*<eat name="Gundagai Bakery" alt="" address="184 Sheridan Street" directions="in the centre of town on the main shopping strip" phone="(02) 6944 1192" url="" hours="" price="" lat="" long="">Country bakery, built in 1864 & believed to be the longest continually running bakery in Australia</eat>
*<eat name="Gundagai Bakery" alt="" address="184 Sheridan Street" directions="in the centre of town on the main shopping strip" phone="(02) 6944 1192" url="" hours="" price="" lat="" long="">, built in 1864 & believed to be the longest continually running bakery in Australia</eat>
Revision as of 12:00, 20 June 2008
Gundagai is a small town (population 2,000) in the Riverina region of the Australian state of New South Wales. Gundagai is situated on the Murrumbidgee River, some 390 km south-west of Sydney. Gundagai is an ideal stopping point on a driving trip on the Hume between Sydney and Melbourne, having a range of accommodation, good services, and a few points of interest to see before moving on. The township is located close to the freeway, and doesn't required that much of a diversion.
Gold mining made Gundagai both prosperous and a centre for bushranging, giving the town a romantic bush appeal that resulted in it becoming a byword for outback towns in Australia. A large number of outback stories, songs and poems reference Gundagai, including Jack O'Hagan's songs Where the Dog Sits on the Tuckerbox, Along the Road to Gundagai and When a Boy from Alabama Meets a Girl from Gundagai, as well as Banjo Patterson's The Road to Gundagai and the traditional ballad Flash Jack from Gundagai. The town is also mentioned in Henry Lawson's tale Scots of the Riverina and C.J. Dennis' The Traveller.
In 1838, against the advice of the local Aboriginal people, the town was built on flood-prone flats on the northern banks of the Murrumbidgee River.
In 1852, severe flooding virtually destroyed the European settlement and 83 of the 250 townsfolk lost their lives. The toll would have been higher but for two Aboriginals who came to the rescue in bark canoes, saving 48 people.
The town relocated further up the slopes of Mt Parnassus, and the highest street in the original town, Sheridan Street, is now the main street.
Gundagai is located on the Hume Highway, the major route between Sydney and Melbourne, around 4 1/2 hours drive south of Sydney.
A bus service connects with the train services to Cootamundra, twice a day.
Gundagai has no taxi service. There is no public transport. The main town shopping strip has ample parking, as does just about everywhere else you might want to go.
The Dog on the Tucker Box, Snake Gully, 5 miles from Gundagai - this famous bronze statue, a minor landmark on the Hume Highway on the Sydney side of Gundagai, was unveiled by then Prime Minister Joseph Lyons in 1932 as a tribute to outback pioneers. There are highway services, as well as an interpretive walk located here. Count on spending 30 minutes or so. There is no charge.
The Murrumbidgee River passes through Gundagai. There are old railway and road bridges crossing the river, which are worth a visit if you are in to that sort of thisg. The flood plain of the river divide the town into two, separated by green space with w walkway/cycleway between areas.
Historic Buldings. Gundagai has an historic courthouse, and post office. It has a restored abandoned railway station. Wander down Sheridan Street for a look at some of the town's oldest buildings. Don't miss the old flour mill in Sheridan Lane, or the Prince Alfred Bridge, Australia's longest timber viaduct, built in 1866.
Dr Charles Gabriel's glass-plate photographs, which depict Gundagai life in the early 1900s, in the Gabriel Gallery.
The Snake Gully Cup, in November, is a two-day horse-racing carnival that includes the Dog on the Tuckerbox Festival.
Turning Wave, in September, is a celebration of Irish/Australian culture with song, dance, poetry readings and traditional Irish hurling.
The Camp Draft and horse sale in March.
A souvenir of a dog sitting on a tucker box.
Gundagai Bakery, 184 Sheridan Street (in the centre of town on the main shopping strip), ☎ (02) 6944 1192. Historic Gundagai Bakery, built in 1864 & believed to be the longest continually running bakery in Australia. Currently owned by Mitchell, Clive & Ann-Maree Dosser. With a long family tradition in the baking industry we relish the opportunity to expand our business in to this lovely historic town. We offer a fresh daily menu of bakery items with fresh breads , rolls ,sweet pastry & sweet bread treats, cakes, pies, sausage rolls & freah made sandwiches. A fresh salad bar and lovely coffee bar.Why not try our devonshire tea with fresh scones cream and jam and a pot of billy tea. Open Monday through Saturday for a quick coffee n cake or a light lunch to eat in or takeaway. Call in and have a look at all our renovations but don't worry the same wonderful girls are still there with a smile and a chat for all.
Sovereign Inn Gundagai is located just off the Hume Highway approximately halfway between Sydney & Melbourne. 26-28 West St Gundagai, NSW, Australia.