The area where the town of Camp Hill stands today was first settled in 1735 by people living on the west shore of the Susquehanna River, across from Harrisburg. This settlement was positioned on the main road to Harrisburg. In the mid 1800’s the Cumberland Valley Railroad was built from the Susquehanna River to Carlisle. The railway expanded to Chambersburg and in 1839 a railroad bridge was build to Harrisburg connecting to the coal trains from the north. By the late 1800’s one-third of the residents of Camp Hill were railroad workers. This increased the settlements population and on November 10, 1885 Camp Hill became a legalized town.
By the 1900’s Camp Hill had become more of a suburb than a working town and most of its inhabitants commuted from the town to work across the river in Harrisburg. The town continued to grow throughout the 1900’s as a fire department, several schools, shopping centers, retail establishments, and a variety of public works buildings were established. Today Camp Hill is a very pleasant little town with many shops and establishment. It is also conveniently located four miles outside of Harrisburg, nineteen miles from Carlisle, and thirty five miles from Gettysburg.