I removed the following copyvio . If the contributor is able to release it under Wikitravel:Copyleft then it needs to be edited to fit our Wikitravel:Manual of style. Thanks. Maj 15:06, 28 April 2007 (EDT)
Frigate The world's longest wooden ship is resting it's enormous keel solidly on concrete, within meters of the sea, where it once fought a battle against the Austro-Prussian fleet, on behalf of King Fredrik the 7th., in 1864. Otherwise, it's 25 year active life as a commissioned battle frigate of the Royal Danish Navy, the "Jylland" was mostly used to ferry royal parties throughout the Kingdom, including Greenland, and European capitals. In 1886 it made it's last of 5 cruises across the Atlantic to the Danish West indian islands of St.Thomas, St.Croix and St.John, at which time it had been rebuilt to become a Royal Vessel and the 15 ton canon in the royal dining room was removed, having been part of the total compliment of 30 canons on board.
From 1925, the once mighty pride of Denmark, had a varied life, serving variously as accommodation for students and barracks for soldiers. By 1974 it had gone through no less then five preservation committee's, the last of which, had it towed across Kattegat to Ebeltoft, where it sat rotting further until 1984. The last trip was into a drydock built for it on the waterfront of town and total restoration began in earnest, thank's to a nationwide fund-raising campaign and a philanthropic kick of shipping magnate A.P. Møller's Mærsk Line.
It was a gargantuan, task employing the best tradespeople in the country for five years and the result is a unique monument to a proud seafaring nation. The multi million dollar job practically handbuild all woodwork, including righting the warped keel with a technically challenging method. The Jylland now stands in all it's 3-master glory as a part of a major marine complex along the waterfront which is part of Ebeltoft city center, and includes other vessels of historic value. A major workshop is now being set up next to the Frigate to renovate old wood ships.
The 675 year old city was not always a touristic destination, except for a few hundred people who came from Copenhagen and Aarhus in the summer season, staying in cottages along the coast. They found the quaint ways of the "Molbo's", ( danish equivalent of Newfies ), and the half-timbered houses embellished by hollyhock roses along cobblestoned streets, to their liking. Indeed, it's within living memory that a Town crier went around bellowing the news of the day. Now people come from afar to see the frigate and the tiny perfect city hall from 1789, now a museum complete with the original dungeon, reached through a trap door in the floor of the reception hall.
City Hall Many come year round to get married in the historic city hall and have pictures taken with the uniformed night watchmen, who commence their evening walk-around at sundown, with lanterns and cat'o'nine tails, from the old stone steps, flanked by canons. Until Jylland's resurrection ceremony in 1995, the spired city hall was the City hallmark, but other reasons attracted visitors, one being the year round exhibitions of modern Glass Art, located in the old custom house, but several glass artists have set up studio's in town and have their own exhibitions. Another "must see" site is Farvergaarden (the old dye-works) with its original courtyard buildings and lovely garden.
Ebeltoft is not only seeped in history, but now is the location of The European School of Film which opened a few years ago and housed in the hills just behind town. Unique restaurants abound in town, as well outside, in the hills of "Molboland".
In town look for "The Crooked Inn" where you can eat in the courtyard where 50 years ago, huge horses were readied for work in fields outside town and a large farm family lived in the four winged half-timbered stuccoed building. Out of town head for Femmøller (Five Mills) and the Overmøllen Eatery where they farm their own trouts and cook them to perfection.
While there, drive / bike / hike into the hills of Mols to the Natural Laboratory operated by University of Aarhus and the Ministry of the Environment and used as a field laboratory by scientists and students from universities and institutes of higher learning. Here is an ongoing research program in natural land rejuvenation, with interaction of animals, fauna, insects, birds, promoting natural fertilization. Here are long-haired Iceland sheep and small dark brown Galloway cattle used in grazing research year round, by the Mols Laboratory. Also in this area is Three Hills holding three large Bronze age burial mounds of which there are 14 in the area.
Mols Bjerge (the Hills of Mols) area is currently being considered as a National Park, by the Danish Government.Danetour 13:57, 28 April 2007 (EDT)]]