Kuşadası is a coastal resort town in the Aydin Province of Aegean Turkey. It has become a popular holiday resort, especially for visitors from Northern and Western Europe. It has about 50,000 residents, although that grows significantly during the high season months of May to October.
Kusadasi takes its name from the Turkish for 'Bird Island', a reference to Pigeon Island, which is connected to the mainland of Kusadasi by a short causeway.
Visitors can arrive by highway (from north, south, and east), ferries (from Samos) or cruise ships, which ply the Eastern Mediterranean. Docks are right downtown, and terminals offer a good selection of stores including a duty-free shop.
Kusadasi has built a lovely new cruise terminal that's also a modern mini-mall called Scala Nuova; indoors you'll find Western-style shops (sometimes the boutiques are actually western chains such as The Body Shop, Diesel and Longchamps), but there are also some intriguing Turkish boutiques (one selling olive oil, another showcasing European fashions). Don't get too absorbed in Scala Nouva -- Kusadasi's other wares are just waiting for you (the terminal is just across the street from the main part of town).
The City Walls - There were once three gates. One remains today. Kaleiçi Camii - the mosque built in 1618 for Grand Vizier Öküz Kara Mehmed Pasha. The Öküz Mehmet Pasha caravanserai is near the docks. It was built in 1618 as a strong-room for the goods of seamen. Guvercin Adası or "Pigeon Island" in English - the peninsula at the end of the bay, has a castle and swimming beaches, including a private beach and cafe with a view back across the bay to the harbour of Kuşadası. There are public beaches at the back of the peninsula, towards the open sea. Kirazli Village - traditional Turkish village 12 kilometres (7.5 mi) from Kuşadası. Yılancı Burnu - a second peninsula beyond Güvercin Ada. Possibly the location of the original settlement of Neopolis. Some walls are visible. There are beaches and beach clubs here.
Pygale - 3 kilometres (1.9 mi) north. The settlement once used by Agamemnon for healing his soldiers and repairing his ships after the Trojan War. Not yet excavated. Several aqua-parks with wave-pools, white-water slides are located near the town. Ladies Beach - near town. Kadıkalesi - Venetian/Byzantine castle, 10 kilometres (6.2 mi)along the Kuşadası-Davutlar road, Panionium - 25 km (16 mi) south of Kuşadası, on the Davutlar-Güzelçamlı road. Once the central meeting place of the Ionian League. The ruins are in poor condition and their authenticity is disputed. Dilek Peninsula National Park. South of Kuşadası, begins at the town of Güzelçamlı. Bays and beaches, including the bay of Kalamaki.
There are some good beaches both south and north of Kusadasi. All beaches are commercialized with hotels surrounding them. South of Kusadasi is the ladies beach, lost paradise beach and the long beach
The "downtown" area near the waterfront is quite modern, with many stores and an open air bazaar. Offerings range from typical souvenirs to fine jewelry and Turkish rugs. Hawkers frequently implore passersby to come inside, but with patience, visitors can find quality items at prices often somewhat better than in large cities. Bargaining is expected, and essential in the bazaar.
Kusadasi nightlife is can get very busy during the summer and offers many entertainments to nearly every age group this days and regarding to Kusadasi Observer nightlife in Kusadasi starts from Bars Street which has been famoust for long time and gets visited by many holiday makers in Kusadasi.
Kuşadası falls within the area code (+90) 256, which is also shared by some nearby inland cities and towns, such as Aydın.