Prior to 1944 the island was for centuries populated by ethnic Swedes and traditional Swedish law was used. Ruhnu has currently less than 100, mostly ethnic Estonian permanent inhabitants who like to keep to themselves.
A ferry runs from Munalaid in the mainland to Ruhnu. The trip takes approx. 4,5 hours. Bookings can be made via phone and internet .
St. Madeline's Church in Ruhnu. It's the oldest known wooden building still standing in Estonia - its construction was started in 1643.
Ruhnu's New Church. The new church was build only two meters from the old wooden church. The walls of the church are made from rocks and the church tower from wood. The church bell is one of the oldest in Estonia.
The island is popular with hikers and swimmers, the best beach for swimming is Limo beach, with its "singing" sands.