Original file (960 × 633 pixels, file size: 158 KB, MIME type: image/jpeg)
The mosque is located on the old side of Tetovo and is closer to the Shkumbim River. It was built in 1945 and rebuilt and expanded from the foundation in 1833 by Abdurrahman Pasha, the son of Rexhep Pasha. This mosque, which with its unique appearance, is an introductory example and artistic work of objects of Islamic, spiritual, and cultural life of the city of Macedonia.
The look of the Mosque we see dates back to the 19th century, the foundations of the Old Mosque were raised by two unmarried Sisters Hurghada and Mensure Hatun. But by the end of the century. 15 which in the nineteenth century. 17 was burned, with the minaret being completely renewed, the proof of this is the marble slab that is above the mosque door in the style of the dervish of that time known Mehmed Murti and rebuilt from the foundation and extended in 1833 by Abdurrahman Pasha, the son of Rexhep Pasha.
The lavish mosque is best known for the drawings that have inside and outside the impressive décor of the Ottoman-Turkish Baroque. Inside the walls of the Mosque are the names of the Prophets, the four Caliphs and Hazrat Hasani and Hussein, as well as the frescoes of Mecca and the towns of Anatolia. Also presented are geometric and plant motifs and improvisations of buildings. According to the traditions of the dying of colors, 30,000 egg whites were spent.
Click on a date/time to view the file as it appeared at that time.