Liaoyang (辽阳市 Liáoyáng Shì) is a city in Liaoning province in China.
This is an ancient city with a long history going back over 2400 years. Liaoyang had been the major city of Liaodong (eastern Liaoning) province since the Waring States Period (475-221 BC). When Nurhachi united the Manchurian tribes and founded the Late Jin Dynasty, Nurhachi moved his capital to Liaoning. An imperial palace was built there in 1621. The new capital was renamed Dongjing (East Capital). The city measured 900m east to west and 840m north to south. The city wall was 11 metres high with two gates on either side. However, this palace was barely completed when Nurhachi moved his court yet again to the city of Shenyang in 1625. Nowadays, little remains of the old palace but some walls and gates are visible. In 1904, Battle of Liaoyang was fought as one of the major battles of the Russo-Japanese War. After the end of the second world war and the Chinese civil war, Liaoyang became a centre for heavy industrial development. It is somewhat overshadowed by the now larger neighbours of Shenyang and Anshan but remains one of the key cities of Liaoning province.
The nearest airport to Liaoyang is Shenyang Taoxian International Airport (SHE) simplified Chinese: 沈阳桃仙国际机场. This is some 60km away and take about 1 hours to reach by road.
Liaoyang is well conected by train to most major cities in Liaoning, including Shenyang, Anshan, Dalian, Benxi, Panjin and Dandong. The service is frequent inexpensive. Long distance routes connect Liaoyang to much of China with trains terminating as far a field as Shanghai.
Liaoyang in beside the main Shenda express way that runs north to south along the Liaodong pensular from Shenyang to Dalian. The Shenxi express way form Shenayng to Benxi city also runs through Liaoyang.
Three coaches daily connect Beijing and Liaoyang. There are twice daily coaches to Changchun. Frequent coaches run to and form most major cities in the Province. Coaches to or from Anshan, Benxi and Shenyang run as frequently as the buses circulate.
White Pagoda (Baida) Park (白塔公园), 60 Zhonghua Road, Liaoning. (中华大街一段60号) (From the train station take No.7 bus.), ☎ +86(0419)2126429. This is the talles, at 70.4 metres, ancient pagoda in the Northeast of China. It dates to the Liao Dynasty and is one of the 6 oldest pagoda towers in China. The park was constructed around the pagoda in 1908.
Guangyou Temple Scenic Area (广佑寺风景区). Contructed during the Eastern Han Dynasty, this is one of the oldest Buddhist sites in China. In the year 1161, the site received favour of the Emperor and was expanded. In the early 1900's, the army of the old Tsarist Russia burned the site. It has since been restored. This temple complex covers some 60,000 square metres. Within lies a large statue of Sakyamuni Buddha made of camphor wood and gilded with gold. It is the largest, by volume, statue of Sakyamuni Buddha in camphor wood in the world and stands some 21.48 meters high.
Longfeng Mountain Scenic Spot and Temple (龙峰寺风景区), Xiadahe Town, Liaoyang. (About about 35 kilometers form Liaoyang City centre.). Longfeng temple dates to the time of the Tang Dynasty Emperor Zhenguan, over 1,300 years ago. It was renovated during the Ming and Qing dynasties. According to inscriptions in the temple, Tang Emperor Taizong visited the site as did the Emperor Qianlong of Qing in the 44th year of his rule. The temple was damaged during the Cultural Revolution of the 20th century. It has since been restored.
Liaoyang City Museum (辽阳市博物馆), 2 Zongxin Street, Wensheng District, Liaoyang. (辽阳市文圣区中心路2号) (Form the train station take No.23 or No.16 bus.), ☎ +86(0419)3232297, +86(1330)4198145. This museum opend in 1985 and in 2002 was graded as a AA class site by the Provincial Tourism Bureau. The museum covers 31,450 square meters over five galleries and contains 4,000 items form the neolithic through to Ming and Qing dynasties.
Cao Xueqin Memorial Hall (曹雪芹纪念馆), Woshi Hutong, Liaoning. (辽阳市卧狮胡同2号) (Take No.20 bus.), ☎ +86(0419)2138074. "The Dream of Red Mansions," is one of the four most famous novels of China. It was written by Cao Xueqin. Over the years there has been much debate as to where Cao Xueqin was born. Liaoyang has been put forward as the likely location. In 1995 a Memorial to Cao Xueqin was opened in Liaoyang.
Wang Erlie Memorial Hall (王尔烈纪念馆), Baita District.
Dongjing City (东京城), Taizihe District, Liaoyang., ☎ 86(0419)2126814. Liaoyang became the capital city of the Manchurian Late Jin Empire in 1621. An imperial palace was built here called Dongjing or "East Capital" and covers and area of 0.75 square kilometres. A few walls and gates remain of the old palace.
Dongjing Mausoleum (东京陵), Taizihe District, Liaoyang.. Build by the first Manchurian Emperor, Nurhachu, in 1624, to house the remains of his Grandfather, wife, brother, son and others. In total ten people of Nurhachu's family were placed here.
Guan Yin Temple (观音寺).
Qingfeng Temple (清风寺).
Yan Zhou Cheng (燕州城).
Li Zhaolin House (李兆麟故居).
Liaoyang Forest of Steles (辽阳碑林).
Gusao City (姑嫂城).
Hehuogou Provincial Level Forest Park, (11 kilometers southeast of Liaoyang near Hanling Town). Part of the Qianshan mountain range, Hehuoguo park contains canyon scenery with waterfalls, natural springs and ancient pine trees.
New Century Hotel (新世纪酒店), ☎ +86(0419)2128888. A four star hotel that contains dining rooms, KTV Plaza, Chaba, bars, sauna parlours, business centre, etc.
Liaoyang Hotel (辽阳宾馆), Zhonghua Road, Liaoyang. (辽阳市中华大街一段6l号), ☎ +86(0419)2288000. This 13 story building covers 19,995 square metres and contains 143 rooms. There is a conference centre with a capacity of 500 people.
Liaoyang Fuhong International Hotel (辽阳富虹国际饭店), ☎ +86(0419)2268888. A five-star hotel
Liaohua Hotel (辽化宾馆), 40 Zhonghua Road, Liaoyang. (辽阳市青年大街40号), ☎ 5153481. This 236 room hotel covers an area of 54,000 square metres. There are 16 meeting rooms for business and the 15 different restaurants can seat 600 dinners. The function and banquet suite can accommodate 500 guests.