Difference between revisions of "Cookies"
Latest revision as of 08:40, 4 October 2010
Cookies are not necessary to read or edit on Wikitravel Shared, but they are needed for logging on and connecting contributions to a user account. The cookies used by Wikitravel Shared only shows traffic data for registered users.
Wikitravel Shared creates a so called session cookie when a user logs on. This cookie identifies the user during the time the user edits, but disappears when the browser is closed (or following an inactive period) and is not stored on the hard disk.
Another cookie saves the name of the latest logged on user account. In reality, this cookie are two cookies: one for the user name and one for the user number. Both cookies are erased after 30 days. If the user thinks that this is a problem, the user must manually empty the browser's cookie cache.
A third type of cookie stores your enciphered password (hash enciphered). This makes the automatic login feature work. The cookie is erased after 30 days. If the user thinks that this is a problem, the user has to decline automatic log on (do not tick the "Remember me" square). Do not choose automatic logon if you are on a public computer.
The following information is for contributors who live in or are citizens of a country in the European union: