Kleparz was founded by Casimir the Great in 1366 as a town of its own around the older St. Florian Church. So it also was called Florencja or latin Clepardia. There are a lot of fine 19th century hospital buildings (especially along the Dluga Street - a lot of fine shops), two medieval Market Squares, two beautiful churches, the railway and bus station, a park, a museum (ul. Biskupia), a cinema (ul. Biskupia), the Technical University, the Helcel's Palace, and the town offices in this part of town.
Collegiate Church of St. Florian stands at the market square of the medieval city of Kleparz, now Matejko Square. It was built in 1185 in romanique style and destroyed by the Swedish in 1655. The present appearance of the church is the result of a baroque rebuilding. Since the 16th century, it has been the University Collegiate. The coronation route began here where the rector with the Senate of the University would welcome the new king. The grave of holy Florian is inside the church. Karol Wojtyla, the later pope John Paul II was vicar in the church in the late 1940s.
Church of St. Florian Wincenty á Paulo was built in 1870 by Pokutyński in neogothic style.