Difference between revisions of "Montfort-sur-Meu"
Revision as of 12:21, 20 July 2012
Montfort-sur-Meu is a commune in the department of Ille-et-Vilaine in Brittany. It is located in the North West of France.
It is noted as the birthplace of the Roman Catholic Saint Louis de Montfort, who is considered to be the pioneer of the field of Mariology. The saint's birthplace is at 15, Rue de la Saulnerie. It is now jointly owned by the three Montfortian congregations he formed: the Community of the Holy Spirit, the Daughters of Wisdom and the Brothers of Saint Gabriel. It is the site of frequent "Montfortian pilgrimages" to Montfort-sur-Meu.
The towns located next to Montfort-sur-Meu are Iffendic, Bédée, La Nouaye, Breteil and Talensac, but you can also find Saint-Gonlay and Pleumeleuc nearby.
The human being has forged with his imprints the district of Montfort en Brocéliande around Prehistory. It is testified with the covered paths and the menhirs which can be seen in the forest of Montfort.
RN12 (Rennes / Saint brieuc) exit Montfort-Bédée-Pleumeleuc.
By plane: Rennes-Saint Jacques Aeroport.
By train: Railway station of Montfort-sur-Meu, direct lines from Rennes.
Illenoo Bus, town served in the district of Montfort:
It is dedicated to Saint Louis-Marie Grignion de Montfort and is dated from the XIXth century.
In the beginning of the XVIIIth century, when Louis-Marie Grignion de Montfort settled in Saint-Lazare, he restored the chapel. Private property which can be seen from the road.
Built in 1152 by Guillaume I of Montfort, the church has been consecrated in 1156. From the abbey of Saint-Jacques de Montfort, rebuilt during the XIVth century, is only left the former abbey church with its nice gate dated from the XIVth century, classified Historical Monument. In 1976, a fire destroyed the higher part of the walls of the church but also the roof and the inside of the buildings from the XVIIth century.
The actual chapel was built to replace the former parish church of Saint-Jean, destroyed in 1851.
To protect the marches of Brittany, the Dukes led a politic of fortification of the big towns. In 1376, Raoul VII got an authorisation to transform the castle into a real defensive fortress. Around the castle, an important fortification is built with towers and 3 doors. We can still find today the Tower of Papegaut, the Tower of Pas d'Âne, the Tower of Capitaine and parts of the former fortifications. These rampart vestiges are classified Historical Monuments since the 15th of December 1926.
Papegaut Tower is dated from the XIVth century. It is the best preserved element from the medieval town of Montfort-Sur-Meu and the most representative. The Tower is known as "Papegaut" because of a contest for archers and crossbowmen in which the target was a multicolour bird. During the XIXth and the XXth century, the Tower became a prison. Since 1984, it houses the ecomuseum of the district of Montfort. The Tower is classified Historical Monument by the decree of the 5th of November 1926.
During the XVIIIth century, this imposant building was a hotel for the Juguet family, a family of notables who settled in 1777. In 1857, the subprefecture takes its place until it is cut in 1926. During the XXth century, the hospital installed an annexe. In 2002, it's Montfort Communauté who bought the building and restored it
In 1914 starts the building of a municipal hall and finishes after the war. The building also housed the first cinema of the town which could gather 400 people. Nowadays, the building is a cultural centre which offers many shows during the year.
The former urban development of Montfort left traces in the building of houses. Today, we can find dozens of houses which were built between 1550 and 1650. They are located in the oldest streets of the town. We can also find the native house of Louis-Marie Grignion de Montfort. These residences are private properties.
In the street called "Rue du 11 juin 1977", we can see an old mill from the year 1884. It was also equiped at the time of a footbridge called "planks", which was crossing the Meu river and was linking the street called "Ruelle des Moulins" (Mills street).
The building is probably from the end of the XIXth century. In the lower part were cubicles for public baths and a place reserved for boilers. The first floor, protected by wooden laths was used to dry clothes washed by washerwomen.
Today, the town hall is located in the former Ursuline convent who settled in 1639.
In 1799, Montfort became the headquarters of a subprefecture and of a courthouse. It was built between 1832 and 1834. A break is marked between the old houses from the medieval town and the courthouse, as this last one turns its back to the medieval town. It shows the break between the midle-class elit and the former power of aristocrats.
It covers a few hundred hectares, including 40 hectares which are a communal property on the area of Saint-Lazare woods. Several marked paths allow going across this wooden limestone, by foot, by horse and for some people, by bike.
The visit with a GPS guide allows to visit Montfort-sur-Meu through an interactive walk. The tool allows to visit on your own, in family or in a small group, thanks to automatic sound and visual activities.
This path, made of two loops located in the heart of the district of Montfort, offers the crossing of diversified natural places (humid meadow, landscape parkland, shores, pond, sunken lanes, hedged farmlands, woods). Boards explain the historical, floristic and faunistic interest of the different lands. The circuit also highlights the dairy life, mentioning the craft know-how.
This path, to be discovered by foot, allows to understand the evolution and the development of the town from the Middle Ages to nowadays. Thirty boards are available on the path.
The pedestrian circuit, pictured by many photos, allow to appreciate the built heritage while walking (circuit of 2/3 km).
The medieval circuit allows to discover the remains of the fortifications and to understand how Montfort used to work during the Middle Ages. The visit lasts around an hour and a half.
This 25 Km-bike-circuit allows to discover the countryside of the district of Montfort, crossing Montfort-sur-Meu, Iffendic and Saint-Gonlay. This itinerary offers beautiful panoramic views on the Meu river valley, rich in architectural and historical heritage. If you want to add a a playing touch, a game in the form of a questionnaire transforms the circuit into a rally.
Located in Papegaut Tower, the ecomuseum invits you to discover the culture of the district where history and legends are very close. Different permanent exhibitions are offered (the duck legend, the architecture of the district of Brocéliande, Montfort during the Middle Ages, the traditional suit from the XIXth and XXth century, games about nature).
The district of Montfort en Brocéliande offers many local products:
Fabrication on the scene of takeaway galettes and crêpes.
Salted and sweet products, sale of fresh and biologic products, wines, alcohols and spirits. Local and Breton products, confectionery, Cluizel chocolate. Possibility to make up your own gift bag.
Sale of French and worldwide wines, whiskey and spirits, biological wines, beer from Brittany. Tasting every day, oenology lessons, making of cocktails, "we deliver".
In the heart of Montfort-sur-Meu, discover the Asian cooking and Vietnamese specialities in this restaurant housed in a wood-sided house.
Within a stone's throw of the medieval Papegaut Tower, the crêperie La Golotte makes specialities of "galettes de blé noir au sarrazin breton" (kind of crepe made with buckwheat flour) and crepes.
Pizzeria grill. Possible to have takeaway pizzas. Homemade desert, fresh products. Closed and secure terrace. Closed on Monday evening, Thursday evening and Saturday. 50 cutlery + 30 on terrace.
In the heart of the medieval town of Montfort in a cozy atmosphere. Bakery chef for a long time, let yourself tempted by its traditional cook with fresh ingredients.
Traditional cooking and grilled meat.
In the town centre of Montfort, in a new decor, you will be able to savour a diversified cooking and many homemade specialities every week.
22, rue Saint Nicolas Montfort-Sur-Meu
15 pl Cohue 35160 Montfort-Sur-Meu
20 r Gare 35160 Montfort-Sur-Meu
Accommodation in the district of Montfort
In the town centre, very near the railway station, Le Relais de La Cane is a hotel with character whose name comes from the famous legend.
Hotel in the town centre, near the shops and the railway station.
Half-shadowed campsite in the heart of Montfort-sur-Meu, next to the municipal park. Very quiet campsite, near a river, shops and railway station at 800m.