The center for all Wikitravel images!

Tech:Edit conflict loses data

From Wikitravel Shared
Jump to: navigation, search

Moved from en:Wikitravel:Bug reports by Evan

What happens[edit]

I had just started the en:Stenness article and after the first save had spent 1/2 hour editing it. When I tried to save I received a message that the article had changed and I was back to editing the amended article with all my info lost. I probably would not have had the problem if I was editing an individual section rather than the entire article. -- DanielC 07:59, 6 March 2006 (EST)

Edit conflicts are handled in two ways. First, if the two edits are "compatible" (you added a restaurant in "Eat" and I deleted the "External links" section) then it automatically merges the two changes. If the edits are not compatible (you added a link to "External links", I deleted the entire "External links" section), it will show the person who saves the latest their version, the last saved version, and their own Wiki text (way at the bottom of the page), and they can merge it by hand.
I'm guessing that you didn't see your work at the bottom of the page. There may be some use in putting a message that says "YOUR STUFF IS AT THE BOTTOM" somewhere. --Evan 10:49, 21 March 2006 (EST)
I wouldn't count on that "compatible edits" feature working. I was just editing two independent sections of en:Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore in different browser tabs, and the second section-edit I saved clobbered the first. Fortunately the edits were saved in the history, so it was easy to merge them. - Todd VerBeek 19:09, 8 April 2006 (EDT)

When it happens[edit]

What should happen[edit]

How to fix it[edit]

Variants

Actions

In other languages