Kalisz, with its 110-thousand population, is the biggest city in south-eastern part of Greater Poland and second (after Poznan) in the whole region. It's - most probably - the oldest town in Poland, a geographer from Alexandria, Claudio Ptolemeo mentions the city in his "Introduction to Geography", written between 142-174 AC, locating Calisia in the south of nowadays Greater Poland. Archeological excavations, run after the Second World War confirmed, that there had been a settlement appr. 2000 years ago.
Kalisz got its municipal right from duke Boleslaus the Pious in appr. 1260. After the location it was developing rapidly, thanks to its location on the Amber Trail. During the Partition Time (1793-1918) for most of the time it was under russian control, and the border with the Prussia (later-on : germany) was just next to the city westwards - that's why we still have an enormous railway station in Nowe Skalmierzyce, where the border used to be. Present Kalisz is an important industrial centre, there're thw theatres in the city, one "own" university and several branches of higher schools from Poznan and numerous secondary schools.
Kalisz is almost equally distant (120 kms) from 3 airports : Poznan-Ławica, Wrocław and Łódź, travel time to each of them is appr. 2 hours. But - taking into account a very small number of connections from Łodź, we recommend to use airport in Poznan or in Wrocław. There are some plans to build a local airport for tthe two-city conurbation : Kalisz-Ostrow.
As Kalisz was form more than 1000 years under russian occupation - it is not a railway hub. It's llocated on only one line : from Ostrow Wielkopolski (with numerous connections first of all to Poznan, besides to Leszno and Wrocław) through Kalisz, Sieradz to Łódź and further to Warsaw. At the present there are 7 daily local trains to Poznan, and 7 to Łodź, too. One has to add long-distance trains : 6 to Wrocław (some of them run further to Zgorzelec (Goerlitz) or to Jelenia Gora in the mountains and 6 to Warsaw calling at Łódź (one of them goes further to Terespol at the belarussian border).
The newest plan is a high-speed train line from Warsaw to Poznan and Wrocław and the line is going to divide exactly next to Kalisz with a station there. The line is expected to be ready in 2020.
Kalisz is located on the crossing of two main roads :
number 12 from the western border (crossing to Germany : Łęknica - Bad Muskau) to the eastern one (crossing to Ukraine Dorohusk - Jahodyn). The road enters Greater Poland from Głogów, then passes through Wschowa and Leszno and further it leads through Gostyń, Jarocin, Pleszew and Kalisz; from there it goes eastwards to Sieradz and Piotrkow Trybunalski and further through Lublin to the Ukrainian border.
number 25 from Strzelno located on the border between Kujawy region and Greater Poland. further it leads through Konin, Kalisz to Ostrów Wielkopolski and further to Olesnica, where it links to the road number 8 leading to Wroclaw (Breslau) and Sudety Mountains.
Kalisz is criss-crossed also by regional roads :
number 442 from Września through Pyzdry (good access to Gniezno or to motorway A2 - crossing in Wrzesnia)
number 470 from Kalisz to Turek and Koło (between these two towns another acces to A2)
number 450 from Kalisz to the south to Wieruszów and Opatów, from where one can continue the journey southwards to e.g. Katowice or Częstochowa.
The St. Nicolaus Cathedral – the temple was built in 13th cent thanks to money from the local duke Boleslaus the Pious and the presbitery still has gothic form (with a star-style vaulting); the side-aisles are late-gothic, but the main aisle in already renessaince - which is the result of the reconstruction in 16th and 17th centuries. Up to 1973 church posessed a picture by Rubens "Taking down from the cross"; unfortunately the masterpiece has disappeared after the fire in the church (now you can admire only a copy). In the interiors you can find a wonderful picture presenting the old Kalisz, epithanies and the geatest treasure of the temple : baptistry from XIIIth cent. In so called Polish Chapel (called as well the Chapel of Our Lady of Consolation) – interesting polichromies and stainded-glass windows according to the project by polish writer and artist Wladislaus Tetmajer from 1907. Next to the church - a parish house, which in 14the and 15th centuries played the role of canonry from roman Lateran. .
The church is open from the early morning (the first Eucharist) till evening. Entrance is free.
The Old Market Square – a rectangul (100 x 120 metres), was the heart of the medieval city located here appr. 1257. In the middle of the square you'll find the Town hall from the 1920s, which up to now has been the seat of municipal office. There's a viewing point on the top of the town hall tower. Tenement houses, surrounding the Square were (as well) built in the perod between the wars, as the previous ones had been destroyed by germans at the end of WWI.
The Franciscan Church and Monastery - erected thanks to the fundation of Duke Boleslaus the Pious. There're still few remnants from the original construction : 13th-century presbitery and 100 years younger aisles, later on rebuilt after fires in 16th cent. In the main altar you can find a late-baroque picture by Franciszek Smuglewicz "The resurrection of peasant Peter" (it's a copy of the picture by Szymon Czechowicz from the Parish Church in Poznan). The neighbouring monastery was built in 17th cent on the fundaments of a previous one. In its wall you can still find parts of ancient gothic city wall. The church can be visited in the hours between eucharists. Entrance is free. The monastery - due to enclosure - is closed for visitors.
The Wojciech Boguslawski Theatre - the first theatre building was constructed here in 1835. The present - thisrd - construction comes from 1936. The theatre organises yearly "Kalisz Theatre Meetings". It's interesting to know, that first performances were organised in Kalisz by Jesuits, already in XVIth century, and - at the beginnings of XIXth - Wojciech Bogusławski (called sometimes : "The father of Polish Theatre") played here personally.
The Church of St. Joseph - the building from the first half of XIIIth cent. Originally it as built of wood, in 1353 reerected using bricks and foundated by the Gniezno bishop Jaroslaw Skotnicki. There are some remnants from the original construction : the presbitery with star vaulting, but the most precious part of the temple is the treasury, with e.g. patene from XIIth cent, cup from 1363 (a gift of the king Casimir the Great). The temple owns as well - modernly equppied - undergroud chapel, which is the main polish place of commemorations of all priests and monks died in Nazi concentration camp in Dachau.
On the square, in front of the church - the monument of Pope John Paul II, erected in 1999, who had prayed in the temple two years before.
The archeological reservation in Zawodzie district - the oldest district of the city, a small fortress in the piast-dynasty times. During the archeological excavations the entrance gate with a bridge and rampart were recreated, as well : the defence tower was built. The fundaments and by-ground parts of the old collegiate romanesque church were reconstructed, too. The shape of the original timber building, the oldest temple in Kalisz, was shown on the floor. Inside you'll find 7 houses, a grave from tribal times and replices of boats used then. There're as well too exhibitions : a multimedia one devoted to the history of the fortress and ethnografical one, organised in the housing building from the end of XVIIIth cent.
The reservation is open from spring to mid-autumn, usually 1 Mai - 30 Sept, Tue, Thu and Fri 10:00 - 15:00, Wed, Sat, Sun - till 18:00. A normal ticket costs 5 zlotys, reduced : 3 zloty, a family one (max 2 adults and 3 kids) : 10 zlotys. The reservation is located at Bolesława Poboznego str, ohone : +48 691 996 528, 
The Museum of the Kalisz Grounds with archeological, ethnografical and historical departments as well as with a interesting numiznatic collection. The most precious exhibit is the sandstone grave plaque, found in the Zawodzie-reservation (look above), treated as the grave of Duke Mesko III the Old (died in 1202) from the collegiate church of St. Paul. The Museum owns as well the copy of the patane, foundation by the Duke for the Cistersian Monastery in Lad
The museum is located at 12, Kosciuszki str., phone : +48 62 757 16 08, , mailto:firstname.lastname@example.org. On Tue and Thu is open 10:00 - 15:00, on Wed and Fri 11:00 - 17:30, on Sat and Sun : 10:30 - 14:30. The normal ticket costs 4 zlotys, reduced - 2, and a family one (the same rules as in the Reservatiosn) - 7 zlotys. On Sundays the entrance is free.
KKS 1925 Kalisz, over 80 years of tradition. Kalisz soccer team is playing matches from August to November and from March to June. For more info - *Official site of KKS 1925 Kalisz
A typical must-buy in Kalisz are local traditional wafers called andruty (pronounced : androotyh) - thin, sweetish wafers, baked for 200 years. Since 2005 they've been inscribed the list of regional products of the Polish Ministery of Agriculture, and 4 years later, in 2009, the joined the official prestige list of regional product of the European Union.