Earth : Europe : Central Europe : Poland : Lesser Poland : Lesser Poland Voivodeship : Lesser Poland Lowland : Siemiechów
It is an old and large village area wise (Second oldest village in the commune after Brzozowa, with Gromnik placing third), forming a valley between two low mountain ranges. The precise description of these mountain ranges are the "Pogórze Ciężkowickie-Rożnowskie" (Highlands of Ciężkowice-Rożnów)mountains, which forms a park of the same name. Nature abounds with many deer, fox, and a large variety of rare birds. A diversified mix of trees make up the forests with Birch often numerous, and there is Oak, Pine and much more.
Long ago, the Tatars, on their way to Tuchów (22 kilometers North-East of Siemiechów) during the Tatar invasion of the year 1241, murdered 7 monks ("siedem mnichów") among other people and from this was the origin of the name "Siedmichów", later changed to "Siemiechów". The village was officially established on September 29, 1326 by King Władysław Lokietek "na surowym korzeniu" ("from fresh roots" or "from the ground up") under German law and equally began to form a parish on "dwoma łanami ziemi" ("2 łanow of land). In the village are two parish churches and public school. The first mention of the existence of a parish was in the year 1349. The school was established before the year 1596.
According to historian Jan Długosz (L. B., III, 216), the village of 'Szemychów' had a parish at an early time and belonged to the Abbey of Tyniec (near Kraków) by virtue of privilege of King Kazimierz Wielk in the year 1354, however, Jan Spytek of Melsztyn took away the monastery by force, shortly before the battle of Worskłą in the year 1398, in which he then died "...and fair justice was served for what was taken, that which belonged to somebody else...". Later, in his second reference (II, 276) Długosz quietly mentions that Siemiechów belongs to the Abbey of Tyniec.
In the year 1581, in 'Sziemichow' (Pawinśki, Małopolskie, 118) there was a 'sołtys' (village administrator) belonging to Siemiechów, who counted in the village: 1 wealthy farmer owning 25 'łanow' of land, 10 small farms without fields, 3 bailiffs who own cattle, 8 bailiffs without cattle, 4 craftsmen, and the village administrator who owns 1 1/2 'łana' of land.
The village boundries are: to the West is Faściszowa, to the East is Gromnik, to the South is Brzozowa, and to the North along a large beech forest is Łubinka.
Located in the former province of Krakowskie, district Biecki, according to records of the treasury from the year 1770 it was noted that the village of Siemiechów in the province and 3 'folwark' (granges), during that time, was owned by Ignacy Krasiński, and he paid an annual military tax of 1266 złp. / 17 gr., and a winter military tax of 458 złp. / 12 gr. Ignacy, the third son of Jan (castellan of Wizna, near Łomza), and Ewa Trojanowska, brother of Adam (a bishop), and Michał Hieronim (great-grandfather of world famous Polish poet, Count Zygmunt Krasiński). In the year 1769, he received governorship of Siemiechów, in the district of Biecz, from his first wife, Maryanna Krasińska Jordanów (kancl. 40 f. 14). Due to the Office of Assessments court assessors, he resigned in the year 1788 (M. 301 f. 46). He became a bachelor (got divorced) from the order of St. Stanisław which he received in the year 1786. The heir of the Oblas of Radom, he got married for the second time in the year 1774 to Agnieszka Potkańska, castellan of Radom, and had a daughter, Anna, who's first marriage was to Kazimierz Walicki, governor of Sochaczew, and second marriage to Mikołaj of Oplów Bronikowski, general major in the royal military, in which he wrote his life testimony in the year 1795 (DW. 110 f. 1299 i 111 f. 826). Amelia, one daughter of Bronikowski, got married to Count Roman Załuski. During the period of the ruling Austrian government in the year 1772, the adminstration stole the entire estate from Kraśinski and then forced him to buy it back from them in the year 1789 at a very high price.
Daily trains from Kraków and Tarnów connect to the train station (PKP) in the gmina (commune) Gromnik, only 6 km East. Daily buses (PKS) connect Kraków to nearby Zakliczyn, only 6 km west, and between Tarnów and Gromnik with the village's 3 bus stops.
By foot, car, bicycle, motorcycle, or call for Taxi service located in Zakliczyn.
Beautiful panoramas of the Carpathian foothills. Excellent views from the ski area "Jurasówka" and the "Biała Brzoza" ("White Birch") agrotourism center.
Historical monuments include: 16th century Gothic wooden Roman Catholic church "The Virgin Mary of Candles" (Matki Boskiej Gromnicznej) built before the year 1470, with an old 19th century Late Baroque brick Chapel located next to it. It was rebuilt in the year 1585 from contributions donated by 'Jan of Mstowa'. The church is of hand-made construction, contains one nave, and in a closed trilateral presbytery. Adjacent to it on the southern side is the Late Baroque brick chapel, square with rounded angles, the interior set with a flat ceiling, on the entrance is a gothic carpenter's portal in "oślimi grzbietami" (curved arch style), and was built in the year 1800. Inside the church, most of the furnishings came from the 15th - 17th century period, which includes: a statue of the 'Virgin Mary' from the year 1480, a stone font containing the coat of arms of Pilawa and Gierałt from the 15th century, a 15th century crucifix, two monumental bells from the 16th century built in the workshop of Szymon Haubicz in Brno, and old fixtures and locks. The interior polychrome walls of the 16th/17th century, were painted by Łukasz Wadowski in the year 1643, and in the year 1726, the furnishings of the 16th - 18th centuries. The Church later underwent prime restoration in the years 1955 - 1956. The newer brick Roman Catholic church "Offering in the Temple and Ascension of Our Lord Jesus" (Ofiarowania w Świątyni i Wniebowstąpienia Pana Jezusa) designed in the elegant Neorenaissance style with onion shaped domes built from 1929-1953. There are three World War I military cemeteries, numerous roadside chapels, and a handsome ancient stone figure dating back from the 19th century.
There are Castle ruins in the village of Melsztyn, which towers above the mighty Dunajec river. In Lusławice is the famous manor house owned by Mr. Krzysztof Penderecki, world famous Polish composer and in Kąsna Dolna is the former manor house of Ignacy Paderewski, now a museum and concert hall.
Beautiful area to go camping, hiking, bird watching, mountain biking, motorcycling, ATVing, horse riding, mushroom and berry picking, and skiing. Every year is the annual parish and harvest festivals, which comprise of music, dancing, folk culture, and delicious food and drink.
There are two local variety stores in the village, and a larger supermarket and many other stores in Zakliczyn.
At "Biała Brzoza" agrotourism center, or in Zakliczyn.
Cafe at agrotourism center Biała Brzoza opening up in the Spring of 2008, and at Ski area "Jurasówka" drink bar.
Inexpensive private rooms available at agrotourism center "Biała Brzoza".
Dance club will open up at agrotourism center "Biała Brzoza", and many clubs exist in almost all medium sized towns surrounding the village. The nightlife in this region varies, depending on one's taste. There are often art displays and concerts of classical music to be found around the area for those with more artistic and cultural cravings.