Founded in 1911 by builders of Amur Railway on the curve of Trans-Siberian Railway it derives its name from "obluchok", a front plank of Russian sledge, where the coach usually sits. The town is surrounded by mountains from three sides that makes the climate less harsh. The river Hingan divides the town in two uneven parts.
By train or by minibus from Birobidzhan.
A couple of summer cafes and a Soviet-style eatery for railwaymen, where tourists also can enter.
There is a couple of hotels.