The Forest Way
History of the Forest Way railway The railway line was
opened by the London, Brighton & South Coast Railway in
1866 as an extension of the Three Bridges to East Grinstead
branch line. Forest Row was the busiest of the intermediate
stations, dealing in minerals and general goods. It was
finally closed as part of the Beeching cuts in 1966.
The 10 mile (14.5 km) route runs from Forest Row in the west close to the River Medway in Ashdown Forest towards Groombridge in the east the path runs along the route of the old East Grinstead to Tunbridge Wells railway (and the path continues to East Grinstead and Crawley to the West) the path passes thorugh many villages, such as Hartfield, from which refreshments are provided in a local pub. Forest row is more like a small town, with shops and servies. bike hire is also avaliable at Forest Row.
For further information on the route; The National Cycle Network provides information on cycling routes. Contact Sustrans on 0118 929 0888.