User talk:IBcaldera

From Wikitravel
Jump to: navigation, search

Welcome[edit]

Hello! Welcome to Wikitravel. To help get you started contributing, we've created a tips for new contributors page, full of helpful links about policies and guidelines and style as well as some important information on copyleft and basic stuff like how to edit a page. If you need help, check out Wikitravel:Help, or post a message in the travellers' pub. -- Tyen (talk) 18:02, 16 July 2014 (EDT)

Hi IBcaldera. Sorry if I don't use this correctly -- I am new. The material I posted on Favignana, Italy was written by me and not taken from another site. I am a professional writer. —The preceding comment was added by Luminosityitalia‎ (talkcontribs)
Hi Jose! Welcome to Wikitravel! We're very happy to have you here! All the best, IBAlex (talk) 20:39, 16 July 2014 (EDT)
How are the first days on WT? Warm regards, IBAlex (talk) 18:35, 28 July 2014 (EDT)
They've been great, thank you! Wikitravel has an awesome community! =] IBcaldera (talk) 21:17, 18 August 2014 (EDT)


Welcome, IBcaldera! IBobi (talk) 21:10, 18 August 2014 (EDT)

Thank you, IBobi! Here to help you and the community! IBcaldera (talk) 21:17, 18 August 2014 (EDT)


Hello IBcaldera, please check Rio San Juan, Nicaragua I have been adding lot of information and need to know if Iám withing guide lines, check Boca de Sabalos El Castillo [Montecristo River Lodge]] Reserva Silvestre Privada Montecristo thanks

Hey, Agustin! Thanks for all of the contributions. No lie, it makes me want to visit the area and explore the region! I fixed some very minor spacing issues. Also, I moved your contact info under the "See" in Boca de Sábalos Everything else seemed great. The only article that is a little confusing is Reserva Silvestre Privada Montecristo. I read through it and it has some great information, but it appears to be more of a listing then a proper destination perhaps it could work as a fully featured listing in the city that it is part of? Please let me know what you think! And thanks again for all of the contributions! IBcaldera (talk) 15:29, 29 September 2014 (EDT)

Addresses[edit]

Hello IBcaldera, the address format is specified in Wikitravel:Accommodation listings where it explicitely states Don't repeat the city name unless the "city" is different. If there are other articles where this is wrong, I think it would be better to correct that there. STENSOFT (talk) 19:19, 2 September 2014 (EDT)

Hey there, STENSOFT! Thanks for bringing that up! We'll definitely be facing a mountain. I just checked various articles and it appears city names within addresses have gone fairly unregulated for a while. I think now the question becomes how do we approach the situation with what I assume will be two very large groups of listings with a slight variation in address format. I think we should take it to the travellers' pub and brainstorm a resolution. By the way - whenever you get the chance feel free to share your knowledge on Třebnuška with us! IBcaldera (talk) 20:37, 2 September 2014 (EDT)
I don't quite understand what there is to "brainstorm".
Certainly most contributors don't bother to check our manual of style (or even realise it exists) - but that does not mean the rationale thrashed out years ago for not including superfluous address information has been negated.
Do you really think that every listing in our Glasgow article might now need to include the superfluous "Glasgow"? --92.30.241.130 10:35, 11 October 2014 (EDT)
You're right it is much. The "brainstorm" wasn't geared towards finding a way to defend the city name, it was meant at coming up with a solution on to the existing listings on Wikitravel that have a city name. I think the best way to go about those is to edit them as we come upon them. Now that we're being extra vigilant on new listings - all the city names should flush out in due time. IBcaldera (talk) 10:44, 13 October 2014 (EDT)
Thanks for your quick response.
It doesn't matter too much if listings do contain superfluous address information - it's just that much of my work in the past few years has been copyediting and I get a little bit concerned when a long-standing rational consensus is changed (or threatened with change) without good reason.
Far more important is that accurate and up-to-date pricing information is included and formatted in the way recommended by $.
However, the biggest problem is the creators of spam - presumably they employ humans to get around the captcha tests? --92.30.241.130 16:25, 13 October 2014 (EDT)
That's what I was thinking too!! There's no way bots can decipher the especially distorted images that are being served lately. One of my colleagues mentioned that there may be teams dedicated to getting through the captchas and then feeding those to a larger spam database. I'm not very familiar with the backend of the internet so I can't begin to make assumptions, but that idea seems as good as any.
Anyway, no need to thank me for the response, my friend. If anything I must thank you, I didn't know what "copyediting" was until I just researched the term online and I seriously owe you my gratitude. Anyone who takes it upon themselves to go through grammar, punctuation, and semantics has such the fine level of detail that makes a Wiki. We will not be adding city names, nor will we be allowing city names on future listings - so that will stay as it's been.IBcaldera (talk) 18:41, 14 October 2014 (EDT)
My assumption is that there are teams of low paid workers in third-world countries doing this account creation and spamming.
However, we do walk a tightrope between protecting the integrity of our guides and making sure that travellers can keep our guides up-to-date and accurate. Please remember that some of our best edits are made by IPs -which is why I strongly deprecate making most pages only editable by admins on a permanent basis - it defeats the whole ethos and practicality of having a wiki. Don't let the spammers win, but don't admit defeat either. --92.30.244.53 19:08, 18 October 2014 (EDT)

Editing[edit]

Hi Jose!

I'm trying to give back to wikitravel for all the help I got along the way of my travels but I could use a hand for editing tricks for wikitravel. if you have a good video or page you could suggest me, I'd be happy to have a look at it.

See yaLin.wf.22 (talk) 10:54, 25 October 2014 (EDT)

You, my friend, are incredible! Of course I'd like to help. Unfortunately we don't have videos that show editing tricks but we do have pages that will show you. The best resource for learning is our general help page! It has everything you would ever need to know about Wikitravel. But it's big, boy is it big. It seems like you already have a pretty good hand so instead I'll recommend the how to page This one is my favorite cause it will show you how to accomplish any editing trick and they're all separated so you won't need to read over irrelevant info. If you need any more resources please feel free to reach out again! IBcaldera (talk) 16:59, 27 October 2014 (EDT)

Shurely shome mishtake...[edit]

Please would you revert this edit of yours which, among some weird duplication, re-introduced many breaches of our MoS including wta, xl and sp.

If it was not a whoopsy, I find the edit summary of "Edited for styling, please avoid urls on display" completely inaccurate. --Ttcf (talk) 17:55, 27 O ctober 2014 (EDT)

Hey there! Thanks for the heads up! I looked at your link and you're right it was a huge mistake. I may have had multiple tabs open and hit rollback the wrong one! IBcaldera (talk) 18:53, 27 October 2014 (EDT)
It's easily done - thanks for your understanding and quick revert. --Ttcf (talk) 19:52, 27 October 2014 (EDT)

Part 2[edit]

Is Shanghai such a different place from the rest of China that (exceptionally) it needs its own quickbar?

Does it have its own currency?

Timezone?

Electricity details radically different from the rest of China?

Does its religion differ radically from the rest of China?

Why can Shanghai's area and population not just be mentioned in prose in the Understand section, as we do with other cities where they are relevant to travellers?

Is it exceptional in China in having Mandarin as its official language?

Does it have its own flag that it is critical for visitors to instantly recognise?

Why are the emergency phone numbers not listed in its brand new quickbar? (Is it because they are the same as the rest of China or simply because the newbie editor that has been going around sprinklins these redundant and misleading templates is unaware of their syntax & possibilities or just of our laboriously debated policies in general?)

Please read the discussion at Template_talk:Quickbar#Region_and_town_templates and add any new points that may have been previously missed when we reached a consensus after much debate that quickbars should ONLY be used for articles about sovereign countries and their separately-administered territories (generally speaking, places with their own 2-character ISO country code and Internet Top-Level Domain) and that they should not be used for US states, Canadian provinces, or any other article type such as cities or regions or villages or Disney World...

Meanwhile, until and unless we come to a new consensus, I'd be grateful if you would either:

  1. Revert your reversion or
  2. Designate the Shanghai article as experimental and explain the rationale for this experiment at Talk:Shanghai...

--Ttcf (talk) 19:53, 10 November 2014 (EST)

Phone numbers in listings[edit]

Please would you ensure that you list phone numbers in the international format so that they can be dialled directly from a mobile phone.

For example, in this edit it would have been better to list the number as "+61 3 3 9639-1811" rather than in the local Australian format of "03 9639 1811".

Use edit summaries to explain non-obvious deletions[edit]

Also, please use an edit summary to at least hint as to your reasons when removing a bunch of hotels. Have they closed, are they removed under our "avoid negative reviews" policies, is this a huge city that has been "districtified" or for some other (non-obvious) reason? --103.9.41.192 16:14, 9 December 2014 (EST)

I'm sorry that my last sentence just above was not clear enough in indicating that it required a response from you.
Why exactly did you remove hotel listings in this edit, please? --103.9.41.192 18:28, 10 December 2014 (EST)
Two of the listings were Ascott properties(multiple listings for the same company) the other was written in a confusing manner, but upon second review it can be modified and placed back - with an edit summary of course ;). Thanks for reaching out! IBcaldera (talk) 19:47, 10 December 2014 (EST)
I make no comment on the "confusing" bit, but unfortunately I've had to move "the other" since I see Melbourne is supposed to be "districtified".
Now that I've got a hint of your rationale, I'm afraid I'm still a bit bemused.
Historically, we have not removed accommodation listings just because they were owned (or operated) by the same outfit. The test has been whether they were the same premises - ie different addresses and names - or not. Weren't the two properties you removed in completely different locations?
Following your new principle, we'd need to remove several thousand Hiltons, Marriotts, Holiday Inns and Accor properties from several thousand articles... --103.9.41.192 22:01, 10 December 2014 (EST)

Website[edit]

Hi IBcaldera, So just now I noticed you deleted my "Tunich Phrasebook" page on wikitravel, and I would like to ask you if you could temporarily restore the page, as I have many notes on there and I worked very hard on creating, I would like to save those notes and re paste them on a different website I have created, Thank you!



Amritsar[edit]

Hi IBcaldera,

I am the representative of Jugaadus in Amritsar. I would like to discuss the editing of amritsar section with you. Also there is a user by the name Davindervirasti who has been deleting my enteries without any justifications. Can we please look into this,

Thanks, Sanjay

Drake Bay[edit]

Hi IBcaldera, Im not really sure how this works cause Im new to wikitravel but I would like to ask you a question about an edit I made to the Drake Bay Costa Rica page with the information of a tour company. You commented with no tour operator and referred to a list with criteria for tour operators, the tour operator that im referring to meets all these criteria so Im a bit confused about why I cannot put it on these pages? Hope you can help, thanks.

Hey thanks for reaching out. I remember seeing that the tour operator and hostel you listed were under the same company - sometimes tour operators will double list their tour and booking in that way as well. I'll be happy to restore your edits! IBcaldera (talk) 14:22, 9 January 2015 (EST)

Spelling of accomodation[edit]

The incorrect spelling of "accommodation" with a single "m" appears in edits from 8-January-2015 under name IBcaldera. I've been sent a message about "Sleep" being removed, but perhaps that did not happen. This affects the following pages:

If you would like to review this, please let me know the outcome. Lawe (talk) 02:59, 15 January 2015 (EST)

Hey there, thanks for reaching out! That is definitely a misspelling, but the section items("Sleep") should stay the same. Thanks for including the list, I'll make sure all of those articles have proper section templates! IBcaldera (talk) 14:27, 15 January 2015 (EST)
My talk page continues to provide advice about how sections should be named. I have not altered the sections or any template. I only corrected a spelling mistake. Lawe (talk) 23:41, 16 January 2015 (EST)

Relative time[edit]

Good to hear your feedback on my suggestion about relative time descriptions. MichaelRpdx (talk) 14:53, 19 January 2015 (EST)

Euro: country numbers[edit]

You forgot to increment the numbers of countries using the Euro when you made this edit. (I'd make the necessary change myself but, totally contrary to the tradition and ethos of this wiki, an admin has made this template only editable by admins!) --222.127.76.207 21:00, 19 January 2015 (EST)

Hi there, thank you for pointing this out. It's been updated. Hope we will see more of your contributions. Thank you! --Binbin (talk) 05:35, 20 January 2015 (EST)
Thank YOU, Binbin!
( I suppose that someone also might want to update the phrase "Together, these countries have a population of 327 million" to "Together, these countries have a population of more than 330 million"... --222.127.76.207 06:02, 20 January 2015 (EST)
Thank you both! I updated the number to 337.5 million(as noted by the European Commission website).IBcaldera (talk) 15:08, 20 January 2015 (EST)
Sorry to quibble, but I still prefer the phrase "Together, these countries have a population of more than 330 million" to your new one mentioning "a population of 337.5 million" since
a) the figure of 337.5 million is spuriously exact. Although the population is declining or static in many Eurozone countries, there is heavy immigration to countries like Italy and Greece, and many of the illegal immigrants are not counted (for pretty obvious reasons)
b) the figure of 337.5 million will become outdated within a matter of months. --222.127.76.207 21:38, 20 January 2015 (EST)
Not quibbling, good point! 337.5 is somewhat precise. IBcaldera (talk) 19:49, 21 January 2015 (EST)
Thanks for being open to persuasion and for making the suggested change. --222.127.76.207 23:43, 21 January 2015 (EST)

Iquitos[edit]

Hi Jose, you recently removed an entry I submitted for Jungle Tours and Ecolodges under the Iquitos page, citing multiple violations of touting accolades, first-person writing, and excessive content. I'm a new poster and was not aware of the content limit and have tried fixed this (comparable to Otorongo Lodge) as well as the other violations. There are, however, multiple other entries within the category that tout accolades (Amazonia Expeditions Tahuayo Lodge, Muyuna Lodge, Otorongo Expeditions) and use "we" and "our" in their description (Maniti Camp Expeditions, Muyuna Lodge, Otorongo Expeditions), which is why I thought it was ok. I think it is unfair to remove my listing for violations that others on the page are clearly committing as well. —The preceding comment was added by Tapichejungle (talkcontribs)

Thanks for reaching out! I saw that GiulioC helped out with the edits! He's really one of the best resources in all things Wikitravel. If you have further questions on anything please feel free to reach out to me on this page as well, I'd be happy to help! IBcaldera (talk) 17:52, 27 January 2015 (EST)

Khanazhar[edit]

Hi IBcaldera (talk), I was recently blocked by you stating that I am promoting my personal tourism website. Please note that I am in no relation with the links I referred. All contributions I made were genuine and was written after my personal experience and I thought that referring the contents would be helpful for travelers. I think my last edit went too much against the norms of Wikitravel and I am sorry for not abiding to the guidelines. The content I edited were outdated and I updated it accordingly with the latest updates. I had faced lots of issues in Andaman for ferry tickets, Baratang Island trip and Jolly bouy island for permits and information during my visit. Sorry, but Wikitravel didn't had much information neither did any other websites. Well, finally you are the admin and I humbly request you to allow me access and to remove the blocking. Let me know, which of the contents I edited were extremely against the norms of wikitravel and I will change it accordingly. Please enable my contributions that you find is adding value to Andaman travel or else let me know where you require edit of the existing content. Look forward to your message.

Hey there! Agh no need to apologize hahah! The admins and I patrol this site nonstop and seeing a link repeated over and over again(especially a tourism link) is an instant red flag. But thank you for reaching out! Your account is now unblocked and I've restored your changes! Still, we need to make sure that those links don't appear more than once on the guide. Perhaps we can condense the mentions into a single listing under the "Get around" section? I think that would be a great way to help other travelers avoid issues with ferry tickets. What do you think? IBcaldera (talk) 15:40, 12 February 2015 (EST)

New York City[edit]

Hey IBcaldera! I checked that you recently removed a mention of evojets from New York City article stating that the link was given to a malfunctioning site. I am new to wikitravel and yet to create an account and hence I am not sure if I used proper notations to represent my edit. The site is working properly from my side and plus it is secured. You can refer to the link - https://www.evojets.com/. —The preceding comment was added by 14.140.232.98 (talkcontribs)

Hello, thanks for taking the time to message me! Your notation on the New York City article was missing link text, but that's not the reason i undid the edit. The URL you shared was displaying code in the "Empty Legs" section as well as a broken image in the "Events" section. Here is the original link. Best! IBcaldera (talk) 14:18, 5 March 2015 (EST)

Thanks IBcaldera. I am not sure why '%20' got appended, but it might be due to the space included between link and link text - evoJets charter. I have made changes again and let me know in-case I am going wrong anywhere. (talk)

Megabus removal[edit]

Please explain Why did you make this edit? Megabus still goes to Indianapolis as far as I'm aware. Koavf (talk) 21:41, 9 March 2015 (EDT)

Hey Koavf! Nice to hear from you again! All of the megabus edits and additions were coming from a single account or a string of accounts focusing solely on Megabus. In some instances they deleted functioning listings from other competitors for their own and in most cases they were using content copied word for word from other sites. IBcaldera (talk) 14:11, 10 March 2015 (EDT)
Even though I understand the rationale, removing Megabus entirely from some articles is a huge mistake since many travelers find the service to be very useful especially on some busy routes. It would be equivalent to removing any links of references to Greyhound. Diablo234 (talk) 23:07, 25 August 2015 (EDT)
Hey hey, thanks for reaching out! I hear you, it wasn't an easy decision to make. It happened a few months back and if I remember correctly "megabus" was placed on a URL blacklist. I'm open, we can easily remove it off the list. If the admins team begins seeing mass copying and pasting of their content from other sites(regardless of ownership) we'll treat it just as we have other spam attacks. Hope this helps! IBcaldera (talk) 18:18, 26 August 2015 (EDT)

Commercial sites reference[edit]

u Hi IBCaldera, I'm Marco, the webmaster of booktaxitenerife, I've seen your comment about our site and our addition to Tenerife page. You have defined our contributions to wikitravel as SPAM, but I'm not sure to understand it and the difference between our contribution and other commercial sites / links listed on wikitravel. It's obvious that a commercial brand wants to get listed here for traffic generation and SEO authority, but when we are generating some value to readers by explaining some useful characteristics of our proposal / product or service I understand that it will be interesting for readers and community... so if there is a commercial link talking about a service related to Tenerife, why we can't add another one with a different value proposal? Thanks for your point of view! Marco —The preceding comment was added by 83.37.51.78 (talkcontribs)

Hello IBcaldera! Yesterday I made my first edit! yay! ^^ Today I checked back to see if it survived 24h. It didn´t :P So I decided to create an account and discuss a little. I wrote to Hong Kong and South East Asia articles about a service called Plate Culture. The text was removed due to no links to "Booking aggregators". I read the rules through and out and I see the point. However I think this particular case needs some further discussion. If I understand correctly the main point is "Avoid linking to secondary sources". The point of Plate culture is that Asian homes open their doors for tourists to dine with them. These "private kitchens" (for a lack of a better word) have no other websites or Facebook pages and are totally inaccessible any other way. Also on the other hand after visiting Hong Kong and Malaysia and using the service it is totally in my top 10 for things to do there, so I think this page needs to cover it somehow. This makes me think that it is questionable that we can have for example a link on the south east asia section for rideexpeditions.com but not plate culture. Looking forward to your view! :)

Kea page removal[edit]

Hi, Why did you remove the whole page of Kea island? Reason was-a lot of the content appears on other sites, please contribute original content only. If so, why you didn't just undo or delete inadequate content? I know the page would be pure with information, but isn't it easier for some new contributor to change existing page instead of creating new one? And Kea island needs its own page. Thanks Meze (talk) 17:25, 9 April 2015 (CET)

Hey, Meze! Thank you for reaching out! I was going to delete the copied content, but sadly a lot of it was copied. This is a problem because Wikitravel doesn't allow attribution. Since all content on the internet is copyrighted by default(or under a copyleft license in the case of wikipedia) that means we can't host it. And in general, we prefer to host original content only. You can learn more about our community's policies here.
I do invite you to create the Kea page again, but please avoid any external content. Thanks! IBcaldera (talk) 16:42, 9 April 2015 (EDT)

Hotel listing defined as spam and user ban[edit]

Hi IBcaldera,

I would like to discuss the removal of a hotel listing in the Hunza valley and Karimabad articles and the ban that you put on me for a week. My listing was considered as spam and I was banned for a whole week for reediting it. I have been travelling all over Pakistan for 4 months and mainly used wikitravel to gather information - this information was often outdated or not accurate so I wanted to contribute and improve it. I added this listing because it is THE backpacker hotspot in Hunza valley where you have a higher chance of meeting travellers than elsewhere and the price-quality-relation is very good.

I chose the words based on the descriptions of other hotels that I have read on wikitravel - I guess the part about "nice views and delicious food" made you classify it as spam and I apologize for it. Also I was not aware of alphabetical order because in most Pakistan hotel listings, there is none, it is arbitrary. I re-added it because I had internet problems at the time of the listing and tought it just had not been saved. I used only my IP address because I was automatically logged out - and I only discovered the discussion page later. So, this behaviour was based on inexperience and not on bad will.

I then discovered the e-mail, read all the rules and guidelines, understood the removal, and when I wanted to contact you on your page to discuss how to include this hotel in the listings, I saw that I was blocked for a week. This was like a slap in the face and very upsetting for me because I had had no chance of entering in a dialogue with you before you took such a drastic measure. Imagine how badly and unfairly treated I felt when I later discovered the following rule:

"User bans are an extreme last resort for us. [...] If there is a need for a user ban, someone needs to nominate the user or IP address for banning on the Wikitravel:user ban nominations page [...] Bans made without a vote and without an understanding of the gravity of this action are considered abuse by the administrator. [...] Exceptions to the user ban nomination process include: Blocks of one day or less when used as a discretionary tool for administrators. These blocks are sometimes used in slowing exceptionally high-volume unwanted edits (e.g., move vandalism) or to halt the vandalism (however temporarily) to create space to clean it up. In general such blocks should be applied for very short periods (two hours or less) and only increased in length if the vandal persists."

This really took my breath away and I felt treated extremely unfairly by you! It seemed like you violated the rules! I have seen that it is not the first time that you blocked people. For genuine first-time posters who are just too "stupid" to properly know the rules, this is very rude and discouraging - and even the guidelines state that the behaviour you have shown is considered as abuse.. Please reconsider this behaviour.

Also, I would really like this hotel to be included in the listing because it is likely to meet other travellers there and the wifi/hot shower/professional treatment of tourists is extremely outstanding for a budget hotel in Pakistan. This is a very good place for travellers and as a single woman travelling, I felt more comfortable here than other places. I hope that if I leave out the part about "nice views, delicious food" this will be possible.

Thank you for entering in a discussion with me

Sarah —The preceding unsigned comment was added by SarahS (talkcontribs) 22 April 2015‎

Hey Sarah! Thanks for reaching out! First and foremost please accept a massive apology from me for what you've been through. Second, please know that I don't consider any contributor "too "st*pid" to know the rules," wow that's actually kind of difficult to even repeat '=|
Please feel free to call me Jose, I'm an admin here at WT and I along with a few others go through patrol edits everyday. Most edits are awesome, just like yours(I reviewed further into your edit history). We also suffer from a generous amount of hotel marketers who basically copy and paste hotel/inn/hostel listings. The pattern is usually apparent after a few edits. I jumped the gun after seeing listings with nearly identical wording coming from your account. Definitely my fault, so this is a genuine apology about the mistake.
I recently began placing a 24 hour block on such edits(yes, we do have to do these as a warning on spam accounts[which yours is not]), it will then become a week-long block if the behavior persists, and eventually extend to a month. Of course a month long blocking would mean this is repeated cases of spam.
I digress, I'm actually really happy you took the time to write out your message to me. It goes a long way to showing just how much you care about contributing knowledge for other travelers. Boy, is that impressive! Thanks =)
If you have any other thoughts or vents you wanna air out, this is the right place to do it! I'm all ears and hear to listen and reply.
Hope to hear back soon! Best, IBcaldera (talk) 15:22, 22 April 2015 (EDT)

From ja: Shoestring Thank you for your message[edit]

Hi, IBcaldera, thank you for your message on my ja: talk page. I told Alex about the 10th anniversary of ja:WT, as you know, but actually we don’t intend to plan something special so far. We just start to discuss this matter on ja: traveler’s pub. Maybe we only celebrate on the ja Traveler’s Pub by sending messages from everyone (in addition, put the temporal banner message for celebration on the MediaWiki:Sitenotice, if it possible).

As I once told Alex (and you may as well know), I use my e-mail address only on the very private matters. If you have something to tell me, please use my ja: talk page. Anyway, thank you for the warm offerings from you all, and hope your kind understanding.--Shoestring (talk) 09:58, 10 May 2015 (EDT)

Around the world in 80 days[edit]

I removed much of the content for the get in to New York because it was much too detailed. Every bit of information for the options of getting to or between the airports was provided. A user only needs a general overview of how to get there. The transportation to the starting airport should not be the main section. New York is a good place to start this journey, but not the only one in the world. Also, it seemed as if this long section was copied directly from the get in section of the New York City article. --Kfinger (talk) 14:10, 18 May 2015 (PDT)

Photography activity in Prague removed[edit]

Dear IBcaldera, you have recently deleted my entry for Prague activity - Johnny's Prague Photo Tours that violated first person writing. If I delete "our" from the last sentence, would it be acceptable for submission? Thank you for your help! I appreciate it. Best regards, Jan

Photography Tours of Prague[edit]

  • Johnny's Prague Photo Tours, ☎ (+420)737382203 [1] - Explore the best places for photography with a local professional photographer. You can take sunrise and sunset tours that take around 3.5 hours and offer you to shoot when the light is at its best. Tours cover not only some of the main sights, but also interesting locations off the beaten path. The tours are always tailor-made to fit client's needs and expectations. Learn about photography, enjoy our friendly and knowledgable guides and bring home stunning pictures from Prague.
Hey Jan. Yep, please feel free to repost without first-person writing. Also you can check out the Don't tout page to know what the admin team is checking for in new edits. Thanks! IBcaldera (talk) 10:51, 20 July 2015 (EDT)
Thanks a lot IBcaldera, I've read the article you suggested and submitted a new revised version. Hopefully it'll be okay now. Cheers!

LGBT Texas Rewrite[edit]

Since one of the admins have offered to rewrite the article on LGBT relations in Texas, I would be more than happy to give you guys links to any articles to support my case. I tried to be reasonable to 64.121.83.151 but evidently he/she ignored my links/proof so I figured it would be better to present my case to a more neutral party as opposed to wasting any further time with someone who in my opinion appears to be way too biased/bigoted to trust writing that section accurately after my dealings with that user. Feel free to let me know if you need or want my assistance since I would be more than glad to help. Thanks (Diablo234 (talk) 21:30, 10 September 2015 (EDT))

As I was about to reply, I decided to look at the Texas edit history to see if there'd been any updates and it looks like 64.121.83.151 has made a compromise edit! His or her paragraph reads sensibly and more importantly the closing line segues nicely into your points about gay elected officials and the growing openness to the community. I invite you to add any points that you'd like so that the section is complete.
Also, I'd like to thank you for all of the work you've done on the guide as a whole! Fantastic stuff! IBcaldera (talk) 12:54, 11 September 2015 (EDT)

Sounds like you're the bigot Diablo he did the edit so turn the crazy down and chill. —The preceding unsigned comment was added by Riyadhman (talkcontribs) 20:20, 26 February 2016‎ (UTC)

Hey there I just wrote back on your talk page. Check out when you get a chance! IBcaldera (talk) 16:58, 26 February 2016 (EST)

Thank you for fixing the bug[edit]

Hi IBcaldera, thank you for your information. I tried to put an external link on one of our ja: pages, and happy to tell you that it completely worked. Thank you again for your effort.--Shoestring (talk) 07:34, 6 October 2015 (EDT)


Thank you for your message on my ja: talk page[edit]

Hi Caldera,

Thank you for your message. So far, so good, except for ill-displaying of some portrait type pictures (I have already reported this problem to Alex).

Also, thank you for your kind offering to send me a Christmas gift. I may have already inform you before, so far I don't make public my personal information such as my address (postal and e-mail), name etc., so I regret to say that it is very hard to respond your offer this time. Sorry for your inconvenience and hope your kind understanding (of course this is my personal information policy and I don't know other members'. I am willing to notice your offering on ja: Traveler's Pub, if you want).

Thank you again for your warm attentions to our ja:pages and I wish your Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!--Shoestring (talk) 10:32, 6 December 2015 (EST)


Bugs(?) on the printable version[edit]

Hi Caldera,

Have you ever heard some bug about the printable version on English or other language pages? One of our ja: users reported that he/she can't print out some of the ja: WT pages correctly, because there seems to have some malfunctioning of setting for the right and left margins, and some part of right side of the pages are overflowing from the printable areas. For your information, he/she said he/she uses Win 8 (English ver.), Chrome (Ver. 47.0.2526.106 m), and uses "Letter" size paper.

I also tried and failed to display the ja: printable pages on my PC, but print out itself (on the A4 paper) was no problem (although there seems to have some modifications on the margins of both sides). If you know something about it, tell us please later (maybe in the next month or so. We are in no hurry).--Shoestring (talk) 06:54, 24 December 2015 (EST)

Hi Caldera, thank you for your response. I use the rotated Ronald as a lead image of this article ("How to enjoy the world travel and cultures from the aspect of Mc Donald's"). So it would be very much helpful if you could find the solution.
And we are also being bothered by the frequent kicking out from the log in status. I tried to check the "Keep me logged in" button but it seems ineffective so far. In order to tackle the problem temporary, I persuade everyone to keep copying their edited texts. Then they can try to re-log in and paste them if they are kicked out from the page(s). --Shoestring (talk) 06:31, 6 January 2016 (EST)


Re: Printable Versions, Rotating Images, Log Out Issues[edit]

Hi Caldera, thank you for your message. I tried myself to print the claimed page and confirm that I can print it normally (though I needed to fix some default margin data on the set up page of pre-view menu). Unfortunately the one (利用者・トーク:TedSF) who claimed this problem says he/she has not yet solved the problem (which means that some part of the right side of the pages are still overflowing from the printable areas).

Ted says the situation seems very much depending on pages, and some pages can print quite normally. How is the ヨセミテ国立公園 (the claimed page) going on your printout? For your information, I advised Ted to check the default data on the setting up tug of pre-view page, and once try to purge the cash on the claimed WT page..., though I have no idea whether it will work or not.--Shoestring (talk) 20:50, 23 January 2016 (EST)


Another bug we found[edit]

Hi Caldera, I’ve just got another bug report, this time is about the malfunctioning of the "Revision history". You can check it yourself easily. For example, try to display the article of Tokyo (or any article you like), click the "View history" tug on the right top of the page, then chose the oldest archive by clicking the date link. What we could read should be the start-up version, but actually the displayed page is the current one. It happens any pages of en: and ja: (and other language pages as well, probably). I think it is not relatively an urgent matter, but one of the bugs to be tackled with, accordingly. Anyway, thank you very much for your efforts.--Shoestring (talk) 06:45, 26 January 2016 (EST)

Hi Caldera, thank you for your quick response. I checked some ja: archives and confirmed that they were displaying normally. Also, I left a message on Ted’s talk page about the current situation of your tackling the Chrome print bug. Thank you very much (as always)!--Shoestring (talk) 06:32, 27 January 2016 (EST)

Response[edit]

Alright, I'll keep the activity to the United States page. Thanks for the response. --UnitedStates (talk) 22:09, 29 January 2016 (EST)

USA "Unaccompanied adults" edit[edit]

Why did you revert my edit about unaccompanied adults and children - I thought it was a better way of experessing this issue than the way it is currently being said. That particular issue has nothing to do with being "single" or not - child-centric venues often don't want unaccompanied adults, but it has nothing to do with the adult's relationship or marital status. Social exclusion of singles is something else entirely which I covered in another bullet point. 174.95.42.6 21:53, 4 February 2016 (EST)

Hey, thanks for taking the time to reach out! Reframing your point with regard to "child-centric" venues is definitely the way to go. Your original posts said:
There are certain areas where singles are not welcome and will face exclusion. American carnivals/county fairs, for instance, may occasionally have rules that forbid singles from riding certain rides, and even a few nightclubs don't allow singles, either.
which is a much broader statement. If you'd like to rewrite the post and place it, please do! IBcaldera (talk) 15:05, 8 February 2016 (EST)
I did not write the statement you copied and pasted here - it was already in the article but I felt like it was too vague and broached on two different things at once. I replaced it with this:
Unaccompanied adults, especially unaccompanied men, should not find themselves in environments that typically cater to children, or in the presence of a large number of children. Certain venues, such as carnivals or county fairs, may have rules in place that disallow unaccompanied adults from accessing the entire event, or parts of it.
which you reverted. What about rewording it like this:
Unaccompanied adults should avoid finding themselves in environments that typically cater to children, or in the presence of a large number of children. Certain child-centric venues, such as carnivals or county fairs, may have rules in place that disallow unaccompanied adults from accessing the entire event, or parts of it.
Would you be ok with this revision, or do you have another suggestion as to how to reword it? 174.95.42.6
Ah ok, I referenced the wrong edit, apologies. And no, I think you have a strong revision. It should be good to go! Thanks for clarifying! IBcaldera (talk) 14:24, 9 February 2016 (EST)

Kyzylarai wildlife reserve[edit]

Hi! Concerning yesterday edit of the article: the link to web-site of Nomadic Travel Kazakhstan is working (at least, from Kazakhstan and Nepal, where I'm now). This is a web-site of a local tourist company, not a booking service. So, I guess, it will be useful to have information about it in the article. Thank you! —The preceding comment was added by Vshuptar (talkcontribs)

Altitude sickness link[edit]

Hi iBcaldera -- sorry I'm not sure where to write this so hope it's okay to write it here. You just removed an external link that I added about altitude sickness on the Tibet wikitravel page. I understand if external links are not allowed, but I'm confused why so many other external links are allowed on that page. As far as I can tell every external link on that page except for one (Amnye Machen Institute) are all travel agencies. I don't understand why my external link was removed but all of these are allowed. By the way, CITS and Great Tibet Tour, are not Tibetan-owned agencies, so should not be in that section. Thanks for your good work. —The preceding unsigned comment was added by 24.130.21.208 (talkcontribs) 15:26, Mar 25, 2016 (UTC)


Hi, thanks for writing in! First and foremost, I'd like to thank you for adding that key info on information sickness. I think it'll be extremely helpful in making sure that climbers have the best experience they can when taking on the mountains. To your point, many links that appear on that page or across the site that violate the "external link guidelines" were posted before the current admin team was put in place. Unfortunately we don't have a way to catch all of these past links so we essentially rely on readers and editors, like yourself, bringing them to our attention for clean up! Some links make it through the cracks in present edits - but we do the best we can given the amount of edits we get a day. Please accept my thanks for the heads up. I've flagged the page for clean up and will work on it over the next week =).
If you have any other questions please feel free to reach out! IBcaldera (talk) 18:33, 25 March 2016 (EDT)

ja: Bug reports[edit]

Hi Caldera, probably along with the update of Mediawiki you mentioned before, we have a couple of bugs on ja: pages as follows:

  • The font of the title and subtitle are changed from the original Gothic type to the current ones (as you can see on the ja: pages). Could you change them back to the default (i.e. Gothic) font? Since we get used to the original, current fine styled font is very hard to read.
  • As you can also see on the ja: pages, the position of the table of contents (usually displays at the top left of the pages) are slightly slide to the bottom. Would you fix it to the original position?
  • The auto-signature button is dropped from the bunch of shortcut buttons which displays on the top of the textbox when we use the editing mode. Could you please recover it as before? Lack of this button is inconvenient for us.
  • We cannot display the google (or yahoo) map from the link of each page. It seems that the links to the "Special:Mapstraction" page(s) (also known as "{{Maps|lat|long}}") is/are temporary malfunctioned along with the updating of the software. We think this bug is relatively a fatal, because the map displaying system is one of the very important supporting kits for WT.

Besides these bugs we found, so far the ja: pages seems work normally. So would you please check and fix these bugs as soon as possible? If we find other bugs we report them to you accordingly.--Shoestring (talk) 06:21, 12 June 2016 (EDT)

Hi, I posted a reply on your JA page. Thank you again for all of the feedback! IBcaldera (talk) 14:23, 13 June 2016 (EDT)
We are very glad to your quick response. Thank you! :) --Shoestring (talk) 07:36, 14 June 2016 (EDT)
Thank you for your message and your efforts to tackle the current problems. The "Old Font" that you posted on my ja: talk page is what we wanted to tell you. So change them back to the "Old Font" please.--Shoestring (talk) 16:20, 15 June 2016 (EDT)

Hi Caldera, thank you for your message.

Regarding the debug you mentioned, the mapping system seems work normally, but not perfectly. By clicking the links, we can jump to the correct map pages, but it often displays a blank page instead (once every two or three times or so). I don’t know well whether it happens along with this time’s update or not, because recently I have similar cases when I want to jump to other page(s) from certain links on some pages (not WT).

I don’t know the reason why, but it may relate to the recent tightening of security check on the operating system (when I click the links on some pages, it often pops up a warning with a short message for requesting the user’s permission to display the linked page, then sometimes displaying the blank page (a little bit hard to explain, but can you make sense of what I want to tell you?). For your information, my PC’s OS is Windows7 and my browser is IE).

And here is another bug. One of the ja: Wikitravelers claims that the mapping system is frequently freezing when (he/she) wants to scroll or magnify the displayed map on (his/her) smartphone (android type).

In addition to those bugs, I found another (relatively a tiny) one last day. As you know, when we finish checking the recent edition(s) of each page and click the “patrolled” tag, normally the red and bold exclamation marks on the left side of the “Recent changes” page will drop from the page. But sometimes it doesn’t, especially when we use the “batch patrol” tag. I remember the same bug caused by the software update several years ago.

Could you please check and tackle those cases additionally?--Shoestring (talk) 07:19, 20 June 2016 (EDT)