Help Wikitravel grow by contributing to an article! Learn how.

Difference between revisions of "Bangkok/Thonburi"

From Wikitravel
Jump to: navigation, search
(See)
m (See: mos edits)
Line 31: Line 31:
  
 
==See==
 
==See==
* '''Temple of Dawn''' (''Wat Arun''), Wangderm Road, on the west bank of the Chao Phraya River, next to the Navy base. Open from 7.00 a.m. –5.00 p.m. 50 Baht (for foreigners). The highest rank Royal temple is the “most visited” tourist attraction in Thonburi. Easily accessible by a short ferry hop from the Rattanakosin side and hence covered in the [[Bangkok/Rattanakosin|Rattanakosin]] article.  
+
* '''Temple of Dawn''' (''Wat Arun''), Wangderm Road, on the west bank of the Chao Phraya River, next to the Navy base. Open from 7AM–5PM. 50 Baht (for foreigners). The highest rank Royal temple is the “most visited” tourist attraction in Thonburi. Easily accessible by a short ferry hop from the Rattanakosin side and hence covered in the [[Bangkok/Rattanakosin|Rattanakosin]] article.  
  
 
The magnificent pagoda called '''Phra Prang Wat Arun'''. Overlooking the Chao Phraya River, it is not only the symbol of Thonburi, but is also a world-famous landmark and one of the most photographed places in Thailand. Thousands of international tourists visit this temple everyday, mostly by boats early in the morning before taking boat trip along the canals to the floating markets and orchards.
 
The magnificent pagoda called '''Phra Prang Wat Arun'''. Overlooking the Chao Phraya River, it is not only the symbol of Thonburi, but is also a world-famous landmark and one of the most photographed places in Thailand. Thousands of international tourists visit this temple everyday, mostly by boats early in the morning before taking boat trip along the canals to the floating markets and orchards.
Line 45: Line 45:
 
Every day during the Chinese New Year festival, this temple is crowded by thousands of the Chinese Thai visitors. Other interesting items in this temple are the Chinese style ordination hall, which was the previous residence of Chao Phraya River.
 
Every day during the Chinese New Year festival, this temple is crowded by thousands of the Chinese Thai visitors. Other interesting items in this temple are the Chinese style ordination hall, which was the previous residence of Chao Phraya River.
  
* ''' Santa Cruz Cathedral''', 112 Tesaban 1 Road. Also known as “Wat Kudichin” overlooking the Chao Phraya River, near Memorial Bridge and Wat Kalayanamit.
+
* ''' Santa Cruz Cathedral''', 112 Tesaban 1 Road. Also known as “Wat Kudichin” overlooking the Chao Phraya River, near Memorial Bridge and Wat Kalayanamit. This is the first Catholic Church in Thonburi. The church building has a magnificent Italian-style architecture built in 1816. The word “Santa Cruz” in Portuguese is taken from Latin words “Sanctus Crux” which means “the Holy Cross”. The reason this cathedral takes both the Portuguese and the Chinese names was due to the war with the Burmese in 1767 when King Tak Sin commanded to gather the people who had escaped from the war to settle down in the capital. The King dictated that the Chinese group who migrated from Ayutthaya settle down around the area of Wat Kalayanamit while the Portuguese people would have their houses built along the bank of the Chao Phraya River. The Portuguese who settled her were called “Farang Kudichin” which means “Westerners at the Chinese shrine”. This area is an old community, also being the birthplace of a kind of famous cupcake, “Khanom Farank Kudichin”.
 
+
This is the first Catholic Church in Thonburi. The church building has a magnificent Italian-style architecture built in 1816. The word “Santa Cruz” in Portuguese is taken from Latin words “Sanctus Crux” which means “the Holy Cross”. The reason this cathedral takes both the Portuguese and the Chinese names was due to the war with the Burmese in 1767 when King Tak Sin commanded to gather the people who had escaped from the war to settle down in the capital.  
+
 
+
The King dictated that the Chinese group who migrated from Ayutthaya settle down around the area of Wat Kalayanamit while the Portuguese people would have their houses built along the bank of the Chao Phraya River. The Portuguese who settled her were called “Farang Kudichin” which means “Westerners at the Chinese shrine”. This area is an old community, also being the birthplace of a kind of famous cupcake, “Khanom Farank Kudichin”.
+
 
+
  
 
* '''Wat Rakhangkositaram''', 250 Arunamarin Road. Formerly known as Wat Bang Wa Yai, situated on Arunammarin Road. The front of the temple is on the bank of the Chao Phraya River.  
 
* '''Wat Rakhangkositaram''', 250 Arunamarin Road. Formerly known as Wat Bang Wa Yai, situated on Arunammarin Road. The front of the temple is on the bank of the Chao Phraya River.  
  
 
This temple was built during the Ayutthaya period, later it was reconstructed and upgraded as a Royal Temple by King Tak Sin. The name “Wat Rakhang” which means “The Bell Temple”, is due to the discovery of a huge bell at this temple in the reign of King Rama I. This significant second category Royal Temple was the residence of many supreme patriarchs of the Rattankosin period including “Somdej Toah”, the highly respected monk in the reign of King Rama V. Things of note are the beautiful mural paintings in the ordination hall, the image hall and the bell tower.
 
This temple was built during the Ayutthaya period, later it was reconstructed and upgraded as a Royal Temple by King Tak Sin. The name “Wat Rakhang” which means “The Bell Temple”, is due to the discovery of a huge bell at this temple in the reign of King Rama I. This significant second category Royal Temple was the residence of many supreme patriarchs of the Rattankosin period including “Somdej Toah”, the highly respected monk in the reign of King Rama V. Things of note are the beautiful mural paintings in the ordination hall, the image hall and the bell tower.
 
  
 
* '''Wat Suwannaram''', 33 Charansaniwong Road. A big Royal Temple on the banka of the Bangkok noi canal built during the reign of King Rama I and renovated during the reign of King Rama III. Inside are murals depicting the Jutaku, deities and the Buddha image in subduing the mara posture. These works of art of the early Rattanakosin period (19th century) are considered as the best survival mural paintings in Bangkok.
 
* '''Wat Suwannaram''', 33 Charansaniwong Road. A big Royal Temple on the banka of the Bangkok noi canal built during the reign of King Rama I and renovated during the reign of King Rama III. Inside are murals depicting the Jutaku, deities and the Buddha image in subduing the mara posture. These works of art of the early Rattanakosin period (19th century) are considered as the best survival mural paintings in Bangkok.
  
 
+
* '''Royal Barge National Museum''', on the mouth of Bangkok Noi canal, Arunammarin Road, near Bangkok Noi railway station. Open daily from 8:30AM-4:30PM. This place displays several Royal barges, and their ornaments used for Waterborne state ceremonies.
* '''Royal Barge National Museum''', on the mouth of Bangkok Noi canal, Arunammarin Road, near Bangkok Noi railway station. Open daily from 8.30 a.m.- 4.30 p.m. This place displays several Royal barges, and their ornaments used for Waterborne state ceremonies.
+
  
 
The ornately carved barges were crafted in the early centuries, taking the form of famous mythical creatures of the Ramayana epic. The most impressive is the Suphannahongse or Golden Swan, the red and gold Royal river procession for the Kathin (robe presenting ceremony) at Wat Arun.
 
The ornately carved barges were crafted in the early centuries, taking the form of famous mythical creatures of the Ramayana epic. The most impressive is the Suphannahongse or Golden Swan, the red and gold Royal river procession for the Kathin (robe presenting ceremony) at Wat Arun.
Line 68: Line 61:
  
  
* '''Shake Farm''', Shake Farm, 35 minutes from Wat Sai floating market is another stop for sightseeing and watching a snake show. The farm is open daily from 8.30 a.m. –5.00 p.m.
+
* '''Shake Farm''', Shake Farm, 35 minutes from Wat Sai floating market is another stop for sightseeing and watching a snake show. The farm is open daily from 8:30AM–5PM.
  
  
* '''Songkran Niyomsane Forensic Medicine Museum''', Siriraj Hospital, Adulayadejvikrom Building 2nd Floor (''a short walk from Chao Phraya pier N10 Tha Wang Lang'')[http://www.si.mahidol.ac.th/museums/en/index.htm]. Offers a creepy collection of medical oddities similar to the [[Philadelphia#Other museums|Mütter Museum]] in Philadelphia, USA.
+
* '''Songkran Niyomsane Forensic Medicine Museum''', Siriraj Hospital, Adulayadejvikrom Building 2nd Floor (''a short walk from Chao Phraya pier N10 Tha Wang Lang'')[http://www.si.mahidol.ac.th/museums/en/index.htm]. Offers a creepy collection of medical oddities similar to the [[Philadelphia#Other museums|Mütter Museum]] in Philadelphia.
  
 
==Do==
 
==Do==

Revision as of 22:35, 5 October 2008

The Temple of Dawn (Wat Arun)

Thonburi (ธนบุรี) is the west bank of the Chao Phraya river in Bangkok, Thailand.

Contents

Understand

Thonburi was briefly the capital of Siam after the sack of Ayutthaya in 1767. However, King Rama I established his new capital Krung Thep (the Thai name for Bangkok) on the east side of the river in 1782. Thonburi remained a separate town before being incorporated into the Bangkok metropolitan area in 1972.

Get in

By metro

An extension of the Skytrain across to Thonburi is half-complete, but caught in political squabbles and unlikely to open before September 2008.

By train

There are two train stations in Thonburi, both comparatively quiet.

  • Thonburi Train Station, formerly known as Bangkok Noi, is the terminus for twice-daily trains to Kanchanaburi. Just to keep things confusing, the previous Thonburi Station right next to the river (accessible by River Express) is now mothballed, but it's only 800 meters away from the new Thonburi, on the east side of Th Arun Amarin.
  • Wong Wien Yai station serves only the rustic Mahachai/Maeklong commuter line [1],an experience for rail fans but of little interest to most visitors.

By ferry

The Chao Phraya River Express stops at a few points on the Thonburi side, notably at Wat Arun and near the old Thonburi railway station.

By bus

The Southern Bus Terminal (sathanii sai tai mai) is now located on Phutthamonthon Soi 1 in northern Thonburi. Long-distance buses leave from here to destinations throughout western Thailand (including Nakhon Pathom and Kanchanaburi) and southern Thailand (including Krabi, Phuket, Surat Thani, Hat Yai, and many others). The new terminal is a fairly pleasant airport-like structure with air-conditioning, electronic departure monitors (in English), a few bank offices and a KFC.

Getting to the terminal is a bit of headache, as public transport is limited. The easiest option is to take a taxi, but it's also reachable on buses 515 and 549 and from Suvarnabhumi Airport with bus 556.

Travel Warning WARNING: Overnight tourist buses to southern destinations have a very bad reputation for theft. Run by Khao San Road agencies, these buses carry no Thai passengers and do not depart from the Southern Bus Terminal. Be sure to guard your belongings, do not leave valuables in your backpack if you stow it below, and do not accept food or drinks from strangers.

The good news is that these problems can easily be avoided by simply using a normal government licensed public bus service, as the Thai do every day. For southern destinations, tickets are sold at the Southern Bus Terminal, which is also where the bus will depart from.

See

  • Temple of Dawn (Wat Arun), Wangderm Road, on the west bank of the Chao Phraya River, next to the Navy base. Open from 7AM–5PM. 50 Baht (for foreigners). The highest rank Royal temple is the “most visited” tourist attraction in Thonburi. Easily accessible by a short ferry hop from the Rattanakosin side and hence covered in the Rattanakosin article.

The magnificent pagoda called Phra Prang Wat Arun. Overlooking the Chao Phraya River, it is not only the symbol of Thonburi, but is also a world-famous landmark and one of the most photographed places in Thailand. Thousands of international tourists visit this temple everyday, mostly by boats early in the morning before taking boat trip along the canals to the floating markets and orchards.

The “Prang or pagoda was originally built during the Ayutthaya period and was rebuilt again in the reign of King Rama I. It was completely finished in the reign of King Rama III of the Rattanakosin period. The 67 meter-tall main Prang, surrounded by four direction smaller ones is beautifully decorated with colorful Chinese porcelain pieces. From the main Prang corridor, one can clearly see the view of the Grand Palace, Wat Pho and the Temple of the Emerald Buddha across the river.

The temple, being rebuilt in late Ayutthaya period, was firstly named Wat Makok, and later changed into Wat Chaeng (Temple of the Dawn). It used to be the Royal temple situated on the same compound of the Original Palace, however with no monks residence during the reign of King Tak Sin (1767-1782), and once housed the Emerald Buddha. Beside the famous Prang, be sure to take a look at the main chapel, the image hall, the Chinese style bell tower, and the open pavilions overlooking the river.

There is a pier next to this temple opposite Tha Tien pier in Bangkok. Those who are interested in chartering boats to the canals in Thonburi, are able to find some boats here.

  • Wat Kalayanamit, 656 Tesaban 1 Road, is situated on the mouth of Bangkok Yai canal on the west bank of the Chao Phraya River opposite Rajinee School. It is also close to Kudichin old community and Santa Cruz Church. This Royal Temple was named after Chao Phraya Nikornbodin (Toah Kalayanamit), a noble man of King Rama III who donated his own residence and bought a piece of land to built a temple. Wat Kalayanamit is well known for a large Buddha image named “Phraputtatrirattananayok”, which is 15.44 meter tall and 11.75 meter wide. This image is also called “Sampokong” by the Chinese-Thai race worshippers.

Every day during the Chinese New Year festival, this temple is crowded by thousands of the Chinese Thai visitors. Other interesting items in this temple are the Chinese style ordination hall, which was the previous residence of Chao Phraya River.

  • Santa Cruz Cathedral, 112 Tesaban 1 Road. Also known as “Wat Kudichin” overlooking the Chao Phraya River, near Memorial Bridge and Wat Kalayanamit. This is the first Catholic Church in Thonburi. The church building has a magnificent Italian-style architecture built in 1816. The word “Santa Cruz” in Portuguese is taken from Latin words “Sanctus Crux” which means “the Holy Cross”. The reason this cathedral takes both the Portuguese and the Chinese names was due to the war with the Burmese in 1767 when King Tak Sin commanded to gather the people who had escaped from the war to settle down in the capital. The King dictated that the Chinese group who migrated from Ayutthaya settle down around the area of Wat Kalayanamit while the Portuguese people would have their houses built along the bank of the Chao Phraya River. The Portuguese who settled her were called “Farang Kudichin” which means “Westerners at the Chinese shrine”. This area is an old community, also being the birthplace of a kind of famous cupcake, “Khanom Farank Kudichin”.
  • Wat Rakhangkositaram, 250 Arunamarin Road. Formerly known as Wat Bang Wa Yai, situated on Arunammarin Road. The front of the temple is on the bank of the Chao Phraya River.

This temple was built during the Ayutthaya period, later it was reconstructed and upgraded as a Royal Temple by King Tak Sin. The name “Wat Rakhang” which means “The Bell Temple”, is due to the discovery of a huge bell at this temple in the reign of King Rama I. This significant second category Royal Temple was the residence of many supreme patriarchs of the Rattankosin period including “Somdej Toah”, the highly respected monk in the reign of King Rama V. Things of note are the beautiful mural paintings in the ordination hall, the image hall and the bell tower.

  • Wat Suwannaram, 33 Charansaniwong Road. A big Royal Temple on the banka of the Bangkok noi canal built during the reign of King Rama I and renovated during the reign of King Rama III. Inside are murals depicting the Jutaku, deities and the Buddha image in subduing the mara posture. These works of art of the early Rattanakosin period (19th century) are considered as the best survival mural paintings in Bangkok.
  • Royal Barge National Museum, on the mouth of Bangkok Noi canal, Arunammarin Road, near Bangkok Noi railway station. Open daily from 8:30AM-4:30PM. This place displays several Royal barges, and their ornaments used for Waterborne state ceremonies.

The ornately carved barges were crafted in the early centuries, taking the form of famous mythical creatures of the Ramayana epic. The most impressive is the Suphannahongse or Golden Swan, the red and gold Royal river procession for the Kathin (robe presenting ceremony) at Wat Arun.


  • Taling Chan Floating Market. This major attraction along Chak Phra canal is held every weekend. It is more convenient than taking a Khlong trip to Wat Sai. Boat and stalls gather here selling a variety of food.


  • Shake Farm, Shake Farm, 35 minutes from Wat Sai floating market is another stop for sightseeing and watching a snake show. The farm is open daily from 8:30AM–5PM.


  • Songkran Niyomsane Forensic Medicine Museum, Siriraj Hospital, Adulayadejvikrom Building 2nd Floor (a short walk from Chao Phraya pier N10 Tha Wang Lang)[2]. Offers a creepy collection of medical oddities similar to the Mütter Museum in Philadelphia.

Do

Buy

Eat

Drink

Sleep

  • Sivalai Place[3]:168 Soi Isaraphab 33 Isaraphab rd, Thra Pra, Bangkok-Yai, Bangkok 10600 Thailand. tel: +662 412-4000 ext 201, 222 or +662 864 1251-2 fax: +662 418-5184 For reservation: sivalai.place@hotmail.com[4]. Fully furnished apartments for rent for short term and long term stay.

Contact

This article is an outline and needs more content. It has a template, but there is not enough information present. Please plunge forward and help it grow!

Variants

Actions

Destination Docents

In other languages

other sites