YOU CAN EDIT THIS PAGE! Just click any blue "Edit" link and start writing!

Changes

Jump to: navigation, search

Palmyra (New York)

5,045 bytes added, 19:54, 7 July 2012
See: add attractions
Still, Palmyra's claim to be the Queen of Erie Canal Towns is not entirely unfounded. You can easily spend a day here browsing the shops, strolling the canal, and taking in the sights and sounds. Traffic is relatively light, and there are few cookie-cutter retail chains spoiling the atmosphere.
 
* <see name="Four corners, four steeples" alt="" address="Main St at Church St/Canandaigua St" directions="" phone="" email="" fax="" url="" hours="" price="">Hey, when you're in a small town, sometimes the most trivial things can become tourist attractions. There's one church on each corner of this intersection, and the village claims that no place else in the country can boast the same. The 1832 Western Presbyterian Church, 1867 First United Methodist Church, 1870 First Baptist Church, and 1873 Zion Episcopal Church aren't connected in any other way, and there's no tour or admission fee that lets you explore them all. But the sight is a popular one for photographers, if nothing else.</see>
* <see name="Aqueduct Park" alt="" address="" directions="Rt 31 east to village line" phone="" email="" fax="" url="" hours="" price="">So named due to the still-standing aqueduct that carried the original Erie Canal&mdash;Clinton's Ditch&mdash;over "Mud Creek" (part of Ganargua Creek), Aqueduct Park is a treasure trove for Canal buffs. For starters, the aqueduct itself is quite a sight. Modern Lock 29 is also here, for those who like to watch boats lock up and down. There's a man-made waterfall where the modern canal spills over into the creek. Also here is the historic Aldrich Change Bridge; though it no longer crosses the canal, it was originally built when the original canal was widened in 1840 (the widened canal allowed no room for the south-bank towpath through the village of Palmyra, so the bridge was needed for the mules to change sides).</see>
* <see name="Swift's Landing" alt="" address="4100 Hogback Hill Rd" directions="Rt 31 east to Galloway Rd, north across the canal" phone="" email="" fax="" url="" hours="" price="">Swift's Landing on Ganargua Creek is where John Swift started settlement of the town; today it's a quiet 17-acre park that sits between the Creek and the Canal.</see>
* <see name="Historic Palmyra Museum Complex" alt="" address="132 Market St" directions="" phone="+1 315 [email protected]" email="" fax="" url="http://www.historicpalmyrany.com/" hours="" price="Single museum: Adults $3, Ages 12-17 and seniors $2; Trail Ticket (all four museums): $7 and $5. Children under 12 free with adult">The complex encompasses four separate museums, each presenting a different aspect of life in old Palmyra.</see>
** <see name="Palmyra Historical Museum" alt="" address="132 Market St" directions="" phone="" email="" fax="" url="" hours="Late Spring - Fall: Tu-Sa 11AM-4PM; Fall - Spring: Tu-Th 10AM-5PM; or by appointment" price="">The flagship museum of the complex houses a number of permanent exhibits on local history and artifacts. Topics include the Erie Canal, the Underground Railroad, women's suffrage, and the Book of Mormon. Another exhibit details the unique connection Sir Winston Churchill had to Palmyra.</see>
** <see name="William Phelps General Store and Home Museum" alt="" address="140 Market St" directions="" phone="" email="" fax="" url="" hours="Late Spring - Fall: Tu-Sa 11AM-4PM; Fall - Spring: Tu-Th 10AM-5PM; or by appointment" price="">A former boarding house and tavern, the Phelps General Store was locked up in 1940 and left untouched for decades, leaving the contents almost exactly as they would have looked in decades past. The apartment upstairs appears much as it did when the Phelps family first occupied it, without any of the common modern conveniences like indoor plumbing.</see>
** <see name="Print Shop Museum" alt="" address="140 Market St" directions="" phone="" email="" fax="" url="" hours="Late Spring - Fall: Tu-Sa 11AM-4PM; Fall - Spring: Tu-Th 10AM-5PM; or by appointment" price="">John M. Jones sold printing equipment from this location for 63 years; today, examples of those items are on display at the museum.</see>
** <see name="Alling Coverlet Musuem" alt="" address="122 William St" directions="" phone="" email="" fax="" url="" hours="Jun 1 - mid-Sep (except Jul 4): daily 1PM-4PM, Sa-Mo call first; mid-Sep - Jun 1: Tu-Th, call first" price="">The hand-woven coverlet collection of Mrs. Merle Alling constitutes the core of this museum's assets, which also includes exhibits on quilting and weaving. A small gift shop features woven goods and books.</see>
* <see name="Village Park" alt="" address="149 E Main St" directions="between Church St & William St" phone="" email="" fax="" url="" hours="" price="">The Village Park is in many ways the center of community activity in the village. Nearly every weekend it seems like there's ''something'' going on there, from outdoor movies to Farmers' Markets to bandstand concerts to community garage sales. Playground and picnic facilities available.</see>
* <see name="Sexton Park" alt="Prospect Hill" address="Johnson St" directions="" phone="" email="" fax="" url="" hours="" price="">Much larger than Village Park, Sexton Park sits on Prospect Hill, a glacial drumlin much like Hill Cumorah to the south. It's a large wooded park popular with picnickers.</see>
===Latter-day Saints sites===
8,238
edits

Navigation menu