Paranaguá means "big round sea" in the Tupi-Guarani language, a reference to the wide bay that affords the city optimal conditions to function as an important port. The city was originally founded somewhere around 1550 on the island of Cotinga, and later expanded onto the mainland. The city preserves many of the oldest colonial remnants in Paraná. It also serves as a convenient departure point for Ilha do Mel.
Serra Verde Express, . On most days the scenic train from Curitiba stops only at Morretes but on Sundays it comes all the way to Paranaguá. The trains departs from Curitiba at 8:15AM and arrives in Paranaguá at 1:15PM. $R39.
Beach road. The road along the beach downtown holds the highest concentration of colonial remnants, including the Elfrida Lobo House, the Cecy House, the Monsenhor Celso House, and the former Customs House.edit
Church of Nossa Senhora das Mercês (Igreja de Nossa Senhora das Mercês), (on the island of Cotinga). Originally constructed in 1677 and then demolished 22 years later, this hilltop church was reconstructed in 1955. 365 steps leading up the the church offer a charming view of the city and the sea.edit
Church of Nossa Senhora do Rosário (Igreja de Nossa Senhora do Rosário), Largo Monsenhor Celso - Centro. Built by slaves in 1578, it was the first church in the state.edit
Church of São Benedito (Igreja de São Benedito), Rua Conselheiro Sinimbú - Centro. Built by slaves between 1600 and 1650.edit
Mathias Böhn Palace (Palácio Mathias Böhn). Built in the late 18th century and renovated in the late 19th.edit
Museum of the Historical and Geographic Institute of Paranaguá (Museu do Instituto Histórico e Geográfico de Paranaguá), Rua XV de Novembro - Centro. Houses a collection of weapons, instruments, furniture, and other items dating from the 17th and 18th century.edit
Old Fountain (Fonte Velha). Built in the 17th century to furnish water to the people, this fountain is the among the oldest constructions in the city.edit
Padroeira do Paraná Sanctuary (Santuário da Padroeira do Paraná), Praça Padre Tomás - Rocio. Finished in 1813.edit
Paranaguá Archeological and Ethnological Museum (Museu de Arqueologia e Etnologia de Paranaguá). Installed in a former Jesuit college completed in 1755, this museum has a collection of archeological finds and items from indigenous peoples of the area.edit
Visconde de Nácar Palace (Palácio Visconde de Nácar). Former governor's palace, constructed around 1840.edit
Mercado do Artesanato (Handicraft Market), Rua General Carneiro, no number, ☎ 41 3423-2155. Mon-Sat 9AM-6PM, Sun 9AM-12PM. edit
Mercado Municipal Basílio Abud, Rua João Estevão 18, ☎ 41 3420-2924. Mon-Sat 7AM-6PM, Sun 7AM-12PM. A typical Brazilian municipal market with food items, handicrafts, household items, and a whole range of other items.edit
Guaraqueçaba is home to a recently created reserve for the Atlantic Forest which has been destroyed along most of the southern half of Brasil's coast. It is easier to get to Guaraquecaba from Paranaguá by boat than to drive there from Curitiba.