Amphoe Mueang Loei
Chaopho Kut Pong Shrine and the City Pillar Shrine (ศาลเจ้าพ่อกุดป่องและศาลหลักเมือง) is located approximately 100 metres from the fountain roundabout next to the Kut Pong Public Park. It is an ancient shrine highly respected among the people. The city pillar shrine was constructed in 1982. The city pillar was made of the golden shower wood elaborately carved into a lotus shape at its top and gilded with gold leaf on black lacquer with a height of 139 centimetres.
Chaloem Phra Kiat Public Park, Pa Loeng Yai (สวนสาธารณะเฉลิมพระเกียรติฯ ป่าเลิงใหญ่) is situated in front of Loei Municipality. It is a 2-rai public park by the Loei River. There is a decorative garden with various kinds of flowers and decorative plants. Tourists can cross the hanging bridge into the park.
Office of the Loei Tourism Coordination Centre (อาคารที่ทำการศูนย์ประสานงานการท่องเที่ยวจังหวัดเลย) was previously the City Hall and Mueang Loei District Office, located within the compound of the Kut Pong Public Park, Charoen Rat Road, near Loei Municipality. Their Majesties the King and Queen stayed overnight at this building’s first upper balcony when they visited the Loei people in November 1955. The Loei Provincial Council of Culture collected the King’s chair at this place. The building was constructed in 1933. Nowadays, the Fine Arts Department has registered it as a national ancient monument for preservation.
Loei Cultural Centre (ศูนย์วัฒนธรรมจังหวัดเลย) is located within the compound of the Loei Rajabhat University. It is a two-storey building, collecting and publicising various aspects of information on Loei such as religion, traditions and ways of living. The centre’s building is divided into 3 sections; namely, the First Part: is a conference room with a slide presentation on Loei province and daily life utensils of the people in the past, the Second Part: is a temporary exhibition room presenting ancient Buddha images made of wood, sandstone, terra-cotta and silver, as well as, various Phi Ta Khon masks, ancient utensils and equipment donated by the local Loei people. Besides, there is an exhibition organised in rotation every 3 months, displaying various stories of Loei’s festivals and traditions, the Third Part: is a “Boeng Thai Loei Room”, presenting a permanent exhibition, considered as the major and the most distinguished part. This grand room displays every aspect of Loei covering its geology, geography, history, traditions and ethnology. Loei Cultural Centre is open daily from 8.30 a.m. – 4.00 p.m. Please deliver a letter in advance for a group visit to the Loei Cultural Centre, Loei Rajabhat University, Loei – Chiang Khan Road, Amphoe Mueang, Loei 42000. For further information, please contact Tel. 0 4283 5223-8 ext: 5128. To get there: take Highway No. 201 (Loei – Chiang Khan) for a distance of 5 kilometres.
Wat Tham Pha Pu or Tham Phiang Din (วัดถ้ำผาปู่ หรือ ถ้ำเพียงดิน), houses the remains of Luangpu Khamdi Paphaso, who discovered this place. The temple is a grand cave within a stone mountain. There are Buddha images enshrined in the cave, as well as, stalagmites and stalactites. Outside the cave is a habitat of Phayre’s langurs, gibbons and monkeys. To get there: Take the Loei – Chiang Khan route from Amphoe Mueang for 7 kilometres and turn left toward Amphoe Tha Li for 3 kilometres.
Phu Pha Lom Forest Park (วนอุทยานภูผาล้อม) is situated in Tambon Nam Suai, 24 kilometres from the city. It is comprised of steep limestone mountains with various pointed summits similar to a wall surrounding the virgin forest in the middle. There are various kinds of plants, herbs, sightseeing points, and caves such as Tham Kaeo, Tham Pha Bong, as well as, Bo Nam Sap or Nam Phut, which is a sacred seepage pond located in the middle of the forest. It is believed to be a Naga hole, a water passage of Naga leading to the Mekong River. For touring the forest, there must be a ranger leading the tour. As for tourists who wish to stay overnight, there is a camping site near the office of the forest park. Tourists should contact 1 month in advance at Phu Pha Lom Forest Park, P.O. Box 7, Loei Provincial Post Office, Loei 42000. To get there: Take the Loei – Na Duang route on Highway No. 2138 from the city for approximately 9 kilometres and turn left into the Loei – Ban Phia route along Highway No. 2249 for a further 9 kilometres. At Ban Phia where there is an intersection, turn right near Wat Liap into Highway No. 3117. Go straight on for 2 kilometres and turn left for 4 kilometres.
Upper Huai Nam Man and Huai Krathing Reservoir (อ่างเก็บน้ำห้วยน้ำหมานตอนบนและห้วยกระทิง) is an earth-filled dam with a capacity of 26 million cubic metres, covering an area of 1,500 rai with a crest of 800 metres long. It was constructed for irrigation purposes. There is a beautiful atmosphere of bamboo forest and surrounding mountains. To get there: Take the Loei – Phu Ruea route, 15 kilometres from the city and turn right for a further 5 kilometres.
Amphoe Chiang Khan
Chiang Khan is a small serene district on the bank of the Mekong River with accommodation, restaurants, and cruising service provided. Famous souvenirs of the district are quilts and glacéd coconut which visitors should not miss to buy. Moreover, there are beautiful attractions, awaiting to be admired.
Wat Si Khun Mueang (วัดศรีคุณเมือง) is located on Chai Khong Soi 7 Road, to the north of Chiang Khan Market. It was constructed in 1942 with a boundary wall surrounding the Ubosot. This temple is a collection venue of Lanna and Lan Chang arts presenting at the Ubosot whose roof is in many layers reflecting the Lanna style of art. There are also many objects of art such as a carved Buddha image gilded with gold leaf on black lacquer in the forgiving posture of the Lan Chang style. The image’s hair is in small pointed buttons, while its ears are quite pointed and long. It is assumed to have been cast during the 19th – 20th century. Besides, inside the temple stands a carved wooden sermon pulpit gilded with gold leaf on black lacquer with a backrest whose top is similar to a spire of a castle. At the front of the Ubosot are many mural paintings. All of which were newly painted to replace the original ones depicting the ten Jataka stories.
Kaeng Khutkhu (แก่งคุดคู้) is a large cataract in the middle of the Mekong River. As it is exactly situated at the curving part of the river, the flow of the swift current passes this cataract. During the rainy season, there is a flood hiding the overall cataract. The appropriate period to visit the attraction is from February to May when it is dry and the cataract is clearly visible with a curve of a sand bar by the river. As for tourists who would like to closely experience the Mekong River and the nature along both sides, they can rent a motor boat, for a round trip of approximately 1 hour on an agreed price. Moreover, there is various food provided such as grilled chicken, papaya salad, Lap - spicy chicken salad, and other recommended dishes such as Phla – spicy shrimp salad with lemon grass and mint, Kung Ten – live Lanchester’s freshwater prawns with herbs and lime juice, and spicy fish soup from the Mekong River at reasonable prices. To get there: Tourists can take a bus which runs around the town to Kaeng Khutkhu which is located approximately 3 kilometres from Amphoe Chiang Khan.
Phra Phutthabat Phu Khwai Ngoen (พระพุทธบาทภูควายเงิน) is located at Ban Pha Baen, Tambon Buhom. The Buddha’s footprint is 120 centimetres long and 65 centimetres wide, enshrined on a whetstone and was registered as a national ancient monument in 1935. The footprint is highly revered among the locals. In the past, it was difficult to come to worship the footprint; therefore, it was believed that only those who possessed a lot of merit and fortune would be able to come and pay respect to the footprint. Those who did not have enough luck would have many obstacles, preventing them from completing their journey even though some might have high intention, while some might get lost. Every year, on the full moon day of the third lunar month, the temple will organise an annual celebration which is a significant event for the locals. To get there: Take the Chiang Khan – Phak Chom route for a distance of 6 kilometres to Pha Baen village and turn to Umung village for 3 kilometres to the foot of the mountain. Continue further along the laterite road for 1 kilometre.
Phra Yai Phu Khok Ngio (พระใหญ่ภูคกงิ้ว) is also called Phra Phuttha Nawaminthara Mongkhon Lila Thawinakharaphirak. It is situated at Phu Khok Ngio, Ban Tha Di Mi, Tambon Pak Tom, on the hillside at the connecting point of the Hueang and Mekong Rivers. It is a walking Buddha image in the blessing posture, cast of fibre and golden resin combined. It is 19 metres high and 7.2 metres wide at its base. It was cast by the Second Army Area Command and the people as a form of merit making for Their Majesties the King and Queen on the auspicious occasion of His Majesty the King’s 6th Cycle Birthday Anniversary in 1999, as well as, the 50th Anniversary of the Royal Coronation Ceremony in 2000. The construction was completed on 2 February, 2001. Visitors can admire the beautiful scenery of the Mekong River and the Lao People’s Democratic Republic at this place. To get there: From the centre of Loei, take Highway No. 201 (Loei – Chiang Khan) for 47 kilometres, turn left at the T-junction, go straight on to Ban Tha Di Mi, and turn right at Ban Tha Di Mi School for a further 2 kilometres.
Thai Dam Cultural Village (หมู่บ้านวัฒนธรรมไทยดำ) is located at Ban Na Pa Nat, Tambon Khao Kaeo. Thai Dam people migrated from Chiang Khwang Town, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, in 1905 to settle at Ban Na Pa Nat. At present, the Thai Dam culture is still preserved. There are houses constructed in the traditional style of the Thai Dam, as well as, daily utensils, reflecting their lifestyle in the past. Moreover, there is a weaving group of local people. Visitors can witness and purchase textiles as souvenirs. Tourists who would like to experience the lifestyle of the Thai Dam through homestay tourism can contact the Thai Dam Cultural Preservation Centre 1 week in advance at Tel. 08 1048 2000. It costs 300 Baht / person for 1 night accommodation and 2 meals. To get there: Take the Loei – Chiang Khan route for approximately 38 kilometres and turn right into Ban Na Si for approximately 10 kilometres until reaching Ban Na Pa Nat.
Amphoe Wang Saphung
Sirindhorn Art Centre (ศูนย์ศิลป์สิรินธร) is situated within the compound of Si Songkhram Witthaya School, constructed in 1993 and covering an area of approximately 6 rai. It is a venue displaying beautiful paintings of students who have gained popularity at both national and international levels. Moreover, it is a source of knowledge on arts and culture, comprising both permanent and rotating exhibition halls, an arts training building, as well as a shop selling art pieces and souvenirs. The name “Sirindhorn Art Centre” was granted by Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn. For further information, please contact Tel. 0 4284 1409-10.
Amphoe Phu Luang
Phu Luang Wildlife Sanctuary (เขตรักษาพันธุ์สัตว์ป่าภูหลวง) Phu Luang means a large mountain or the Mountain of the King, formed by an uplift of the earth’s crust and a slide of soft soil down to the lower land. Phu Luang was declared a wildlife sanctuary on 18 December, 1974. It covers an area of approximately 560,593 rai and is generally a plateau with a cool climate throughout the year. It is situated in Amphoe Wang Saphung, Amphoe Phu Ruea, Amphoe Dan Sai and Amphoe Phu Luang.
There are overall 3 types of climate on Phu Luang, similar to a plain, with different temperatures. Summer starts from February to April with an average temperature of 20-24 °C. During this season, there are colourful blossoms such as dendrobiums, white wild orchids, white and red rhododendrons. The period suitable to come and admire the fields of white and red rhododendrons is during February – March. The rainy season is from May to October, when the temperature is equally or slightly higher than in the summer. There will be tiny wild flowers in purplish pink scattered in the savanna. On the other hand, the temperature highly drops during the winter to 0-16 °C in November – January. On some days, the temperature can decrease to -4°C. During this season, Kuam Daeng (Acer calcaratum) or known as maple trees will transform into red and shed their leaves. Kradum Ngoen (Eriocaulon henryanum Ruhle) and lady’s slipper orchids (Paphiopedilum sukhakulii Schoser & Senghas) comprise the undergrowth of the hill evergreen forest. On the east of Phu Luang, dinosaur’s footprints on the rock, aged more than 120 million years were discovered. Besides, there are various kinds of forests such as mixed deciduous forest, dry evergreen forest, and hill evergreen forest. The most distinguished ones on Phu Luang are Pinus merkusii and Kesiya pine forests, savanna on plains, mounds, and stone terraces. Moreover, the wildlife sanctuary has organised the Phu Luang Nature Study Route, starting from Amphoe Phu Ruea at Khok Nok Kraba, passing Lan Suriyan, Pha Somdet, and the dinosaur’s footprints. Along the route, visitors will see white and red rhododendrons and various wild orchids. The trip takes 1-2 days. Interested visitors should be accompanied by a ranger.
Accommodation: The sanctuary provides accommodation for tourists. Reserve in advance at the National Park, Wildlife and Plant Conservation Department at Tel. 0 2579 9446, 0 2561 4836 or Phu Luang Wildlife Sanctuary at Tel. 08 1221 0547.
To get there: Take Highway No. 203, the Loei – Phu Ruea route, for approximately 36 kilometres to Ban San Tom, turn left at the side of the Ban San Tom School and go along the asphalt route for 18 kilometres until reaching the Huai Thong Checkpoint. Proceed further along the laterite path for approximately 10 kilometres to the Khok Nok Kraba Ranger Station. A four-wheeled drive car should be used. In case that the car cannot be driven uphill, there is a pickup for rent provided at the Huai Thong Checkpoint.
Amphoe Na Duang
Tham Pha Ya (ถ้ำผายา) is located inside Wat Tham Pha Ya at Ban Mai Santi Tham, Tambon Na Dok Kham. Inside the cave is a flock of millions of insect-eating bats. Visitors can wait and see them flying out of the cave and searching for food in a long line for nearly an hour from 5.00 to 6.00 p.m. everyday.
To get there: From Amphoe Na Duang, take Highway No. 2138 for approximately 8 kilometres. Turn into Highway No. 2249 for 9 kilometres and turn right at Ban Phia (near Wat Liap). Then, continue along the Ro Pho Cho Road (No. 3117) for 11 kilometres.
King Amphoe Erawan
Ban Lek Nai Pa Yai Project, Pha Nang – Pha Koeng (โครงการบ้านเล็กในป่าใหญ่ ผานาง – ผาเกิ้ง) is a project under an initiative of Her Majesty Queen Sirikit. Inside the project are productions of silk, handicrafts, bamboo and teakwood kitchenwares, as well as, mushroom farms producing Lacquered mushrooms, Shiitake mushrooms, and grey oyster mushrooms and various products on sale. Besides, there are various activities such as fishing, cycling tour, feeding many kinds of animals, and admiring the scenery around the project. Accommodation is also provided for tourists. It is open daily from 8.00 a.m. – 4.00 p.m. For further information, please contact Tel. 0 4281 2290.
To get there: Take the Loei – Wang Saphung route for a distance of 20 kilometres and turn left toward King Amphoe Erawan for approximately 31 kilometres to the Ban Wang Samran School. Turn left and go further for 1.5 kilometres.
King Amphoe Nong Hin
Suan Hin Pha Ngam or Thailand’s Kunming (สวนหินผางาม หรือ คุนหมิงเมืองไทย) is located at Ban Pha Ngam, Mu 10, Tambon Puan Phu. It is a limestone garden aged around 230-280 million years, occurring from the aggradation of beach deposits. Then, an uplift of the earth’s crust, together with millions of years of natural rot have made this mountain be strangely beautiful, similar to the stone garden in Kunming, the People’s Republic of China. Therefore, it was named “Thailand’s Kunming”. Within the compound is also situated a tourist information centre. To admire the nature, interested persons can contact an officer to conduct a tour around the stone garden as a group of 10 persons, costing 100 Baht per group. This is because of the narrowness and labyrinthine path which visitors might be able to get lost. Interesting travelling routes in the stone garden are Tham Thalu, mountains in strange animal shapes, a viewpoint at the summit of Khao Pha Bong or the stone mountain with a hole in the middle of its top. Each point is called differently. For further information, please contact Tel. 0 4280 1900.
To get there: From King Amphoe Nong Hin, take Highway No. 201, the Loei – Chum Phae route for approximately 43 kilometres and turn right for approximately 19 kilometres.
Tham Mahoran (ถ้ำมโหฬาร) is located within the compound of Wat Tham Mahoran, Ban Nong Hin, Tambon Nong Hin. It is a large cave whose entrance enshrines a Buddha image in subduing Mara posture. The area within the cave is quite large comprising of stalactites and stalagmites, as well as, caves in smaller sizes. A Buddha’s footprint was also found on the wall of the cave. There is an inscription mentioning its construction period in 1952. It has been told that Luangpu Man Phurithatto once came to observe the Buddhist precepts in this cave.
Tham Phothisat (ถ้ำโพธิสัตว์) or Thailand’s Guilin is situated within the compound of Wat Tham Phothisat. It is a complex cave. Therefore, a leader, arranged by the Puan Phu Sub-district Administration Organization, is necessary for touring the cave. For further information, please contact the Puan Phu Sub-district Administration Organization at Tel. 0 4289 4254. To get there: Take the similar route as to Suan Hin Pha Ngam, but turn right at Ban Puan Phu intersection and go further along the Puan Phu – Phu Luang route for approximately 3 kilometres.
Namtok Phiang Din (น้ำตกเพียงดิน) is 4 kilometres further from Suan Hin Pha Ngam. The waterfall is at the end of the asphalt road. To admire the waterfall, visitors will have to walk from the summit to the lowest level. It is a shady atmosphere within the compound. Moreover, local food shops are provided. For further information, please contact the Suan Hin Pha Ngam tourist information centre at Tel. 0 4280 1900.
Amphoe Phu Kradueng
Phu Kradueng National Park (อุทยานแห่งชาติภูกระดึง) is located in Tambon Si Than, covering an area of 217,576 rai. It was proclaimed a national park on 23 November, 1962. It is a popular natural attraction of Thailand due to its abundance of natural resources, comprising various types of ecological systems and geography such as savanna, pine forest, evergreen forest, maple forest, beautiful species of flowers, rhododendrons, Ueang Kham Hin - Eria lasiopetala (Willd.) Omerod, waterfalls, and viewpoints on the cliff. The distinguished characteristic of this national park is that it is a sandstone mountain with a wide plain summit, whose shape is similar to a leaf of the Elephant ear or a heart, with a height of 400-1,200 metres above sea level. Before travelling to Phu Kradueng, tourists should pass a medical check-up because they have to walk and climb up the mountains for a distance of 9 kilometres (walking uphill for 5 kilometres and another 3-4 kilometres on a flat path). The park is open from 7.00 a.m. – 2.00 p.m., but it will be closed to revive the condition of the forest during June to September of every year.
Interesting attractions in the park are as follows:
The route to Phu Kradueng is quite steep but there are rest spots called “Sam”, meaning an area where there is an emergence of the underground water. At each point, there are food and drinks provided.
Moreover, there are Pha Mak Duk, Pha Daeng, Pha Yiap Mek, Namtok Wang Kwang, Namtok Phen Phop Mai, Namtok Phon Phop, Namtok Phen Phop, Namtok Tham Yai, Namtok Than Sawan, Namtok Tham So Nuea, Namtok Tham So Tai, Sa Anodat, etc.
The admission fee is 400 Baht for an adult and 200 Baht for a child. A porter service is charged at 10 Baht a kilo. Tourists can rent a tent and accommodation at the office of the park at Tel. 0 4287 1333 or the Department of National Park, Wildlife and Flora in Bangkok at Tel. 0 2562 0760 or www.dnp.go.th.
To get there:
Amphoe Phu Ruea
Phu Ruea National Park (อุทยานแห่งชาติภูเรือ) is located in Tambon Nong Bua, Amphoe Phu Ruea and Amphoe Tha Li. Its northern boundary connects to the Lao People’s Democratic Republic where there are gigantic mountains with a large plain on their tops and complex pine trees. Its special characteristic is an overhanging cliff in the similar shape as a prow of a junk. Geographically, it is an undulating mountain range comprising sandstone and granite mountains. Fauna which can be widely seen are bear, barking deer, Asiatic wild dogs, Siamese firebacks, and Siamese big-headed turtles. Since Phu Ruea National Park is located on a high mountain, the climate at the park is cool throughout the year. It is also considered as the coolest national park of the country. It is especially cool during winter with the dewdrops at the top of the grass becoming frost. They are called in local language as “Mae Khaning”. The park covers an area of approximately 75,525 rai. The most appropriate time to travel is during October to March.
Interesting attractions in the national park are as follows:
Moreover, there are other interesting attractions such as Tham Hin Taek, Hin Khang Mo, Hin Wua Non, Hin Phan Khanmak, Hin Phra Siwa, Suan Hin Tao, Thung Hin Lek Fai. These rocks, deriving their names from their shapes, are located in the middle of the grass field. During the end of the rainy season to the beginning of the winter, there are plenty of tiny and admirable flowers scattered in this area.
Accommodation The national park provides accommodation for tourists. For further information, please contact and reserve in advance at the office of the national park at Tel. 0 4288 4144 or at the Department of National Park, Wildlife and Flora at Tel. 0 2562 0760 or www.dnp.go.th.
To get there From the centre of Mueang Loei, take Highway No. 203, the Loei – Phu Ruea route for approximately 54 kilometres and turn right at Km. 49-50 at the Phu Ruea District Office and go further for approximately 4 kilometres. It can be accessible by car and continue with the 700-metre walking trail to the summit of the mountain.
Amphoe Dan Sai
Phrathat Si Song Rak (พระธาตุศรีสองรัก) is situated on the bank of the Man River, approximately 1 kilometre from Amphoe Dan Sai or 83 kilometres from the centre of the province. Its architecture is in the Lan Chang style. Phrathat, a stupa containing the Buddha’s relics, is 19.19 metres high, 10.89 metres wide with a square base of 12 redented corners. The stupa is in an “angular lotus” shape similar to Phrathat Phanom, Phrathat Luang (Vientiane), Phrathat Si Khotrabong (Khammoun Province) and many others along the Mekong River. Phrathat Si Song Rak was constructed in 1563 and completed in 1566 as a memorial of the assistance between the Kingdom of Ayutthaya (during the reign of King Chakkraphat) and the Kingdom of Lan Chang (Vientiane) during the reign of King Chaiyachetthathirat. Moreover, within the compound of the temple is enshrined a Buddha image canopied by a seven-headed Naga in the Tibetan style of art. On the full moon day in the 6th lunar month, the Dan Sai people or “Luk Phueng Luk Thian” will organise a ceremony celebrating Phrathat Si Song Rak by bringing Ton Phueng, (a bamboo framework in a castle shape with a width of 60 centimetres and a height of a bit over 60 centimetres, covered with engraved banana stalk and decorated with “Dok Phueng”, flowers made of round and thin pieces of sun-heated wax, as well as, attached with the Globe Amaranth or small pieces of Turmeric to represent the colourful pollen). Moreover, Thian Wian Hua (a stick of candle rolled to be long enough to wrap around one’s head) is also presented to Phrathat. It is considered as a holy tradition taking place every year from the end of April to May.
To get there From the centre of Amphoe Mueang Loei, take Highway No. 203, the Loei - Phu Ruea route and turn into Highway No. 2013 for a further 15 kilometres to Amphoe Dan Sai. Then, turn right into Highway No. 2113 for a further 1 kilometre.
Practices on Phrathat Si Song Rak are as follows:
(Note: Before conducting any ceremonies relating to Phrathat, please request for advice in advance from the guardian officers.)
Wat Neramit Wipatsana (วัดเนรมิตวิปัสสนา) is located on a hillside near Phrathat Si Song Rak. Both the Ubosot and Chedi are beautifully constructed of laterite. The large Ubosot is interiorly decorated in resemblance to the great temples of Bangkok. Moreover, a replica of Phra Phutthachinnarat is enshrined as the main image. There are also splendid mural paintings around the interior. For further information, please contact Tel. 0 4289 1094.
Phi Ta Khon Museum (พิพิธภัณฑ์บ้านผีตาโขน) is situated within the compound of Wat Phon Chai, 82 kilometres from Amphoe Mueang. It is an educational attraction for those interested in the Bun Luang and Phi Ta Khon Festivals. The museum’s buildings are made of wood displaying the background of Dan Sai town, Phi Ta Khon exhibition, demonstration of Phi Ta Khon mask-making and various souvenirs. It is open daily from 9.00 a.m. – 5.00 p.m. Besides, there are an Ubosot reflecting the skills of local craftsmen, as well as, a replica of Phrathat Si Song Rak where Bun Phra Wet and other merit-making festivals, including Bun Luang Festival and Phi Ta Khon are organised. For further information, please contact the Dan Sai Non-formal Education Centre at Tel. 0 4289 1094.
Amphoe Na Haeo
Wat Pho Chai Na Phueng (วัดโพธิ์ชัยนาพึง) is situated at Ban Na Phueng, Tambon Na Phueng. The temple is assumed to have been constructed during the late period of the Ayutthaya Empire. Enshrined within the abbot’s cell is the Prachao Ong Saen Buddha image, an ancient image of the town for many generations. The image is sitting cross-legged with an oval face, a flame-like spire at the top of the image’s hair, and a cloth over the image’s shoulder made of gold, silver, and copper alloy. It is assumed to be the Chiang Saen style of art. Besides, within the compound of the Wihan or locally called Aram are mural paintings of the Buddha’s biography and local literature. The north side of the mural states that the paintings were made in 1852 during the reign of King Rama IV. At the outside of this same Ubosot are paintings which were later created in 1916. It can be considered as a very precious ancient monument and object of Loei province. The Fine Arts Department registered the temple as an important national ancient monument on 1 February, 1987. To get there Take the Loei – Dan Sai route for approximately 82 kilometres, turn right into Highway No. 2113 and go further along the Dan Sai – Na Haeo route for 23 kilometres.
Na Haeo National Park (อุทยานแห่งชาตินาแห้ว) covers a total area of 73,225 rai. Its geography comprises of undulating mountain ranges lining up from the north to the south. Most of the forests are dry evergreen forests mixed with deciduous trees. Along the high area are hill evergreen forests which are also a natural boundary between Thailand and the Lao People’s Democratic Republic. Fauna that can be seen are Sumatran serow, Asiatic wild dogs, hawks, and Siamese big-headed turtles.
Interesting attractions within the national park are as follows:
Besides, the park has organised 2 nature routes of 2 kilometres and 5 kilometres, respectively for tourists from the office of the national park to Phu Suan Sai. Each route will be led by a park officer.
Accommodation The national park provides accommodation, costing 2,000 Baht / 10-15 tourists, 3,000 Baht/ 30-40 tourists, tents costing 250 Baht / 3 persons. As for those who bring their own tent, it costs 30 Baht a person for the camping area. For further information, please contact the National Park Headquarters at Tel. 0 4281 9340 or the Department of National Park, Wildlife and Flora at Tel. 0 2561 4292-4, 0 2579 7223 ext: 724, 725 or www.dnp.go.th.
To get there From the centre of Mueang Loei, take Highway No. 203 for a distance of 68 kilometres. Turn right at Ban Khok Ngam Intersection and go along Highway No. 2031 for 12 kilometres. At Amphoe Dan Sai, turn right to Highway No. 2113 and proceed further for 32 kilometres to Amphoe Na Haeo. From Amphoe Na Haeo, go further for 4 kilometres to Ban Mueang Phrae and turn left along Highway No. 1268, passing Tambon Saeng Pha and turn right at the crossroad on Highway No. 1268 again at Km. 17. Go further for 3 kilometres, and tourists will reach the office of the national park.
Amphoe Tha Li
Phrathat Satcha (พระธาตุสัจจะ) is situated within the compound of Wat Lat Pu Song Tham, Ban Tha Li, Tambon Tha Li. The pagoda is similar to Phrathat Phanom. Components of Phrathat Satcha comprise a base of blooming lotus with 3 tiers of petals with a height of approximately 1 metre around it. The pagoda is in the middle with a height of 33 metres, constructed to extend the fortune of Phrathat Phanom which collapsed in the past, as well as, to continually be a revered place of worship. To get there: Take Highway No. 201 and turn left into Highway No. 2115, the Tha Li – Ahi route. It is located approximately 2 kilometres from the Tha Li District Office.
The Thai-Lao Friendship Bridge across the Hueang River (สะพานมิตรภาพน้ำเหืองไทย-ลาว) is situated at Ban Na Kraseng. It is a bridge crossing the Hueang River and connecting between Thailand and the Lao People’s Democratic Republic. From this bridge, visitors can pass through Chaiya Buri to the World Heritage Town of Luang Phrabang, a distance of 363 kilometres. Otherwise, visitors can cross the bridge to travel and purchase duty-free products at the shops on the Lao PDR side. To get there: Take the Loei – Tha Li route, a distance of 47 kilometres. At the centre of the district, turn right for approximately 2 kilometres to Phrathat Satcha and turn right for approximately 7 kilometres.
Crossing the Border at the Thai-Lao Friendship Bridge across the Heung River, please contact the Tha Li District Office at Tel. 0 4288 9359 and the Tha Li Immigration Checkpoint at Tel. 0 4288 9208.
Loei Turkey Farm (ฟาร์มไก่งวงเมืองเลย) is at Ban Ko Rai Yai, Tambon Siao. It belongs to Mr. Sathit Phaksiphaeng, the Vice Governor of Loei, who encourages local farmers to raise turkeys for their supplementary income as well as, be a tourism promotion by using a slogan “Think of Turkeys,
Think of Mueang Loei”. There are thousands of turkeys in the farm. Tourists can witness the beautiful spread of turkeys’ tail feathers everyday from 8.30 – 12.00 a.m. For further information, please contact Tel. 0 4281 3046.
Loei Plant and Plant Production Materials Technical Service Centre 2, Loei Province (Phu Ruea Highland Agricultural Experiment Station) (ศูนย์บริการวิชาการด้านพืชและปัจจัยการผลิตเลย 2 จังหวัดเลย (สถานีทดลองเกษตรที่สูงภูเรือ)) is located at Tambon Pla Ba. It is an organisation responsible for academic research and study on temperate flowers and fruits, as well as, local horticulture, suitable for the climate and the ecological system such as Salvia field, Agarwood plots, fragrant plant garden in honour of H.M. the King, strawberry plots, and potted plant greenhouse. Then, the outcome of the research and study will be publicised among farmers and interested people. It is open daily from 8.00 a.m. – 4.00 p.m. Tourists who would like to see orchards and temperate plants should visit during September-April. Moreover, there is accommodation and camping area provided. For further information, please contact Tel. 0 4289 1199.
Phu Ruea Wanothayan Vineyard or Chateau de Loei (สวนองุ่นภูเรือวโนทยาน หรือ ชาโต้ เดอ เลย) Take the Mueang Loei – Phu Ruea – Dan Sai route for a distance of approximately 65 kilometres. It is the biggest vineyard of Thailand, covering a planting area of thousands of rai. There are grapes for both fresh consumption and those for wine. Tourists can drive into the vineyard where there is a shop selling fresh grapes, organic vegetables, wine of Chateau de Loei, and Victory brandy. It is open from 8.00 a.m. – 4.30 p.m. If tourists are interested in visiting the Chateau de Loei Winery, please contact Tel. 0 4289 1970 for further information.
Ban Nong Bong Temperate Flowers Market (ตลาดดอกไม้เมืองหนาวบ้านหนองบง) is a market place offering various kinds of temperate flowers planted by farmers. Visitors can admire the beauty of the flowers, as well as, purchase them as souvenirs home. For further information, please contact Tel. 0 4289 9338. To get there: Take Highway No. 203, the Loei – Phu Ruea route, approximately 47 kilometres from the centre of the town ( 3 kilometres prior to Amphoe Phu Ruea).
Khamnuan Nursery (คำนวนเนิร์สเซอร์รี่) is 3 kilometres from Amphoe Phu Ruea. It is an agrotourism attraction where there are various temperate flowers, as well as, decorative plants especially the hanging Petunia, and Poinsettia. Visitors can admire the beauty of plants and purchase them as souvenirs home. Contact Tel. 0 4289 9275. To get there: Take Highway No. 203 (Phu Ruea – Dan Sai), 47 kilometres from the centre of Amphoe Mueang.
Sanya Farm (ไร่สัณยา) is situated in Ban Kaeng Laen. This farm grows Shiitake mushrooms throughout the year and sells them to the local and nearby areas. Tourists can visit and purchase products from the farm home. It is open from 8.00 a.m. – 5.00 p.m. Moreover, there is accommodation provided. For further information, please contact Tel. 08 1954 3573, 08 1975 7623. To get there: Take Highway No. 203, Phu Ruea – Dan Sai, located 14 kilometres from Amphoe Phu Ruea.
TSA Co., Ltd. (บริษัท ที เอส เอ จำกัด) is situated at Ban Kok Pho. It produces flowers, decorative plants and various kinds of vegetables, grown by the seedling process for sale. Within the compound of the area, visitors can admire a variety of temperate flowers in the plot. For further information, please contact Tel. 0 4289 1408. To get there: Take Highway No. 203, the Phu Ruea – Dan Sai route, 7 kilometres from the centre of Amphoe Phu Ruea and turn right for approximately 1 kilometre.
Kamlang-ek Golf Course (สนามกอล์ฟกำลังเอก) Loei-Chiang Khan Road. Tel. 0 4281 1939 ext: 2189. Par 3 Driving Range (สนามไดร์กอล์ฟ พาร์ 3) Loei-Chiang Khan Road (Soi Makham Wan). Tel. 0 4283 5351. Mueang Loei Drive Golf (เมืองเลยไดร์กอล์ฟ) Ban Fak Na. Pho To Tho Driving Range (สนามไดร์กอล์ฟ พ.ต.ท.) 1718 Maliwan Road (located near the airport).
Local Products and Souvenirs
Amphoe Mueang Loei
Amphoe Chiang Khan
Amphoe Pak Chom
Amphoe Wang Saphung
Amphoe Phu Luang
King Amphoe Nong Hin
======Amphoe Phu Kradueng
Amphoe Phu Ruea
Amphoe Dan Sai
Amphoe Na Haeo
King Amphoe Nong Hin
Amphoe Mueang Loei
Amphoe Phu Ruea
Amphoe Dan Sai
Amphoe Wang Saphung
Amphoe Chiang Khan
King Amphoe Nong Hin