Rindge is a city in Southern New Hampshire.
Rindge is a small town in Cheshire County, New Hampshire that was originally inhabited by ancestors of the Abenaki Tribe of native Americans. Evidence has displayed that the region may have been inhabited as many as 11,000 years ago. The first modern settler was Abel Platts, who arrived in 1738. The onset of the French and Indian War in 1744 drove the majority of the initial settlers away, but only for a short time. Platts and an small group of settlers returned to establish a more permanent residence in 1758 after the war had subsided. By 1859, there was 1,200 residents living in the small mill town. Rindge has only grown slightly over the years with modern census figures displaying slightly more than 6,000 current residents.
- From Keene, NH: Take NH-12S to NH-119E into Rindge. Approximate travel time: 45min.
- From Boston, MA: Take I93N which merges into I95S towards Waltham. Then take MA 40W to MA 119W which turns into NH 119W/General Reed HWY into Rindge. Approximate travel time 2hrs.
When in Rindge, the only mode of transportation will be the car that you arrived in. There are no public transportation options and no taxis.
- The Cathedral of the Pines. 10 Hale Hill Road, Rindge, NH, 03461. Open 9am to 5pm daily, May 1 to October 31. Founded by Sibyl and Douglas Stone in 1945, the Cathedral of the Pines is an open air cathedral and memorial dedicated to those who sacrifices their lives for our country during WWII. The cathedral and memorial sit on a 236 acre piece of land which overlooks Mt. Monadnock.
- Mt. Monadnock. At 3,165 feet, Mt. Monadnock, or Grand Monadnock, is one of the most frequently ascended mountains in the world. With a variety of hiking trails, including the 110 mile Metacomet-Monadnock trail, this mountain is a popular destination of tourists and locals alike. The Metacomet-Monadnock Trail crosses a variety of mountainous terrains with features including swamps, lakes, waterfalls, and cliff faces. The trail also passes through a number of historical sites.
- Pearly Pond. Located on the campus of Franklin Pierce University, this destination offers an outlet for a variety of aquatic sports including kayaking and paddleboarding.
- White's Sugar Shack. At White's, maple based products are made on site. Other locally grown organic goods are also sold at this quaint store.
- "Rooted in Clay" Pottery. This pottery workshop and store is owned by a former Franklin Pierce graduate. Besides selling a variety of high quality pieces of pottery, Rooted in Clay also offers workshops and pottery classes weekly.
- Pizza Haven. Open 11am to 11pm, 7 Days a week. Pizza Haven is a family owned and operated restaurant that has catered to the students of Franklin Pierce University for a number of year. Their menu offers a number of specialty pizzas as well as grinders, calzones and a variety of appetizers.
- JP Stevens. Formerly Lilys on the Water, the local tavern is named for a former Franklin Pierce baseball player who was tragically killed in a alcohol related accident. The owners opened this bar and restaurant to provide students with a place to hang out and have a good time without having to travel far from campus. With a number of domestic, import and craft beers and an extensive pub menus, JP Stevens has quickly become a favorite of the students and faculty of FPU.
- Mama Duke's Diner. This New England diner is open seven days a week and serves breakfast, lunch and diner during all operating hours.