"Wikitravel has a speed and convenience the books' publishers can only envy." Time Europe

Tech:Session management drops pages from watchlist

From Wikitravel Shared
Jump to: navigation, search

What happens[edit]

Watchlisted pages are unintentionally removed from a user's watchlist without their knowledge.

When it happens[edit]

If a user edits a page over a period of time during which they are both logged in and logged out, that page will be removed from their watchlist. E.g., if I begin editing a page on my watchlist while not signed in, and then sign in before saving the page, or if I am editing a page, become logged out, and then re-log in before saving.

What should happen[edit]

When a user logs in, the system should recognize which pages are on their watchlist and upon clicking the "save this page" or "preview this edit" buttons at the bottom of the edit screen, the "watch this page" box should automatically be checked, and there should be no effect on the composition of their watchlist.

How to fix it[edit]

Additional comments[edit]

Still an issue Peter? – cacahuate talk 04:20, 14 October 2008 (EDT)

Still an issue? Riggwelter 13:13, 22 June 2012 (EDT)
Not positive, but I don't think so. Closing. --Peter Talk 14:16, 22 June 2012 (EDT)

Sign below, please[edit]

--Peter Talk 16:36, 17 January 2008 (EST)

Variants

Actions

In other languages