YOU CAN EDIT THIS PAGE! Just click any blue "Edit" link and start writing!

Changes

Jump to: navigation, search

Grand old hotels

875 bytes added, 15 July
Costa Rica
===Egypt===
* [[Alexandria]], [[Egypt]] - Steigenberger Cecil Sofitel [httphttps://www.accorhotelssteigenberger.com/accorhotelsen/fichehotelhotels/gball-hotels/sofegypt/1726alexandria/fiche_hotel.shtmlsteigenberger-cecil-hotel]
* [[Aswan]], [[Egypt]] - Old-Cataract Hotel [http://www.sofitel.com/sofitel/fichehotel/gb/sof/resort/1666/fiche_hotel.shtml]
* [[Cairo]], [[Egypt]] - Marriott Hotel [http://marriott.com/property/propertypage/CAIEG], originally the "Al Gezira Palace" built to house Napoleon's wife, Empress Eugenie of France
===Kenya===
* [[Nairobi]], [[Kenya]] - Giraffe Manor [httphttps://www.giraffemanorthesafaricollection.com/properties/giraffe-manor/]
* [[Nairobi]], [[Kenya]] - Norfolk Hotel [http://www.fairmont.com/norfolkhotel]
===Mozambique===
* [[Maputo]] - Polana Hotel[https://www.serenahotels.com/serenapolana/en/default.html]
==Asia==
* [[Beijing]], [[China]] - Beijing Hotel [http://www.chinabeijinghotel.com.cn/en/index.html]
* [[Shanghai]], [[China]] - The Peace Hotel [http://www.fairmont.com/peacehotel]
* [[Shanghai]], [[China]] - Astor House Hotel [http://www.pujianghotel.com/]
* [[Hangzhou]], [[China]] - The New Hotel [http://www.thenewhotel.com/Weben/Public/Default.aspx]
* [[Seoul]], [[South Korea]] - Westin Chosun [http://www.starwoodhotels.com/westin/property/overview/index.html?propertyID=1064]
* [[Tokyo/Chiyoda|Tokyo]], [[Japan]] - The Imperial Hotel [http://www.imperialhotel.co.jp]
* [[Yokohama]], [[Japan]] - Hotel New Grand [http://www.hotel-newgrand.co.jp/english/]
* [[Nara]], [[Japan]] - Nara Hotel [http://www.narahotel.co.jp/english/index.html]
===Middle East===
* [[Jerusalem]], [[Israel]] - American Colony Hotel [http://www.americancolony.com]
* [[Jerusalem]], [[Israel]] - King David Hotel [httphttps://www.danhotels.com/danSiteJerusalemHotels/engKingDavidJerusalemHotel/hotelHomepage.asp?hotelNo=4]
* [[Aleppo]], [[Syria]] - Baron Hotel
 
===North East Asia===
* [[Darjeeling]], [[India]] - Windamere Hotel [http://www.windamerehotel.com/]
===South Asia===
* [[Bangalore]], [[India]] - Taj West End [http://www.tajhotels.com/Luxury/The%20Taj%20West%20End%2CBANGALORE/]
* [[Chennai]], [[India]] - Taj Connemara [http://www.tajhotels.com/Business/Taj%20Connemara,CHENNAI/]
* [[Colombo]], [[Sri Lanka]] - The Galle Face Hotel [http://www.gallefacehotel.com/]
* [[Kolkata]], [[India]] - The Great Eastern Hotel. Once known as 'the jewel of the east' the hotel is sadly dilapidated these days.
* [[Kolkata]], [[India]] - The Grand Hotel [http://www.oberoikolkata.com/]
* [[Delhi]], [[India]] - The Imperial Hotel [http://www.theimperialindia.com/]
* [[Delhi]], [[India]] - Maidens Hotel [http://www.maidenshotel.com/index.htm]
* [[Kandy]], [[Sri Lanka]] - The Queen's Hotel[http://www.queenshotel.lk/]
* [[Mumbai]], [[India]] - The Taj Mahal Palace [http://www.tajhotels.com/Palace/The%20Taj%20Mahal%20Palace%20%26%20Tower%2CMUMBAI/default.htm]
* [[Shimla]], [[India]] - Clarke's Hotel [http://www.clarkesshimla.com/]
* [[Singapore]] - The Raffles [http://www.raffleshotel.com]
* [[Surabaya]], [[Indonesia]] - Hotel Majapahit [http://www.hotel-majapahit.com/]
* [[Yangon]], [[Myanmar]] (Burma) - Strand Hotel [httphttps://www.ghmhotelshotelthestrand.com/]
Of course, there are some other very classy options as well:
* [[Bangkok]], [[Thailand]] - The Oriental [http://www.mandarinoriental.com/bangkok/]
* [[Hua Hin]], [[Thailand]] - Sofitel Centara Grand [httphttps://www.sofitelcentarahotelsresorts.com/gbcentaragrand/hotel-0891-sofitel-centara-grand-resort-and-villaschbr/index.shtml]
* [[Hanoi]], [[Vietnam]] - The Metropole [http://www.sofitel.com/sofitel/fichehotel/gb/sof/1555/fiche_hotel.shtml]
* [[Ho Chi Minh City]], [[Vietnam]] - Continental Hotel [http://www.continental-saigon.com/]
* [[Manila]], [[Philippines]] - The Manila Hotel [http://www.manila-hotel.com.ph]
* [[Siem Reap]] (Angkor Wat), [[Cambodia]] - Grand Hotel d'Angkor [http://siemreap.raffles.com/]
* [[Phnom Penh]], [[Cambodia]] - Le Royal [http://phnompenhwww.raffles.com/phnom-penh/]
* [[Vientiane]], [[Laos]] - Settha Palace Hotel [http://www.setthapalace.com/]
* [[Singapore]] - Goodwood Park Hotel [http://www.goodwoodparkhotel.com/]
* [[Yogyakarta]], [[Indonesia]] - The Phoenix Hotel [http://www.accorhotels.com/gb/hotel-5451-the-phoenix-hotel-yogyakarta-mgallery-collection/index.shtml]
==Europe==
===Northern Europe===
Many Swedish towns have a town hotel, ''stadshotell'', colloquially ''Statt'', usually built with the advent of rail traffic in the late 19th century. This hotel is usually the most prominent historical building, second to the church or the city hall, and the city's nightlife hotspot. The rating is usually proportional to the town's size, at three stars in small towns, reaching five stars only in major cities.
* [[Copenhagen]], [[Denmark]] - Hotel D'Angleterre (1875) [httphttps://www.dangleterre.com/]* [[Helsinki]], [[Finland]] - Kämp (1887) [http://www.hotelkamp.fi/]* [[Oslo]], [[Norway]] - Grand Hotel (1874) [http://www.grand.no/]
* [[Gothenburg]], [[Sweden]] - Hotel Royal (1852) [http://www.hotel-royal.se/]
* [[Stockholm]], Sweden - Grand Hôtel (1872) [http://www.grandhotel.se]
* [[Stockholm]], Sweden - First Hotel Reisen (1819) [http://www.firsthotels.se/Vara-Hotell/Hotell-i-Sverige/Stockholm/First-Hotel-Reisen/]
* [[Stockholm/Southern Suburbs]], Sweden - Grand Hotel Saltsjöbaden (1893) [httphttps://wwwgrandsaltsjobaden.helnan.infose/en/Saltsjobaden]
* [[Sundsvall]], Sweden - Hotel Knaust (1861) [http://www.elite.se/eng/node/710]
===West Europe===
* [[Amsterdam]], [[Netherlands]] - Amstel Hotel (1867) [http://www.amsterdam.intercontinental.com]* [[Brussels]], [[Belgium]] - Hotel Metropole (1895) [http://www.metropolehotel.com/]* [[London]], [[UK]] - Savoy Hotel (1889) [http://www.fairmont.com/savoy/]* [[London]], [[UK]] - The Ritz (1906) [http://www.theritzlondon.com]
* [[London]], [[UK]] - The Langham [http://london.langhamhotels.co.uk/en/]
* [[Paris]], [[France]] - Hôtel Ritz [http://www.ritzparis.com]
===Central Europe===
* [[Baden-Baden]], [[Germany]] - Brenners Parkhotel [http://www.brenners.com/eng/welcome/]
* [[Berlin]], [[Germany]] - Hotel Adlon [http://www.hotel-adlon.de/en/hotel/index.htm]
* [[Budapest]], [[Hungary]] - Hotel Gellért [http://www.danubiushotels.com/en/budapest-hotels/danubius-hotel-gellert-budapest]
* [[Budapest]], [[Hungary]] - Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal [http://www.corinthiahotels.com/home?l=1&c=3]
* [[Frankfurt]], [[Germany]] - Frankfurter Hof [http://www.steigenberger.com/aw/Hotel_Steigenberger_Frankfurter_Hof/~baid/]
* [[Geneva]], [[Switzerland]] - Beau Rivage [http://www.beau-rivage.ch/uk]
* [[Hamburg]], [[Germany]] - Hotel Atlantic [http://www.kempinski.atlantic.de/en/home/index.htm]
* [[Heiligendamm]], [[Germany]] - Grand Hotel Heiligendamm [httphttps://www.hotelheiligendammgrandhotel-heiligendamm.de/&lang=en]* [[Karlovy Vary]], [[Czech Republic]] - Grand Hotel Pupp [http:/home/indexwww.pupp.htmcz/en/]
* [[Krakow]], [[Poland]] - Grand Hotel [http://www.grand.pl/]
* [[Lucerne]], [[Switzerland]] - Grand Hotel National [http://www.national-luzern.ch/]
===Eastern Europe===
* [[Lviv]], [[Ukraine]] - Hotel George [http://www.georgehotel.com.ua/]
* [[Moscow]], [[Russia]] - Hotel Ukraina [http://www.eng.ukraina-hotel.ru/]
* [[Saint Petersburg]], [[Russia]] - Grand Hotel Europe [http://www.grand-hotel-europe.com]
* [[Saint Petersburg]], [[Russia]] - Hotel Astoria [http://www.thehotelastoria.com/]
===Canada===
The grand old hotels in Canada have a unique place in Canadian history. Most of them were built during first quarter of the 20th century by the Canadian Pacific Railway , the Canadian National Railway, or Grand Trunk Railway in order to provide elegant accommodation while viewing the natural beauty along the rail line. Later, the railway sold them to international chains, mainly Fairmont.
These hotels are popular with tourists and locals alike and though overnight stays are expensive, they represent a fine piece of Canadiana worth visiting even if you only have time for a walk through the lobby. Two - Banff and Lake Louise - are major tourist resorts in their own right, located amid stunning Rocky Mountain scenery.
[[Image:ChateauFrontenac.jpg|thumb|250px|Le Château Frontenac, [[Quebec City]]]]
* [[Banff]], [[Alberta]] - The Banff Springs Hotel [http://www.fairmont.com/banffsprings/] * [[Calgary]], [[Alberta]] - The Palliser Hotel [http://www.fairmont.com/palliser/]* [[Edmonton]], [[Alberta]] - The Hotel MacDonald [http://www.fairmont.com/macdonald/]* [[Lake Louise]], [[Alberta]] - The Chateau Lake Louise [http://www.fairmont.com/lakelouise/]* [[Ottawa]], [[Ontario]] - The Chateau Laurier [http://www.fairmont.com/laurier/]* [[Quebec City]], [[Quebec]] - The Chateau Frontenac [http://www.fairmont.com/frontenac/]* [[Saskatoon]], [[Saskatchewan]] - The Bessborough Hotel [http://www.deltahotels.com/hotels/hotels.php?hotelId=8]* [[Toronto]], [[Ontario]] - The Royal York [http://www.fairmont.com/royalyork/]* [[Vancouver]], [[British Columbia]] - The Hotel Vancouver [http://www.fairmont.com/hotelvancouver/]* [[Victoria (British Columbia)|Victoria]], [[British Columbia]] - The Empress Hotel [http://www.fairmont.com/empress]* [[Victoria (British Columbia)|Victoria]], [[British Columbia]] - The Oak Bay Beach Hotel [http://www.oakbaybeachhotel.com/]* [[Winnipeg]], [[Manitoba]] - The Hotel Fort Garry [http://www.fortgarryhotel.com]
===Mexico===
[[Image:Memoria_patrimonio_009.jpg|thumb|The Gran Hotel Costa Rica]]
 
* [[San José (Costa Rica)|San José]], [[Costa Rica]] The Hotel Grano de Oro [http://www.granodeoro.com/], Grand old hotel of Victorian design. Also listed as a small, distinctive hotel. In the heart of San Jose by Sabana park and walking distance to the art museum.
Anonymous user

Navigation menu