Andernach is a city in Rhineland-Palatinate on the left bank of the Rhine. A few hundred metres downstream of Andernach the Rhine valley narrows from both sides forming the northern part of the romantic Middle Rhine stretch. Founded by the Romans as Antunnacum in 12 BC on the site of an old Celtic settlement, Andernach is one of the oldest towns in Germany. The city was the southernmost outpost of the Electorate of Cologne from the 12th to the 19th century. Andernach has about 30,000 inhabitants.
Andernach is located within one hour travelling time of three major German airports: Cologne, Frankfurt, Frankfurt-Hahn
Andernach is served by IC trains from Dortmund, Trier and Heidelberg. There is also a direct connection by EC to Budapest and by ICE to Berlin.
RE (Express Train) from Emmerich via Düsseldorf, Cologne, Bonn to Coblence
MRB (Passenger Train) from Cologne via Coblence, Bingen to Mainz
Pellenzbahn (Passenger Train) to Kaisersech via Mayen and Mendig.
Two German motorways lead to Andernach:
A48 (Exit: Koblenz B9) and A61 (Exit Kruft).
The B9 is a motorway like street from Koblenz to Andernach.
There is currently no service by the KD.
Ferry to Leutesdorf 3 per Day (only Fr,Sa and Su)
The center is small enough to discover it by foot. At the tourist office you can get a city-map for free. All over the town there are city maps too.
- "Round Tower" (Ger. "Der Runde Turm", 183 feet (56 m) tall) finished in 1453
- Archiepiscopal (Electorate of Cologne) castle ruins with a well-preserved keep, and the remains of the town wall with several well-restored wall towers and two gates: the "Rhine Gate" (das "Rheintor") built around 1200 as the "Grain Gate" (die "Kornpforte"; last renovation and reconstruction in 1899 after 17th century plans) and the "Coblencian Gate" ("Koblenzer Tor"), originally called the "Castle Gate" ("Burgpforte")
- "Old Crane" of Andernach (Ger. der "Alte Krahnen"), a 16th-century stony land based treadwheel tower crane 29 feet (8.8 m) in diameter and 31 feet (9.4 m) high situated outside the town downstream close to the river bank of the old harbour where it replaced an even older 14th century wooden floating treadwheel crane. For 350 years it was in operation from 1561 to 1911. Two to four men were required to rotate the crane top by means of a huge double ended lever (horizontal wooden bar) attached to the vertical wooden crane "beam" and four others on a (treadwheel men or menials) to operate the huge wooden twin treadwheels (more than 14 feet (4.3 m) in diameter) which lifted and lowered the load—mainly millstones, tuff-stone blocks for the Netherlands and wine casks. This treadwheel crane with stone walls (most cranes had a timber housing) is one of only a few of its kind in Europe to have survived. A prince-electoral order or permission was needed to build and operate such a crane in the times of the Holy Roman Empire.
- The Catholic "St. Mary Assumption Parish Church" locally known as "Church of Our Lady" or "St. Mary's Cathedral" (Ger. "Pfarrkirche Maria Himmelfahrt", "Liebfrauenkirche", or "Mariendom") is the oldest historical attraction in Andernach, some of which date back to the 11th century.
- The town palais "von der Leyen house" (Ger. "Haus von der Leyen"), named after its builder district magistrate and governor of the prince-elector, "Georg III von der Leyen," dates back to 1600. Built in renaissance and baroque styles it now houses the town museum.
- Geyser Andernach, the world's highest cold-water geyser: One of Andernach's natural attractions is the world's highest (max. 210 feet (64 m)) cold-water geyser, driven by carbon dioxide with force generated in a fashion similar to that in a shaken bottle of table water. It is located a little less than half a mile downstream from the "Crane" in the Nature Reserve of "Namedyer Werth" (MHG for "island of Namedy), now a peninsula. Activated for the first time in 1903, the geyser was shut down in 1957 but reactivated early in the current century as yet another city attraction.
- "Volcano Park" ("Vulkanpark"): a geological park situated in the Eifel from Mayen, Mendig, Plaidt. The Volcano Park illustrates volcanism in the Eifel, how the present-day landscape developed, and the exploitation of basalt, pumice and tuff since Roman times. It incorporates exhibits on volcanology, archaeology and industrial history, with educational trails and information signs. The museum incorporates a total of 25 stations, which can be combined in a single visit using four roads plus hiking and bicycle paths.
- "Laacher See" is a volcanic caldera lake with a diameter of 2 km (1.2 mi) about 8 km (5 mi) west of Andernach. On the western side lies the Benedictine monastery of Maria Laach Abbey (Abbatia Lacensis), founded in 1093.
- Carnival in February
- Geyser Spring, open Sunday and Spring fair (March)
- European Festival (July)
- Fest der 1000 Lichter (July/August), Festival of 1000 lights with fireworks
- Night of culture (September)
- Michelsmarkt (late September)
- Christmas Market and Living Crib
Small Shops in the City
A small Mall "Einkaufswelt Andernach"
Restaurants available in the city
- Park Hotel
- Rhein Hotel
- Hotel Rheinkrone
- Hotel Stilvoll
- Hotel am Helmwartsturm
- A caravan port direct at the Rhine front (7,-€ per Day)
Konrad-Adenauer-Allee 40 (im Geysir-Erlebniszentrum)
Tel.: +49 - 2632 - 987948-0
Fax: +49 - 2632 - 987948-30
Mail: [email protected]
Monday to Friday 09:00 a.m. - 5.30 p.m.
Saturday 10.00 a.m. - 1.00 p.m.