Wikitravel talk:Local spam whitelist
From Wikitravel
Contents
Question: how to "whitelist" (for example) www.geocities.com/bamboosu/ without whitelisting the entire geocities.com domain?
[edit] Casinos
Las Vegas contains several "....casino (dot) com" websites that are blocked by the spam filter. The page cannot be edited as a result. The following URLs are affected:
- www.aladdincasino (dot) com
- www.goldcoastcasino (dot) com
- www.mainstreetcasino (dot) com
- www.fremontcasino (dot) com
The page at http://wikitravel.org/en/Cairns has a valid link to our local ca s in o but this stops further changes to the page so / needs to be added to the whitelist
- I can't save the Las Vegas page despite the fact that alladdincasino (dot) com is listed on this whitelist. (Update) It gets weirder... if I just try to edit the "On the Strip" section under "Sleep", even if I remove all text and try to save I get a spam filter error. Something is not right. -- Ryan 01:08, 17 Feb 2006 (EST)
[edit] albury-wodonga .com
Nurg indicated this one was needed for Albury-Wodonga, but it still seems to be blocked due to a rule against donga .com. -- Ryan 00:20, 10 Dec 2005 (EST)
[edit] expo2010china dot com
expo2010china dot com is the official Expo 2010 site, but it hits the china dot com blacklist.
And would it be possible to disable spam filtering for this talk page question mark It apostrophe is kind of annoying dot dot dot Jpatokal 03:10, 17 Dec 2005 (EST)
[edit] Pharamacy Museum
New Orleans/French Quarter apparently has an actual museum of antique pharmaceuticals. -- Colin 00:55, 12 Feb 2006 (EST)
[edit] Milford
Hi. I had problems with links when updating de:Milford_Sound in the german Wikitravel. It seems that every domain including the term "milford" gets blocked. So I added the term to the whitelist, hopefully it works now. Thorsten 05:55, 15 Feb 2006 (EST)
[edit] casinovenezia.it
Added this because it appears to be an actual casino in Cottonera. -- Colin 20:57, 16 Feb 2006 (EST)
[edit] NY NY casino
I added the "New York, New York" casino in Vegas. It didn't seem to help, so I did the usual html-comment workaround. -- Colin 02:16, 17 Feb 2006 (EST)
[edit] gb\.com
CBGB is a music venue in New York (city)/East Village that's gettin' blocked. Majnoona 20:18, 20 April 2006 (EDT)
- It didn't work for me so I rolled it back to gb\.com again while I think about it. -- Colin 20:20, 20 April 2006 (EDT)
- Weird. As long as we have a note here as to what it's for I don't mind. But it's prolly best to have it as specific as possible... Majnoona 20:22, 20 April 2006 (EDT)
- Okay, I give up. I don't understand why whitelisting cbgb-com didn't work although whitelisting bg-com does. -- Colin 20:23, 20 April 2006 (EDT)
The "New York (city)/East Village" entry cannot be edited while gb\.com is blacklisted. Today, while I've been trying to edit the East Village entry, gb\.com has been repeatedly deleted from the white list. Can you imagine how frustrating it is to have your work repeatedly disappear because someone doesn't pay attention even after I write a note under "history" saying why you shouldn't delete the whitelisting of gb\.com? The procedure for editing the East Village article is to temporarily whitelist gb\.com, save the edited article, and then reedit the whitelist to delete gb\.com. It's a lousy workaround, and maybe it would be best to simply get rid of the blacklist for that site, but the workaround sure doesn't work when people sabotage it. SO PLEASE QUIT IT! Thank you, and sorry for the frustration; I'm sure you had good intentions.
Why is it important to have a spam blacklist anyway, and why is it important for gb\.com to be on the blacklist?
Michael 0:25, Apr 21 2006 (UTC), edited 17:40, Apr 22 2006 (UTC)
- It's pretty imporant to have a spam blacklist. We used to have a pretty much round-the-clock job of trying to suppress the spam links manually before we instituted the blacklist. That said, it's pretty clear that cbgb is not spam. Let's add the exact URL to the whitelist. I'm not sure how the gb URL got into the spamlist, but it's almost certainly for a very good reason -- Mark 14:52, 22 April 2006 (EDT)
- I think the user who removed gb.com may not have had good intentions, but rather was experimenting to see what was blocking their actual spam. It's hard to say. We used to get an awful lot of Chinese language spamlinks, and it's sort of weird trying to figure out which regex blocks them and not. Sorry for the inconvenience. -- Mark 15:00, 22 April 2006 (EDT)
[edit] kb-backpackers\.com\.my
Why is this in the spam blacklist? I had to temporarily put it in the whitelist before I could edit the article about Kota Bharu.
Michael 09:50, May 05, 2006 (UTC)
[edit] stbishoy\.8k\.com
It is the official web page of the Monastery of Anba Bischoi in Wadi en-Natrun in Egypt.
[edit] Milford
Spam filter is blocking the first 4 letters of Milford. -- Huttite 05:24, 4 June 2007 (EDT)
[edit] Chinese websites
There's a very unrestrictive filter in place for .cn websites. I've had to add a bunch from Beijing. Deconstruct 04:05, 11 May 2008 (EDT)
[edit] Indian website
My web site "http://www (dot)uvatoursindia(dot)com"" is included in the spam black list .This web site is not a spam .So please take the necessary action to include it in the white list.uvatoursindia 08:21,27 June 2008 (EDT)
- Special:Contributions/123.236.80.36 says otherwise, and anyway, at most we would remove your site from the blacklist, not add it to the whitelist. But I don't see a good reason to do so. And this is looking an awful lot like spamming the whitelist talk page... --Peter Talk 10:41, 27 June 2008 (EDT)

