Difference between revisions of "Magog"
Revision as of 06:30, 4 January 2011
Magog is a town in Quebec. Located at the northern end of Lake Memphremagog, this hamlet flourished in the 19th century thanks to the contruction of flour, saw and card mills by Ralph Merry III, the founder of Magog. Arriving in the region around 1797, he constructed the first dam on the north side of the river, between an island and a stream, where the railway now lies.
The town’s original name was “Outlet,” as it is located where the lake drains. For the same reason, the parish of Saint-Patrice-de-Magog, founded in 1861, carried the name Saint-Patrice-d’Outlet at the time. Outlet was the official name for many decades, although Magog started appearing on official documents in 1783.
In 1850, Outlet became Magog, which was officially incorporated on January 28, 1888 as a village, and in 1890 as a town.
Magog became a city in autumn 2002 when it merged with Magog Township, which covers a large area divided into three districts by two shores of Lake Memphremagog and the Town of Omerville, formerly a parish attached to Magog. The merger increased the municipality’s population to 23 540 residents. In a historical context, this merger appealed to a strong sense of mutual ownership based on over 200 years of sharing and developing a common land.
border crossing between Stanstead, QC and Derby Line, VT). It becomes Autoroute Joseph-Armand Bombardier (route 55). Take exit 29 or 33.
Greyhound  motorcoaches connect Magog to Montreal and Sherbrooke.
Throughout the year, Magog is alive with sports, cultural events and a wide variety of activities, including the Traversée Internationale du Lac Memphrémagog swimming event, the Memphrémagog Arts Circuit in the summer, the Magog-Orford Grape Harvest Festival, the Vieux Clocher de Magog, boutiques, art galleries, cafés, terraces, restaurants.
While you’re having fun in the water, keep an eye out for Memphré, a legendary lake creature that has been making waves for over 200 years. Memphré has been seen over 225 times, with sightings dating back to 1798.