ลุงนวย) 72 Mu 1, Tambon Lamsai, Tel: 0 3536 1248
- Tontoei (ต้นเตย) 38/1 Mu 2, Tambon Wangchula, Tel: 0 3572 1403
- Wanggung–Wangpla (วังกุ้ง-วังปลา) 50 Mu 1, Tambon Lumsai, Tel: 0 3521 4234, 08 1845 3384
- Chao Pao Rimnam (เจ้าเป้า ริมน้ำ) 240/2 Tambon Sena, Tel: 0 3520 1241
- Chung Service 2 (จุ้งบริการ 2) Rimnam Road, Tel: 0 3520 1185
- Kuai Tiao Ruea Chaochet (ก๋วยเตี๋ยวเรือไก่ฉีกเจ้าเจ็ด) ป้าปุ๊ ป้าแป๊ะ (Near Wat Chaochet)
- O- Photchana (โอ โภชนา) (Sena Riverside Market) 252/21 Tambon Sena, Tel: 0 3520 1255, 08 6758 2555
Amphoe Nakhon Luang
- Khu Lao Kai Ruan (คูเหลาไก่รวน) Near Wat Ban Sung School, Nakhon Luang-Phachi Road
- Sum Pa Sak (สวนอาหารซุ้มป่าสัก) 116 Mu 2, Tambon Bo Phong, Tel: 0 3572 4504, 0 3572 4519 (River Cruise)
Amphoe Bang Pahan
- Khrua Ban Sang (ครัวบ้านสร้าง) Asia Highway, km. 85-86
- Nongsanoh (หนองโสน) 50 Mu 2, Asia Highway, Km.64, Tel: 08 1923 1981
- U-dom Pla Phao (อุดมปลาเผา) In front of Wat Phra Ngam, Asia Highway, km. 80
Amphoe Maha Rat
- Chao Pluk (เจ้าปลุก 1) 23/4 Mu 5, Tambon Chao Pluk, Tel: 0 3538 6291, 08 6041 1378
- Chao Pluk (เจ้าปลุก 2) 39/1 Mu 5, Tambon Chao Pluk, Tel: 0 3571 2231
Amphoe Bang Ban
- Khrua Nong (ครัวน้อง) 54 Mu 2, Ayutthaya-Suphan Buri Road, Tambon Nam Tao, Tel: 0 3528 9288-9 (Thai Food)
The main hub of bars is to be found around the backpacker area with a variety of styles for you to choose. They are:
- 29 Steak Pamaphrao Rd, Ayutthaya.
- Ban Mai Rim Nam 33 U-Thong Rd, Ayutthaya. T: (035) 21 1516 F: (035) 21 1526 . Boat hire 1500B per hour (holds up to 40 pax) book 3 days in advance or call to check availability.
- Bannkunpra Restaurant U-Thong Rd, Ayutthaya. T: (035) 24 1978
- Ban U-Thong Restaurant U-Thong Rd, Ayutthaya.
- By Yai Lek bar Khlong Makham Wang Rd, Ayutthaya.
- Chiang Restauant Naresuan Rd Soi 1, Ayutthaya.
- Chow Praya Hut 45/1 Moo 8 Baanmai T: (035) 39 8200 [email protected] 
- Isaan restaurants Patone Rd, Ayutthaya.
- Malakaw Restaurant ChiKun Rd, Ayutthaya.
- Moon Cafe and Restaurant Naresuan Rd Soi 1, Ayutthaya.
- Night Markets Open daily 17:00 to 23:00 (on U-thong Rd.)
- Pae Krung Kao Ayutthaya U-Thong Rd, Ayutthaya.
- Rua Rim Nam jetty bar U-Thong Rd, Ayutthaya.
- Sai-Thong River U-Thong Rd, Ayutthaya. T: (035) 24 1449
- Tony's Place Naresuan Rd Soi 1, Ayutthaya.
- Por-gun-ti ( พอกันที ) bar Pamaphrao Rd, Ayutthaya.
Amphoe Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya
Hotels and Guesthouses on the Riversides
- Ayothaya River House (อโยธยา ริเวอร์ไซด์), น.91 Mu 10, Pakho Road, Tambon Gamung, . 499 Baht per night Summer HOT Promotion till July 31, 2009. 120 clean and quiet rooms with river views. ฿1200-฿2500. edit
- Ayothaya Riverside House/ (Guest house) (อโยธยา ริเวอร์ไซด์ เฮาส์) 17/2 Mu 7, Tambon Banpom, (Tel: 08 1644 5328, 08 1932 6162 Bangkok Office Tel: 0 2585 6001, 0 2910 8797), 7 rooms and 2 Boats, Rates: Baht 300-1,200 (F, A)
- Ban Kun Pra (บ้านคุณพระ) 48 Mu 3, Pa Thon Road, Tambon Horattanachai, (Tel: 0 3524 1978, 08 1442 2742), 15 rooms, Rates: Baht 250-800 (F, A) , E-mail: [email protected]/ www.bannkunpra.com - Very nice old house that lays on the island side along the river. Has a good outdoor restaurant to offer nice views of the river.
- Ban Suwanthara Resort and Spa (บ้านสุวรรณธารา รีสอร์ท แอนด์ สปา) 43/9 U-Thong Road, Tambon Horattanachai, (Tel: 0 3532 4270, 08 1928 2887 www.suvarnriversideresortandspa.com) Thai massage and spa Rates: Baht 200-4,000 (No room service)
- Iudia On The River, 11-13 Moo 4, U-Thong Road, Pratu Chai Phranakorn Sri-Ayudhya, . Iudia is a tasteful, comfortable and well equipped serviced accommodation located among the ancient ruins of the great Siamese kingdom of Ayudhya. ฿1400-฿3000. edit
- Krung Sri River (กรุงศรีริเวอร์) 27/2 Mu 11, Rotchana Road, (Tel: 0 3524 4333, Fax 0 3524 3777 www.krungsririver.com), 202 rooms, Rates: Baht 2,000 – 8,500 (A) River cruise
- River View Place (ริเวอร์ วิว เพลส) ก 35/5 Mu 1, U-Thong Road, Tambon Horattanachai, (Tel: 0 3524 1729–30), 78 rooms, Rates: Baht 1,700–4,000 (River Cruise)
- Woraburi Ayothaya Convention Resort (วรบุรี อโยธยา คอนเวนชั่น รีสอร์ท, . Woraburi Ayothaya Convention Resort (วรบุรี อโยธยา คอนเวนชั่น รีสอร์ท) 162 Rooms with river views. Hotel with Conference & Meeting Facilities. 89 Mu 11, Tambon Kamang, Fax: 0 3524 9625-6 website: www.woraburiayothaya.com ฿1600-฿3000. edit
Hotels and Guesthouses in town
- Ayothaya Hotel (โรงแรมอโยธยา)( opposite Chao Phrom Market), 12 Mu 4 , Thetsaban Sai 2 Road, Tambon Horattanachai (5 mn from railway station by tuk-tuk), ☎ +66 (0) 3523 2851, +66 (0) 3523 2857 ([email protected], fax: 035- 251018), . 117 rooms, 5 mn from railway station by tuk-tuk, near Market and Sight seeing thai culture, massages and spa, swimming-pool, good restaurant offering thai cuisine, can help organize tours. ฿650-1800. edit
- Ayutthaya Guesthouse (อยุธยา เกสต์เฮาส์) 12/34 Naresuan Road, Tambon Ho Rattanachai, (Tel: 0 3523 2658), 30 rooms, Rates: Baht 300–500 (F, A)
- Ayutthaya House (บ้านอยุธยา) 48/3 Soi Phailing 3, Rotchana Road, Tambon Phailing, (Tel: 0 3524 5905, 08 1362 3534), 4 rooms, Rates: Baht 500–1,500 (F, A)
- Ayutthaya Homestay (อยุธยา โฮมสเตย์) (เกาะลอย) 15/26 Mu 2, Ko Loi, Tambon Hua Ro, (Tel: 08 1290 6630, 08 1434 1858), 6 rooms, Rates: Baht 650-1,300 (F, A)
- Ayutthaya Hostel (อยุธยา โฮสเทล) 7 Mu 2, Rotchana Road, Tambon Horattanachai, (Tel: 0 3521 0941), 8 rooms, Rates: Baht 300-400 (F, A)
- Ayutthaya Thani (อยุธยาธานี) 4/89 Mu 8 Tambon Hua Ro, (Tel: 0 3523 2776 Fax: 0 3523 2817), 81 rooms, Rates: Baht 950-2,500
- Bai Fern Homestay (ใบเฟิร์น โฮมสเตย์) 172/9 Mu 4 Tambon Pratuchai, (Tel: 0 3524 2051, 08 6744 9468), 12 rooms, Rates: Baht 1,000
- Ban Chanthana (บ้านจันทนะ) ง.12/22 Naresuan Road Sai 1, Tambon Ho Rattanachai, (Tel: 0 3532 3200, 08 9885–0257), 10 rooms, Rates: Baht 350–500 (F,A)
- Ban Chitwilai (บ้านจิตต์วิไล) 9/23 Mu 3, Tambon Thawasukri, (Tel: 0 3532 1259-60), 20 rooms, Rates: Baht 500 (A)
- Ban Lotus (บ้านโลตัส) ง.20 Pa Ma Phrao (Sai 1) Road, Tambon Ho Rattanachai, (Tel: 0 3525 1988, 0 3532 8272), 20 rooms, Rates: Baht 200-600
- Ban Mai Resort (บ้านไม้รีสอร์ท) 38/19 Mu 8, Tambon Banpom, (Tel: 08 1994 3863, 08 1450 2884), 9 bungalows, Rates: Baht 400 (A)
- Ban Suan Guesthouse (บ้านสวน เกสต์เฮาส์) 23/1 Chakkraphat Road, Tambon Pratuchai, (Tel: 0 3524 2394), 17 rooms, Rates: Baht 300-600 (F, A)
- Ban Thai Guesthouse (บ้านไทยเกสท์เฮ้าส์) 23/1, Jakkaphat Road, (Tel: 0 3524 2394), 7 rooms, Rates: Baht 150
- Ban Yaowachon Na Wang T. (บ้านเยาวชนหน้าวัง ท.) 69/1, Tambon Thawasukri, 3 rooms, Rates: Baht 500
- Chitwilai Place (จิตต์วิไล เพลส) 38/7 U-Thong Road, Tambon Ho Rattanachai, (Tel: 0 3532 8177, 08 9696 4996, 08 1991 2166), 70 room, Rates: Baht 450-500
- Grand Parent Home (แกรนด์ พาเร้นท์ โฮม) 22/6 Mu 1, Soi Manthana, Naresuan Road, Tambon Pratuchai, (Tel: 0 3523 1480, 08 6383 4791), 10 rooms, Rates: Baht 150-600 (F, A)
- Jack Guesthouse (แจ๊ค เกสท์เฮ้าส์) 19/13 Mu 3, (Tel: 08 1930 4935), 10 rooms, Rates: Baht 480
- New B.J. Guesthouse (นิว บี.เจ เกาสท์เฮ้าส์) 19/29, Naraesuan Road, (Tel: 0 3524 6046, 0 3524 3980), 19 rooms, Rates: Baht 150
- Old B.J. Guesthouse (โอลด์ บี เจ เกสต์เฮาส์) (บรรจง) 16/7 Naresuan Road, Tambon Horattanachai, (Tel: 0 3525 1526), 8 rooms, Rates: Baht 160-350 (F, A)
- Pae Srithong Guesthouse (แพศรีทอง เกสท์เฮ้าส์) 8/1, U-thing Road, Tambon Horattanachai, (Tel: 0 3524 6010), 10 rooms, Rates: Baht 150-600
- Patsaphon (P.S.) Guesthouse (พรรษพร เกสต์เฮาส์) 14/4 Mu 3, Naraesuan Road, Tambon Horattanachai, 9 rooms, Rates: Baht 120–150
- Pludhaya resort and spa (พลูธยา รีสอร์ท แอนด์ สปา), 2/3 Mu 7 Tambon Khlong Suan Phlu (15 mn out of town by tuk-tuk), ☎ +66 (0) 3522 5127 ([email protected], fax: 035- 255232), . 8 rooms, 15 mn out of town by tuk-tuk, very quiet with nice views on the countryside, massages and spa, swimming-pool, good restaurant offering thai cuisine, can help organize tours. ฿2,500-฿4,500. edit
- P.U. Guesthouse (พี ยู เกสต์เฮาส์) ง.20/1 Naresuan Road, Tambon Horattanachai, (Tel: 0 3525 1213), 23 rooms, Rates: Baht 350-700 (F, A)
- Rose Inn (โรส อินน์) 33/23 Mu6, Watprayat Road, Tambom Phailing, (Tel: 0 3521 2149-50), 50 rooms, Rates: Baht 500-600
- Si Ayutthaya (โรงแรมศรีอยุธยา) 10/1 Mu 2, U-Thong Road, Tambon Thawasukri, (Tel: 0 3523 3041), 72 rooms, Rates: Baht 900–1,400 (River Cruise)
- Soon Patthana Khunnaphap Chewit (ศูนย์พัฒนาคุณภาพชีวิต) In Wat Kasattrathirat, (Tel: 0 3521 1340-1), Rates: Baht 1000-3000
- Suan Luang (ศูนย์ฝึกปฏิบัติการวิชาชีพในธุรกิจสวนหลวง) (in Rajabhat University Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya) 96 Mu 2, Rotchana Road, Tambon Pratuchai, (Tel: 0 3524 5537), 25 rooms, Rates: Baht 500-600 (F, A)
- Sunrise Place (ซันไรซ์ เพลส) 6/3 Naresuan Road, Tambon Pratuchai, (Tel: 0 3524 4325, 08 1686 9549, 08 1991 7487), 15 rooms, Rates: Baht 350-600 (F, A) [email protected]
- Ayotthaya Riverside hotel ( โรงแรมอโยธยาริเวอร์ไซด์ ) น.91 Mu 10, Pa-co Road, Tambon Gamang, (Tel: 0 2323 4873-7), 102 rooms, Rates: Baht 900-2000
- The Old Palace Resort (ดิ โอลด์ พาเลส รีสอร์ท) 1/35 Mu 5, Tambon Thawasukri (Tel: 0 3525 2534, 0 3525 1572), 3 rooms and 5 bungalows, Rates: Baht 300–500 (F, A)
- The Old Place Guesthouse (ดิ โอลด์ เพลส เกสต์เฮาส์) ค.102 U-Thong Road, Tambon Horattanachai, (Tel: 0 3521 1161, 08 9614 3010), 10 rooms, Rates: Baht 250-500 (F, A)
- Thong Chai Guesthouse (ธงชัยเกสต์เฮาส์) 9/6 Mu 13, Tambon Pratuchai, (Tel: 0 3524 5210),
38 rooms, Rates: Baht 200-400 (F,A)
- T.M.T Guesthouse (ที เอ็ม ที เกสท์เฮ้าส์) 14/9, Nareasuan Road, 10 rooms, Rates: Baht 100-120
- Tony Place (โทนี่ เพลส) 12/18 Naresuan Road, Tambon Horattanachai, (Tel: 0 3525 2578), 20 rooms, Rates: Baht 200-700 (F, A)
- Toto Guesthouse (โตโต้ เกสต์เฮาส์) 6/5 Naresuan Road, Tambon Horattanachai, (Tel: 0 3523 2658),
30 rooms, Rates: Baht 100–400
- U-Thong Road Hotel (อู่ทองโฮเต็ล) จ.86 U-Thong Road, Tambon Horattanachai, (Tel: 0 3525 3000, 0 3525 1063), 67 rooms, Rates: Baht 240-380 (F, A)
- U-Thong Inn (อู่ทองอินน์) 210 Mu 5, Rotchana Raod, (Tel: 0 3521 2531-40), 207 rooms, Rates: Baht 1,600–4,000
- Wiang Fa (เวียงฟ้า) 1/8 Rotchana Road, (Tel: 0 3524 1353, 0 3524 3252, E-mail: [email protected]), 18 rooms, Rates: Baht 400-600 (A)
- Promsook Place Hotel 11/44-45 Preedee Phanomyong (Rojana) Rd., Tel: 0 3532 3999, 25 rooms, Rates: Baht 600-700 (A) www.prom-sook.com
- 'THE LIMA PLACE' (เดอะ ลิม่า เพลส), 139 Moo 2 Bankao Ayutthaya 13000 (In City Near Pagoda Roundabout). Check-in: 2.00PM; Check-out: 12.00 noon. Reservation Contact : 66 35 801808 to 10, 66 86 8892389, Fax : 66 35 801800, Rooms : 75 rooms & 1 function room, Price : 400-700 baht, Wesite : http://www.limaplace.com/, E-mail : [email protected]
- Ayutthaya Grand Hotel (อยุธยา แกรนด์ โฮเต็ล) 55/5 Mu 1, Rotchana Road, Tambon Thanu, (Tel : 0 3533 5483–91), 190 rooms, Rates: Baht 500–2,000 (A)
- Ayutthaya Homestay (อยุธยา โฮมสเตย์)) Contact 15/26 Mu 2, Ko Loi, Tambon Hua Ro (Tel: 08 1290 6630, 08 1434 1858), 6 rooms, Rates: Baht 350-650 (F, A)
- Grand Garden Resort (แกรนด์ การ์เด้น รีสอร์ท) 20/2 Mu 1, Yaek Wat Gasung Road, Tambon Thanu, (Tel: 0 3521 3688–9), 20 rooms, Rates: Baht 480-540
- Krathom Chaophraya (กระท่อมเจ้าพระยา) (Near Phra Suriyothai Monument) 45/1 Mu 8, Tambon Banmai, (Tel : 0 3539 8200–1), 10 rooms, Rates: Baht 900 and 4 bungalows, Rates: Baht 1,200–1,500 (on the Riversides)
- My House Guesthouse (มายเฮาส์ เกสต์เฮาส์) 59/8–9 Rotchana Road, (Tel: 0 3533 5493–4), 15 rooms, Rates: Baht 370 (A)
- Plaina Resort (ปลายนา รีสอร์ท) 25/99 Mu 10, Tambon Khaomao, Tambon Thanu, (Tel: 0 3521 3538), 100 rooms, Rates: Baht 250–400 (F, A)
- Rotchana Phon Hotel (โรจนะพลโฮเต็ล) 64/6 Mu 1, Rotchana Road, Tambon Thanu, (Tel: 0 3533 5885-8), 65 rooms, Rates: Baht 390-520
- Siam Inn (สยามอินน์) 64 Mu1, (Tel: 0 3533 5466), 25 rooms, Rates: Baht 200-500
- Thai Thai Palace (ไทยไทพาเลซ) 19/2 Mu 2, Asia Highway, Tambon Thanu, (Tel: 0 3521 2338–40),
122 rooms, Rates: Baht 400-900
- Thip Wiman Resort (ทิพย์วิมาน รีสอร์ท) 9 Mu 6, Hualan-Don Phutsa Road, Tambon Thanu (Tel: 0 3535 6808-12), 60 rooms, Rates: Baht 650-2,000
Amphoe Bang Pa-in
- Pra-in Racha (พระอินทร์ราชา) 136 Mu 7, Tambon Chiangraknoi, (Tel: 0 3536 1081), 50 rooms, Rates: Baht 250-500
- Ban Kaew Nai Suan Homestay (โฮมสเตย์บ้านแก้วในสวน) 13/5 Mu 5 Tambon Ko Kerd, Tel: 0 3526 2815, 08 1851 6632), 10 bungalows, Rates: Baht 700 (included meals and canal cruise)
- Bang Sai Hospi-House Resort and Spa (บางไทรฮอสปิเฮ้าส์ รีสอร์ท แอนด์ สปา (เวลเนสโฮม) 1 Mu 4, Tambon Chang Lek, Tel: 0 3524 9500
- Peeyawan Resort (ปียวรรณรีสอร์ท บ้านสวนสี่ภาค)) 2/1 Mu 1, Tambon Chiangraknoi, (Tel: 0 3536 6630, Bangkok Office tel: 0 2619 7997, 0 2619 8350, 0 2619 5658-9, 08 1860 3113 www.peeyawanresort.com), 22 rooms, Rates: Baht 700–5,000
Amphoe Nakhon Luang
- Ban Sarai Homestay (บ้านสาไรโฮมสเตย์) 11/2 Mu 5 Tambon Tha Chang, (Tel: 0 3573 0957, 08 6800 2657)
- Homestay Khlong Rang Chorakhae (โฮมสเตย์คลองรางจระเข้) (located by the Rang Chorakhae canal side) 26 Mu 10, Tambon Ban Pho (Tel: 08 1251 8058, 08 9881 1042), Rates: Baht 700 / person / night (included 2 meals)
- Chao Chet Homestay (เจ้าเจ็ดโฮมสเตย์) 58 Mu 7, Tambon Chao Chet (Tel: 0 3520 1876, 08 9041 3706), Rates: Baht 800 / person / night (included 3 meals)
Amphoe Tha Ruea
- Tha Ruea (ท่าเรือ) 77/10 Tha Ruea–Thalan Road, Tambon Tha Ruea, (Tel: 0 3522 3388), 18 rooms, Rates: Baht 150-400 (F, A)
Amphoe Wang Noi
- Thailand Petrolium Authority Training Center (ศูนย์พัฒนาบุคลากร ปตท.) 71 Mu 2 Phahonyothin Road km.78, Amphoe Wang Noi, (Tel: 0 2537 3000), 60 rooms, Rates: Baht 800-2,000
--globe-trotter 01:00, 3 February 2010 (EST)