Noarootsi is a settlement area of Estonian Swedes who arrived to the coastal areas and islands of Estonia in the 13th century. Swedes lived there until in 1939, when the Soviet Union's army bases were brought to Estonia and Noarootsi became a border zone. Most of the Swedes then left Estonia and were replaced by war refugees from Ida-Viru county and Ingria.
A new era in Noarootsi's colourful history started at the end of 1980 when the border zone disappeared and the local residents could return to their homes. In 1988 the first folk day celebrations were organised.
Bus schedules can be checked at Bussireisid.
Noarootsi is a good place for hiking, sailing, hunting, wind surfing, bird watching and for people interested in Soviet/military history and Swedish history.