Plungė District Tourist Information Centre (Plungės Turizmo informacijos centras), S. Dariaus ir S. Girėno St 27 (by the main gate to Ogiński Park), ☎ +370 687 70339 ([email protected]). M 08:00-17:00, F 08:00-17:00. Collects information about Plungė district, provides all regular tourist services. Note that Plungė is not a resort, hence the office works only twice a week.
According to archaeological data the territory was inhabited already in 5th–1st centuries BC. Until the end of Middle Ages it was a rather insignificant settlement east of Gandinga, an important fort which was a part of defensive fortification line constructed against the crusaders. Only in 1567 Plungė was first mentioned as a town in written sources. 13 Jan 1792 Plungė was granted Magdeburg rights. During 19th century Plungė belonged to Prince Zubov who later sold it to Count Michał Mikołaj Ogiński. Soon the manor was substantially expanded and rebuilt in Neo-Renaissance style. Now the complex of Ogiński residential manor and the park, both completed in 1879, remains the one of most famous and significant historical-architectural ensembles in the country.
Plungė is small enough to cover on foot.
Eat and Drink
Plungė (both town and the district) phone code is 448 and the 5 digit local subscriber number.
Kretinga, Samogitian town on the way to the seaside.
Palanga, sea resort.