Yoshino river (right) and Anabuki river in Mima, Tokushima.
Mima city was founded on March 1, 2005, when Mima District was divided into the city of Mima and Mima District. The towns of Mima, Anabuki, Waki, and the village of Koyadaira, became part of the city of Mima, while the towns of Handa, Sadamitsu, and the village of Ichiu merged to form the town of Tsurugi, part of Mima District. As of 2009, the city has an estimated population of 32,844 and a population density of 89.401 persons per km². The total area is 367.38 km², about 20.1% of which is inhabitable land.
There are two small airports near Mima city. From Tokushima Airport, travelers can take the bus to Tokushima Station. From there, travelers can get on the Tokushima line (徳島線 Tokushima-sen). Takamatsu Airport, can be accessed from Mima by Route 193. From Mima City Hall, it takes approximately 40 minutes by car. The largest international airport in the vincinity is Kansai International Airport in Osaka (2 3/4 hours from Tokushima city, ¥4000 — cheaper if you purchase a round trip ticket).
There are three train stations in Mima city along the Tokushima line. These are Anabuki Station (穴吹駅 Anabuki-eki), Oshima Station (小島駅 Oshima-eki) and Sadamitsu Station (貞光駅 Sadamitsu-eki). From Tokushima Station it takes a little over one hour to travel to Anabuki Station, and costs ￥830 (for adults). There is also a limited express train that stops at Anabuki Station. The limited express will take around 40 minutes to get to Tokushima Station, and costs ￥2270.
There are multiple busses that travel to or through Mima.
The Dream Kochi Bus (ドリーム高知号 Doriimu Kōchi Gō) . This overnight bus runs between Kochi city and Tokyo, and stops in Mima at Wakimachi busstation (脇町BS). It takes around 9 hours to travel from Mima to Shinjuku. Reservations are necessary. Prices differ depending on how long in advance you make reservations (reservations can be made up to one month in advance). Reservations can be made online, or by phone (JR Shikoku Bus Kochi Reservation Center, 088-866-2489, open from 8:00 until 19：00), although both are in Japanese.
From/to Kyoto, Kobe, Osaka
The Kochi Express (高知エクスプレス号 Kōchi Ekusupuresu Gō). 
The EDDY Osaka Line (EDDY大阪線 EDDY Ōsaka-sen) and the EDDY Kobe Line (EDDY神戸線 EDDY Kōbe-sen).
The Yoshinogawa Express (吉野川エクスプレス Yoshinogawa Ekusupuresu). 
The Kochi Tokushima Express (高知徳島エクスプレス Kōchi Tokushima Ekusupuresu). 
Takamatsu line (高松線 Takamatsu-sen) bus . There are only two busses in either direction per day.
Route 192 (国道192号 Kokudō 192 gō) connects Mima to Tokushima, while route 193 connects Mima to Takamatsu. There is an interchange for the Tokushima Expressway (徳島自動車道 Tokushima jidōsha dō) near Wakimachi.
Although the city is rather spread out, some places can be visited by foot. The Udatsu Townscape  is about 4 kilometers from Anabuki Station. Tera-machi , the temple district, is about a half an hour walk from Sadamitsu Station.
Udatsu Townscape (うだつの町並み Udatsu no machi-nami), . Straight from the Edo and Meiji Eras, Udatsu Townscape is a symbol of Wakimachi’s old days. Characteristic of the buildings are the presence of “Udatsu,” extensions of the roof that served as protection from the spread of fires. Udatsu were also symbols of fortune, and continue to proclaim the prosperity of the merchants even today. The charm of the old town continues to excite nostalgia, as the broadcast industry often features it in television dramas and commercials. The national government recognized Udatsu Street as an “Important Preservation District for Groups of Historic Buildings” in December 1988. No entrance fee. Cars can be parked at the Ai Rando Udatsu (藍ランドうだつ), near the Udatsu street. Parking is free, and the parking lot is opened from 09:00 until 17:00. A Japanese map of the area can be found here: . edit
Mima City Tourism Resource Center (美馬市観光文化資料館 Mima-shi kankō bunka shiryōkan), 美馬市脇町大字脇町92, ☎ (0883) 53-8599, . Every day from 09:00 until 17:00. The tourism center in the Udatsu area. You can go here for tours and bycicle renting. There is one English volunteer guide, so if you want to take the English tour, it is recommended you make reservations in advance. You can make reservations through the Mima City Tourism Association (美馬市観光協会 Mima-shi kankō kyōkai) ((0883)53-8599). edit
Yoshida residence (藍商佐直 吉田家住宅 ''Aishō Sanao Yoshida-ke Jūtaku''), ☎ (0883) 53-0960, . Every day from 09:00 until 17:30. The residence of the Yoshida family. This family traded in indigo (藍 ai), a product for which the region was famous. It was constructed in 1792 by Sagawaya Naoei (佐川屋直兵衛), who changed his name to Yoshida Naoei. Next to the Yoshida residence is the aigura (藍蔵), a building which was used by the Yoshida family to store indigo. Nowadays the first floor is a gift shop, and the second floor is a cafe. Yoshida residence: ￥500 (adults), ￥250 (children). Includes entry to the Wakimachi Theater. edit
Wakimachi Theater (脇町劇場 ''Wakimachi gekijō''), Wakimachi, ōaza-Inoshiri, Aza-Nishibu 140−1, ☎ 0883-52-3807, . 09:00-17:00. Closed on tuesdays and from December 27-January 1. Originally constructed in 1934, Wakimachi Theater was a playhouse for Kabuki, Rōkyoku (storytelling accompanied with Shamisen music), and other such entertainment. In the post-WWII era, it became a movie theater, and was then closed in 1995. It was scheduled for demolition, but after Shōchiku Films decided to used it as a location in their famous film, “The Man Who Catches Rainbows,” it was brought back into the limelight. The theater is now also known as the Odeon-za (Odeon theater), which was its name in the movie. The theater underwent restoration in 1999. ￥200 (adults). Discount for groups of 15 or bigger. Prices may differ when there is a performance. Also see the Yoshida residence for combination tickets. edit
The Old Nagaoka Family Residence
Former Nagaoka residence (旧長岡家住宅 ''Kyū Nagaoka-ke Jūtaku''), Wakimachi, ōaza-Inoshiri, Aza-Nishiueno 34 , ☎ 0883-63-2177 (Mima city Board of Education), . 09:00-17:00. Closed on mondays and from December 28-January 4. The former Nagaoka residence(旧長岡家住宅 Kyū Nagaoka-ke Jūtaku) was originally located at the foot of the southern slopes of the Sanuki mountains(讃岐山脈 Sanuki Sanmyaku). In 1976 the residence was awarded the status of 'Important Cultural Property' (国指定重要文化財 Kuni-shitei Jyūyōbunkazai). In 1979 it was disassembled and reassabled in the Wakimachi area. The house is 12 meters long and 6,6 meters wide. It has a Yosemune-style (寄棟造り Yosemune-tsukuri) thatched roof. The outside walls aren't made from the usual cedar tree bark or wooden planks, but from mud and earth. This is characteristic for houses on the foot of the southern slopes of the Sanuki mountains (as there is very little rainfall here). edit
De Rijke Dam (デ・レイケ砂防ダム, ''De-Reike Sabō-damu''), Wakimachi, ōaza-Kitashō, Aza-Shibatoko 91-3, . This anti-erosion dam, officially known as the Ōtani River Dam (大谷川堰堤 Ōtani-gawa-no-Entei) was built under the supervision of Dutch civil engineer Johannis de Rijke between 1886 and 1887. During the time in which De Rijke was active in Japan (1873-1903), several of these dams were built in the Tokushima region, but this is the only one that has been preserved. In 2002 the dam was awarded the status of Nationally Registered Tangible Cultural Property (国登録有形文化財 Kuni-tōroku Yūkei Bunkazai). edit
Anmitsukan ('あんみつ館'), Wakimachi, ōaza-Kitashō 551-2, ☎ 0120-53-1187, . 8:30 until 17:00. Closed Demeber 31-January 1. Flower exhibit/store. Mima is know for the cymbidium orchid, which blooms from late November to March. Free parking. edit
Saimyō Temple ('最明寺 ''Saimyō-ji'''), 徳島県美馬市脇町北庄1308, ☎ 0883-52-1594, . Temple number 3 on the Fudō Myō-ō 36 temple route (四国三十六不動霊場 Shikoku Sanjūroku Fudō Reijō).  This temple was constructed during the Tenpyō era (729-748). edit
Mima is home to multiple temples with long histories, showing that the region has been culturally advanced since earlier times. During the Kōfun period (3rd-6th century) large grave tombs were built here, and with the spread of Buddhism during the Hakuhō period (645-715), an enormous temple complex was established. The complex consisted of 7 main buildings, which was unheard of for the countryside. The tera-machi area, also known as Temple Town, is considered to be made up of the Anraku, Ganshō, Saikyō and Rinshō temples, located in the Mima-chō area, near the Sadamitsu train station.
A volunteer guide can be booked for a tour along the temples in tera-machi, in accordance with your personal schedule and preferences. You can contact the Anraku temple for bookings (0883-63-2015). Please note that bookings need to be made at least one week in advance.
Anraku Temple Red Gate
Anraku temple ('安楽寺''Anraku-ji'''), Mima-chō, Aza-Miyanishi 11, ☎ 0883-63-2155. This famous temple is the oldest and most influential Jōdo Shinshū (Pure Land Buddhism) temple of Shikoku. It is also known for its Nō theatre stage, where every year there are Nō and Kyōgen performances. Its vermillion-laquered, multistoried gate is known as the Red Gate (赤門 akamon), and is one of the five biggest gates in the prefecture. edit
Ganshō temple ('願勝寺 ''Ganshō-ji'''), Mima-chō, Aza-Ganshōji 8, ☎ 0883-63-2118. This temple was constructed during the Nara period (710-794), and is home to the oldest dry landscape garden in Shikoku, which is believed to be constructed during the Nanbokuchō period (1336-1392). It has been constructed with the samen stone arranging technique (石組 ishigumi) as was used in the Tenryū temple in Kyoto. edit
Saikyō temple ('西教寺 ''Saikyō-ji'''), Mima-chō, Aza-Miyanishi 13, ☎ 0883-63-2067. This Jōdo Shinshū temple was of a comparable status with the Anraku temple during the Hansei period (1603-1867). A notable sight is the more than 200 year old Hikaku Pine Tree, and one of the temples treasures is the over 750 year old statue of St. Shinran (the founder of the Jōdo Shinshū sect). edit
Rinshō temple ('林照寺 ''Rinshō-ji'''), Mima-chō, Aza-Miyanishi 17, ☎ 0883-63-2155. This Jōdo Shinshū temple was built at the end of the Muromachi period (1336-1573). Next to the Chinese-style front gate there is a famous, large gingko nut tree, which turns a beautiful golden-yellow in late autumn. edit
Jōnen temple ('常念寺 ''Jōnen-ji'''), Mima-chō, Aza-Muneshige 63, ☎ 0883-63-2125. This temple, also part of the Jōdo Shinshū sect, has a 1490 square meter garden in front of the main entrance, called the Garden of Peace (憩いの園 ikoi no en). edit
Izanami shrine ('伊射奈美神社 ''Izanami-jinja'''), . The Izanami shrine is one of the eleven shrines in in the Mima region that were listed in the Engi-shiki (延喜式). The Engi-shiki was completed in 927, during the Heian period (794-1185), and contained a summary of all the shrines throughout the country. There were seven shrines in the entire list that were named after Izanagi, but this shrine was the only one named after Izanami. It is thought that in many of the Izanagi shrines, Izanami was also worshipped, but the fact that the Izanami shrine is explicity named after the goddess might have some special significance to it. edit
Ikezuki park ('池月公園 ''Ikezuki kōen'''), . The park, located in the marshy paddy field region of the Mima-chō area, was named for the famous horse Ikezuki, which belonged to Shogun Yoritomo, and was ridden by commander Sasaki Takatsuna, during the Genpei War (1180-1185). The park features the gravesite of Ikezuki’s mother. edit
Aoki residence ('青木家住宅 ''Aoki-ke jūtaku'''), . The Aoki residence was constructed in 1915, as a retirement home for the Aoki family. It sits on a 3,590㎡ plot of land, which is surrounded by a 2 meter high plaster wall. On the premises are located the main living building (母屋 Omoya), a shed (納屋 Naya), and several two storied storage houses, made from both earth (土蔵 Dozō) and wood (倉庫 Sōko). The main building is approximately 20 meters long, and 11 meters wide, and features a tatami room, a reception, a bedroom and an earthen floor, among other things. The gabled roof has been built in irimoya-style (入母屋造り Irimoya-zukuri, which literally translates to ‘a roof with hips’). In 1998 the residence was awarded the status of nationally designated Tangible Cultural Property. edit
Dan tombs ('段の塚穴 ''Dan no Tsuka-ana'''), . Dan no tsuka-ana, or the Dan tombs, are two ancient burial mounds (古墳 Kofun) located on the point of a river terrace near Mima city’s temple town. Both burial mounds were constructed about 1400 years ago, in the late Kofun period (approximately 250-538). They were constructed 25 meters apart. The eastern, large burial mound is known as the Taiko-tsuka, or ‘Drum tomb’ (太鼓塚古墳 Taiko-tsuka kofun), and the smaller one is known as the Tana-tsuka, or ‘Shelf tomb’ (棚塚古墳 Tana-tsuka kofun). Especially the Taiko-tsuka is remarkable in its construction, making the tombs invaluable for historic research into the Kofun period. In 1942 the tombs were awarded the status of nationally designated Historic Landmarks (the first landmarks with this status in Tokushima). The archeological findings and relics from the tombs are on display at the the nearby Mima city folk museum (美馬市立郷土博物館 Mima-shiritsu kyōdo hakubutsukan), which is located on the premises of the Ganshō temple. edit
Honraku temple ('本楽寺 ''Honraku-ji'''), . The Honraku-ji was founded in 828 by the monk Sō-Keiun (僧恵運) (of the buddhist Shingon sect) as a place of meditation, and was initially known as the Rengesan Honraku Tempel (蓮華山本楽時 Rengesan Honraku-ji). In 1131, the restored temple was reopened by the monk Sō-Yūjun (僧有純). Because of the strategic position of the temple (it is located where Mt. Takamaru (高丸山 Takamaru-yama) and the Yoshino river meet), it was used as a fort during the Sengoku period (±1467-±1568). In the late Tenshō period (1573-1592) the temple, along with several precious objects, was burned to the ground by the Chōsokabe-clan (長宗我部氏). In 1863 the temple was again destroyed by fire. The next year the temple was rebuilt to its present state, under supervision of the monk Sō-Yūkei (僧有圭). edit
Miki residence (三木家住宅 Miki-ke Jūtaku), 木屋平字貢, ☎ 63-2177. Opened April-November, from 10:00 until 16:00. Opened on saturdays, sundays and holidays. The Miki residence (三木家住宅 Miki-ke Jūtaku), a traditional wooden house with a thatched roof (茅葺き屋根 Kayabukiyane) was built around the start of the Edo period (1603-1867). It shows characteristic elements of old samurai residences (武家屋敷 Buke Yashiki). Being the oldest surviving privately owned house in Tokushima prefecture, in 1976 the residence was awarded the status of 'Important Cultural Property' (国指定重要文化財 Kuni-shitei Jyūyōbunkazai). Furthermore, 45 ancient scrolls dating back to the Kamakura period (1185-1333) and Muromachi period (1336-1573) were found here. These scrolls were awarded the status of 'Prefecturally Recognized Cultural Property' (県指定文化財 Ken-shitei Bunkazai). According to several medieval texts, the Miki family had close connections to the Awa Inbe clan (阿波忌部氏 Awa Inbe-shi), which was responsible for ceremonial affairs at the imperial court. Presently, the Miki family takes care of the residence. Next to the Miki residence is the Miki residence museum (三木家資料館 Miki-ke shiryōkan). Free admission. edit
Kawai mountain pass weeping cherry trees (川井峠のシダレザクラ ''Kawai-tōge no shidarezakura''). Along route 438, near the Kawai tunnel, on the slope of the mountain, there are about 20 weeping sakura (cherry blossom) trees. Sakura blooming season is generally between late March and mid April. The weeping sakura trees bloom about one week after the regular trees (which aren't on a slope). edit
Folklore museum (民俗資料館 ''Minzoku shiryōkan''), ☎ 63-2177. Opened April-November, from 09:00 until 16:30. Closed on the 2nd and 3rd wednesday of the month (except in July and August). Old texts, tools and objects from the area are displayed here. Free admission. edit
With a height of 1955 meters, Mt. Tsurugi (剣山 Tsurugi-san) is the second highest mountain in western Japan. At the top, there are splendid panoramic views of the area, and on clear days one can see as far as the Seto Inland Sea. Mt. Tsurugi opens on May first (剣山山開き Tsurugi-san yamabiraki), as it is closed during winter.
There is a cable lift available (see below) that takes you from 1420 meters up to 1750 meters (about half way up) in 15 minutes (about 50 miuntes by foot). From there, it's about a 40 minute climb to the summit. From the Mt. Tsurugi summit, you can also walk to the summits of neighbouring mountains. Ichinomori (一ノ森) (1879 meters) is about a 50 minute walk to the east. Jirōgyū (ジロウギュウ)(1929 meters) is about a 60 minute walk to the west. There are sleeping accomodations available near the Mt. Tsurugi and Ichinomori summits (see 'Sleep').
Mt. Tsurugi cable lift (剣山観光登山リフト Tsurugi-san kankō tozan rifuto), Miyoshi-shi, Higashiiya sugeoi 205-2, Minokoshi, ☎ 0883-67-5277, . The lift operates from mid April until the end of November, but may be closed if the weather is bad. Normal operating hours are from 09:00~16:30 (going up from Minokoshi station) and 09:00~16:45 (going down from Nishijima station). During summer (July 23rd~August 28th), operating hours are as follows: 08:00~17:30 (going up), 08:00~17:45 (going down). A one way trip will cost ￥1000 (adult) or ￥500 (child). A return trip costs ￥1800 (adult) or ￥850 (child). Group discounts are available from 25 people and up.edit
Mima Sky Sports (美馬スカイスポーツ ''Mima Sukai Supōtsu''), 美馬市美馬町三頭山, ☎ 090-1176-5651. Opened all day, every day. Paragliding (advanced level)edit
Mima Motor Land (美馬美馬モーターランド ''Mima Mōtārando''), ☎ （0883）63-2926, . Opened from late March until early December, on saturdays and holidays. Open from 09:00 until 17:00. May be closed on rainy days. Motorcross track. Located about 30 minutes by car from Sadamitsu train station. Free parking for up to 50 cars. The track itself is 1.6 kilometers long, and between 5-8 meters wide. ￥2000. edit
Shikoku Country Club (四国カントリークラブ ''Shikoku kantorii kurabu''), Anabuki-chō, Anabuki, Aza-Okanoue 200, ☎ 0883-52-3115, . Golf club.edit
Grass ski slope at the Nakōyama plateau
Grass skiing (グラススキー Gurasu sukii), 木屋平字太合カケ445-1, ☎ 68-3422, . Opened from the 4th saturday in April until late November. Closed on wednesdays. Open from 09:00 until 16:30. Located on the Nakoyama plateau(中尾山高原 Nakoyama Kōgen). In 2000, the Junior World Championships Grass Skiing were held here. Equipment can be rented. edit
Nakōyama chestnut park (中尾山栗園 Nakōyama kuri-en), Koyadaira, Aza-Taigōkake, ☎ 0883-68-2111 (Mima city - Koyadaira general branch office). mid-September~end of September. The entrance to the chestnut park is free, as is the amount of chestnuts you can collect yourself. Don't forget to bring barbeque tongs, working gloves and a collection basket.Free. edit
Yokogura's tourist apple gardens (横倉観光りんご園 Yokogura kankō ringo-en), Wakimachi, Aza-Yokogura, ☎ 0883-52-0858. 08:00~18:00 (mid-August until the end of September). In the Nakagawa apple garden, one can pick and taste "Ietake Tsuruga" and sour "Sansa" apples, while at Kanezaki apple garden, one can taste the sweet "Tsugaru".￥1000 (adults); ￥500 (children). edit
Burning of New Year's gate decorations at Shirahito shrine (白人神社どんど焼き Shirahito-jinja dondo yaki). January 15th. edit
Shirahito shrine o-mato archery festival (白人神社御的祭 Shirahito-jinja o-mato matsuri), ☎ 0883-52-2644. The 14th day of the first month of the old Japanese calendar. According to an old legend, the samurai Minamoto Tametomo (1139-1177) visited emperor Sutoku Jōkō (1119-1156), who had fled to Sanuki in Kagawa prefecture after the Hōgen Revolt of 1156. Tametomo stood on the Aiguri ridge, on the border of Kagawa and Tokushima prefectures, and shot his bow. The arrow flew towards the Anabuki region, and finally landed at the Shirahito shrine. Nowadays, the bow in question is kept as a treasure at this shrine, and an archery contest is held every year.edit
Opening of facilities on the Nakōyama plateau (中尾山高原開き ''Nakōyama kōgen hiraki''). Late April. edit
Sakura viewing. Early to mid April. Particularly the cherry blossom at the Yaoyorozu-no-kami-no-goten Shrine, and the shidarezakura (weeping cherry blossoms) of the Kawai Pass.edit
Shinyama Taishi holy fire memorial service (新山大師護摩供養 ''Shinyama taishi goma kuyō''). 21st day of the 3rd month of the old Japanese calendar. Buddhist memorial service for the former Taishi (Buddhist teacher) of Shinyama.edit
Mt. Ōtaki spring fesitval (大滝山春まつり～西照神社御神楽・大滝寺柴燈護摩 ''ōtaki-san haru matsuri ~ Nishiteru-jinja mikagura / ōtaki-ji saitō goma''). 4th sunday of April. Mikagura (ancient Shinto music) at the Nishitera shrine, and a holy fire at the ōtaki temple.edit
Opening of Mt. Tsurugi (剣山山開き ''Tsurugi-san yamabiraki''). May 1st. Start of the climbing season for Mt. Tsurugi. Due to snow, Mt. Tsurugi can't be climbed during winter. Activities start around 10:30, and include the carrying of a mikoshi portable shrine.edit
Great holy fire at the Mt. Tsurugi Ryūkō temple (剣山龍光寺本坊柴燈大護摩 ''Tsurugi-san ryūkō-ji honbō saitō daigoma''). July 15th. edit
Carrying of the o-mikoshi (miniature shrine) at the Ryūkō temple (剣山龍光寺御輿渡御 ''Tsurugi-san ryūkō-ji omikoshi togyo''). July 16th. edit
Carrying of the o-mikoshi (miniature shrine) at the Mt. Tsurugi Hongū shrine (剣山本宮御輿渡御 ''Tsurugi-san hongū omikoshi togyo''), ☎ 0883-24-2287. July 17th. If the 17th is not a sunday, it will take place on the next following sunday.. edit
Anabuki river homemade rafting tournament (穴吹川筏下り大会 ''Anabuki-gawa ikada sagari taikai''). First sunday of the month. People from all over participate in homemade rafts on a 5 kilometer or 2,5 kilometer course on the Anabuki river. Teams compete for fastest times and best-looking raft.edit
Mima city fireworks display/Awa-odori event (美馬市花火大会・阿波踊り大会 ''Mima-shi hanabi taikai / awa-odori taikai''). Middle of the month. edit
Koyadaira Midori-to-Fureai (closeness with green) summer festival (木屋平緑とふれあい夏祭り ''Koyadaira midori to fureai natsu matsuri''). August 15th. edit
Mimuragaoka summer festival (美村が丘夏祭り ''Mimura-ga-oka natsu matsuri''). Late August. edit
Summer festival at Shikoku Saburō-no-Sato (四国三郎の郷サマーフェスティバル ''Shikoku saburō no sato samāfesutibaru''). Late August. This event is held every year at the Yoshino Riverside Plaza, adjacent to the Shikoku Saburō-no-Sato, and features many events, from concerts to fireworks, canoeing and Awa-odori performances. Many families come here to enjoy the final days of their summer vacation together.edit
Awa-odori dance performance by the Anabuki Ginza-kai group (穴吹銀座会阿波踊り ''Anabuki ginza-kai awa-odori''). Late August. edit
Kuchiyama hassaku dance (口山八朔踊り ''Kuchiyama hassaku odori''). Last day of the 7th month of the old Japanese calendar. edit
Udatsu festival (うだつまつり ''Udatsu matsuri''). Events in the Udatsu street area. Some years, the popular television character Mito Kōmon (水戸黄門) participates in parades.edit
O-neri spear procession at Santō shrine (三頭神社お練り ''Santō-jinja oneri''). October 16th. edit
Mima city's shrines autumn festival (美馬市内神社秋祭り ''Mima shinai jinja aki matsuri''). edit
Mima city cultural festival (美馬市文化祭 ''Mima-shi bunka sai''). Early November. edit
Mimuragaoka walking competition (美村が丘ウォーキング大会 ''Mimura-ga-oka wōkingu taikai''). Late November. edit
Shamisen mochi-tsuki (三味線もちつき ''Shamisen mochi-tsuki''). Pounding steamed rice into the dough that is used for making rice cakes, accompanied by shamisen. During the Edo period (1603-1867), when Wakimachi was a flourishing merchant town, merchants used to hire geisha to play the shamisen, and workers to pound the rice, while singing a mochi song. This was done at the end of the year. It is thought that this is how this tradition started. The current mochi-tsuki/shamisen group participates in various events.edit
Like many other Japanese cities and towns, Mima city has several famous local food products. Famous agricultural products from Mima are yuzu citrons, grapes and hassaku oranges. Yuzu are harvested in autumn, and are used in the production of, for example, yuzu juice. Hassaku are harvested before the end of December, and are then stored until they are fully ripened (around February). These oranges are slightly sour. Another famous food product is Mima-kara, a spicy condiment (kara means spicy) which is essentially a mix of organically grown green chili peppers boiled down in soy sauce. There are also four local sake breweries in Mima city, namely Tsukasagiku, Myōjō, ōga and Shinomiya. These all sell their own, hand-made sake. Another famous local drink is 'Mima-no-Sato', a shōchū (Japanese gin), made from Kintoki potatoes.
Wagasa (Japanese paper umbrellas) and Awa-uchiwa (Awa fans) are traditionally hand-made in Mima. In the past, more than 200 umbrella shops existed in the city.
Anmitsukan (あんみつ館), ☎ 0883-53-1187. The Cymbidium is a western type of orchid. Interestingly, the majority of all Cymbidiums worldwide are breeds that were 'born' in Mima. Around 40 different kinds of Cymbidium products are sold here, from Cymbidium hair tonic to wine and tea.edit
Jidaiya - Village of bamboo puppets (竹人形の里時代屋), Wakimachi, ōaza Wakimachi １２４, ☎ 0883-53-1015. 09:00~18:00. This store in the Udatsu street area sells bamboo puppets (竹人形 take-ningyō), that are depicted dancing the Awa-odori dance.edit
Airando Udatsu roadside station Aigura (道の駅藍ランドうだつ「藍蔵」 Michi no eki airando udatsu 'aigura'), Wakimachi, ōaza-Wakimachi 55, ☎ 0883-53-2333. Formerly the indigo warehouse of the Yoshida family, this building has been turned into a cafe (2nd floor)/shop (1st floor). The cafe allows for lunches as well as coffee, while the shop sells all sorts of local products, such as Mima-kara and indigo-dyed clothes and acessories.edit
Matsuri-zushi (祭り寿司脇町店 Matsuri-zushi wakimachi-ten), 脇町猪尻建神社下南202-1, ☎ 0883-53-2566. 11：30～22：00. A 'conveyor belt' sushi restaurant (回転寿司 kaiten-zushi). All 'normal' plates are ￥105. edit
Maharajah spice (マハラジャスパイス), 脇町大字猪尻若宮南118-6, ☎ 0883-53-7072. 11:00~15:00, 17:30~22:00. A small Indian restaurant. For ￥1000 you get one curry, but the naan, rice and salad (which you can get yourself from the table near the kitchen) are all-you-can-eat. The main attraction has to be the naan bread; they serve about 15 different kinds, ranging from plain and bacon naan to mentaiko (fish egg) and caramel butter naan.￥1000~. edit
Maruza chikuan (まるざ竹庵), 脇町猪尻建神社下南170−1, ☎ 0883-55-0403, . 11:00~24:00 (until 02:00 on fridays, saturdays and before holidays). An izakaya (Japanese style pub), with private rooms. From 11:00~15:00 the lunch menu is available.edit
Quench Cafe Premiere (プレミエ Puremie), Wakimachi, Haibara ２０５７−１, ☎ 0883-53-1950, . 09:00~22:00. A relatively new cafe, that serves (ice) coffee, tea, cakes, and dinner sets, among others.edit
Cafe Kadoya (cafe 角屋), Wakimachi, ōaza-Wakimachi 152-1, ☎ 0883-53-3570. 10:00~17:00. Closed on thursdays. A cute little cafe in an old building right on the Udatsu street (across the waterwell). The menu isn't very large, but the atmosphere is nice and laidback. edit
Anabuki Onsen (穴吹温泉), Anabuki-chō, Kuchiyama, Aza-Fumichō 1028-1, ☎ 0883-56-0025. checkin: 15:00-19:00; checkout: 10:00. A Japanese style hotel, with onsen (hot spring bath), located in the mountains south of Anabuki station. There are both regular rooms and pensions (the latter is specifically aimed at groups). For a small fee, the baths can also be used seperatly from the hotel. edit
Aburaya Mima-kan (油屋美馬館), Mima, Anabukicho Anabuki, Ichinoshimo 100−6, ☎ 0883-53-7733. checkin: 15:00; checkout: 10:00. This hotel, located on top of a hill not far from Anabuki station, offers both Western style and Japanese style rooms.￥8000~. edit
Business hotel Matsuka (ビジネスホテルマツカ), Wakimachi, ōaza-Inoshiri, Aza-Tatejinja, Shimo-Minami 153-1, ☎ 0883-52-1555. checkin: 15:00-05:00; checkout: 10:00. Western style hotel located not far from Anabuki station (some Japanese rooms also available).￥5040~. edit
Business hotel Inada-en (ビジネスホテル稲田苑), Mima, Wakimachi, Haibara 1001-1, ☎ 0883-52-3333. Western style hotel with single and twin rooms.￥5040~. edit
Blue Villa Anabuki (ブルーヴィラあなぶき), Mima, Anabukicho Kuchiyama, Maruyama 1, ☎ 0883-55-3777. Located about 5 minutes (by car) south of Anabuki station. Has cottages for 4-6 people (per cottage). Barbeques can be rented, and a restaurant is also available.￥8400~ (including 2 meals). edit
Kappō ryokan Taoka (割烹旅館田おか), Wakimachi, ōaza-Wakimachi 165, ☎ 0883-53-5919. checkin: 15:00; checkout: 10:00. A very small ryokan in the Udatsu street area. Includes (large and lavish) meal. Only accept cash, and reservations can only be made by phone.￥15750~ (includes two meals). edit
Ichinomori mountain cabin (一の森ヒュッテ Ichinomori hyutte), Koyadaira, Aza-Kawakamikake 571, ☎ 0883-53-5911 (in season); 0883-68-2111 (out of season). Located about 1,5 kilometers east from the Mt. Tsurugi summit. Opened from April 28th until early November (reservations can be made until November 5th).￥6000~ (including 2 meals). edit
Mt. Tsurugi summit mountain cabins (剣山頂上ヒュッテ Tsurugi-san chōjō hyutte), Koyadaira, Aza-Kawakamikake 570, ☎ 088-623-4533. Opened from Arpil 28th until November 23rd.￥4800~. edit
Minshuku Matsu'ura (民宿 まつうら), ☎ 0883-67-5009. Bed & breakfast located 100 meters from the Minokoshi lift station. Enough room for groups. ￥6500~ (including 2 meals); ￥3500~ (without meals). edit
Maruishi Parkland (丸石パークランド ''Maruishi pākurando''), 徳島県三好郡東祖谷山村名頃, ☎ 0883-88-2768 (daytime); 0883-88-2574 (nighttime). checkin: 15:00; checkout: 10:00. Hotel/campsite located next to the Okuiya suspension bridge (奥祖谷二重かずら橋 Okuiya nijū kazura bashi), not far from the Mt. Tsurugi lift. Opened from late April until late November. ￥8400~ (including 2 meals); ￥5250~ (without meals). Cabins and a campingsite are also available.. edit
Tsuruginoyu ōzakura (つるぎの湯 大桜), Koyadaira, Aza-Kawai 270, ☎ 0883-68-2424, . checkin: 11:00~21:00. Closed on mondays. For a small fee, the baths can also be used by people who aren't staying at the hotel. ￥4700~. edit
Heiseisō (中尾山高原平成荘), Koyadaira, Aza-Taigōkake 445-1, ☎ 0883-68-3422. checkin: 08:00~17:00. Opened from 4th saturday of April until 2nd sunday of November. Closed on wednesdays.￥7500~ (including 2 meals). edit
Check out the tidal whirlpools at Naruto, but confirm the times before you go — they can only be seen at certain times.
Shopping or sightseeing in Tokushima, about an hour by train from Anabuki station.
Enjoy the capital of Ehime prefecture, Matsuyama, and take a dip in the famous Dōgo onsen spa.
Visit the capital of Kagawa prefecture, which is also the biggest city on Shikoku, Takamatsu, located beyond the mountains to the north of Mima.
Visit the small amusement park (吉野川遊園地 Yoshinogawa yūenchi) between Nishioe and Kamojima stations (about a 10 minute walk east from Nishioe). It has a rollercoaster, go carts and a ferris wheel, among other things. Opened from 09:00~17:00 (until 18:00 in the summer). []