Montfort-sur-Meu is a commune in the department of Ille-et-Vilaine in Brittany. It is in the North West of France. It is at 20 Km from Rennes and is surrounded by Iffendic, Bédée, La Nouaye, Breteil, Pleumeleuc, Talensac, Saint-Gonlay.
It is noted as the birthplace of the Roman Catholic Saint Louis de Montfort, who is considered to be the pioneer of the field of Mariology. The saint's birthplace is at 15, Rue de la Saulnerie. It is now jointly owned by the three Montfortian congregations he formed: the Community of the Holy Spirit, the Daughters of Wisdom and the Brothers of Saint Gabriel. It is the site of frequent "Montfortian pilgrimages" to Montfort-sur-Meu.
Take the road RN24 (Rennes / Vannes-Lorient) and the exit Talensac-Montfort.
The closest airport is in Rennes.
Railway station of Montfort-sur-Meu, direct lines from Rennes.
Illenoo Bus, line 2 : Breteil, Iffendic, La Nouaye, Montfort-sur-Meu, departing from the railway station of Rennes.
It is dedicated to Saint Louis-Marie Grignion de Montfort and is dated XIXth century.
In the beginning of the XVIIIth century, when Louis-Marie Grignion de Montfort settled in Saint-Lazare, he restored the chapel.
Built in 1152 by Guillaume I of Montfort, the church has been consecrated in 1156. From the abbey of Saint-Jacques de Montfort, rebuilt during the XIVth century, is only left the former abbey church with its gate dated from the XIVth century, classified as a Historical Monument. In 1976, a fire destroyed the higher part of the walls of the church but also the roof and the inside of the buildings of the XVIIth century.
The actual chapel was built to replace the former parish church of Saint-Jean, destroyed in 1851.
To protect the marches of Brittany, the Dukes led a politic of fortification of the big towns. In 1376, Raoul VII got an authorisation to transform the castle into a defensive fortress. Around the castle, an important fortification was built with towers and 3 doors. The Tower of Papegaut, the Tower of Pas d'Âne, the Tower of Capitaine and parts of the former fortifications can still be found today. These rampart vestiges are classified as Historical Monuments since the 15th of December 1926.
Papegaut Tower is dated XIVth century. It is the best preserved element from the medieval town of Montfort-Sur-Meu and the most representative. The Tower is known as "Papegaut" because of a contest for archers and crossbowmen in which the target was a multicoloured bird. During the XIXth and the XXth century, the Tower became a prison. Since 1984, it houses the ecomuseum of the district of Montfort. The Tower is classified as a Historical Monument by the decree of the 5th of November 1926.
During the XVIIIth century, this building was a hotel for the Juguet family, a family of notables who settled in 1777. In 1857, the subprefecture settled at this place until it was cut in 1926. During the XXth century, the hospital built an annexe. In 2002, it's Montfort Communauté who bought the building and restored it.
In 1914 started the building of a municipal hall which finished after the war. The building also housed the first cinema of the town which could gather 400 people. Nowadays, the building is a cultural centre which offers many shows during the year.
The former urban development of Montfort left traces in the building of houses. Today, we can find dozens of houses which were built between 1550 and 1650. They are located in the oldest streets of the town. The native house of Louis-Marie Grignion de Montfort can also be found in one of these streets.
An old mill from the year 1884 is in the street called "Rue du 11 juin 1977". At the time, it was also equipped with a footbridge called "planks", which was crossing the Meu river and was linking another street (Mills street).
The building is probably from the end of the XIXth century. In the lower part were cubicles for public baths and a place reserved for boilers. The first floor, protected by wooden laths was used to dry clothes washed by washerwomen.
Today, the town hall is located in the former Ursuline convent, who settled in 1639.
In 1799, Montfort became the headquarters of a subprefecture and of a courthouse. It was built between 1832 and 1834. The difference between the old houses from the medieval town and the courthouse show the break between the middle-class elit and the former power of aristocrats.
It stretches over a few hundred hectares. Several marked paths allow going across this wooden limestone, by foot, by horse and for some people, by bike.
The visit with a GPS guide enables to visit Montfort-sur-Meu through an interactive walk. The tool allows to visit on one's own, in family or in a small group.
In the heart of the district of Montfort, it enables the crossing of diversified natural places (humid meadow, landscape parkland, shores, pond, sunken lanes, hedged farmlands, woods).
This path enables to understand the evolution and the development of the town from the Middle Ages to nowadays.
The pedestrian circuit enables to discover the built heritage of Montfort-sur-Meu.
The medieval circuit allows to discover the remains of the fortifications and to understand how Montfort used to work during the Middle Ages.
The bike circuit allows to discover the countryside of the district of Montfort, crossing Montfort-sur-Meu, Iffendic and Saint-Gonlay. This itinerary offers panoramic views on the Meu river valley.
In Papegaut Tower, the ecomuseum invits you to discover the culture of the district where history and legends are very close. Different permanent exhibitions are offered (the duck legend, the architecture of the district of Brocéliande, Montfort during the Middle Ages, the traditional suit from the XIXth and XXth century, games about nature).
The district offers many local products: