Lundin Links is in North East Scotland.
Visitors can fly into Edinburgh or Glasgow airports and base themselves in one of those cities and travel to the village as part of a day or shorter trip or go directly to Lundin Links via public transport or car.
There are buses that run directly from Edinburgh and Glasgow city centre bus stations to Lundin Links. Buses also run from Edinburgh Airport to Ferry Toll, Fife and passengers can change at that location for a connection to the village.
Lundin Links is a small village that can be fully investigated on foot. It merges into Lower Largo, birthplace of Alexander Selkirk the real life sailor that the Robinson Crusoe character was based. It is also only a short drive to the next village along the East Neuk coast, Upper Largo.
The most famous landmark in Lundin Links are the Standing Stones, or Stanes as they are locally known, and these are located on the Lundin Ladies' Golf Course. They take pride of place in the middle of the 2nd fairway and date back circa 6000 years. They look somewhat precarious, towering to heights of 14, 17 and 18 feet; one can only imagine at the amount of stonework beneath the ground and the mammoth task undertaken to transport these monsters into position.
The second landmark worth noting is the Lundin Links Hotel situated in the centre of the village on the main road. Apparently there has been an Inn of some sort at the site since the early 17th Century with the current hotel dating to 1900.
Lundin Links has two golf courses.
Lundin Golf Club, which up until 2005 was a qualifying course for the British Open. Founded in 1868, on a Tom Morris course it was extensively redesigned by five times Open Champion James Braid in 1909. The World Junior Open Championship was held there in 2010. The East of Scotland Open Amateur competition is held there annually in June. http://www.lundingolfclub.co.uk
Lundin Ladies' Golf Club is located in the centre of the village. It was consititued in 1891 and is completely separate from the Lundin Golf Club. It is a nine hole course and has an excellent, old style wooden clubhouse that overlooks the ninth green. The club only has lady members and is believed to be the oldest club of this type in existence. http://www.lundinladiesgolfclub.co.uk
Leven Road is the main route that runs through the middle of the village and this is where a small number of shops are located. There is a Post Office, chemist, hairdressers, butcher and bakers, general store, gift shop, bank and curtain and blinds shop all more or less in one block. The gift shop also has a small tea room serving the usual teas, coffees and cakes. Note: There is no ATM in Lundin Links and the bank only operates on a part time basis.
Meals are available in the Lundin Links and Old Manor hotels. Many visitors also travel the short distance to Lower Largo where The Crusoe Hotel provides bar meals and restaurant fare and the Railway Inn serves toasties, pies and soup over lunchtime and into the early afternoon. Other options include Leven, Elie, the East Neuk and St Andrews where a wide range of food is available to the tourist or casual visitor.
Lounge and cocktail bars are available in the Lundin Links and Old Manor hotels. Again many visitors travel the short distance to Lower Largo where both The Railway Inn and The Crusoe Hotel have full bar facilities. These are the two places that the majority of the locals tend to frequent and both establishments have their own unique style and character. The Railway Inn, a more traditional bar with an excellent beer garden, sells a range of real ales and a fine array of malt whisky. The Crusoe Hotel has a bar, a lounge bar and outside tables and chairs where visitors can sit and watch the activity around the small harbour.
Swallow Old Manor, 55 Leven Road, St Andrews, Leven, Fife, KY8 6AJ, ☎ 01333 320368 (email@example.com), . The hotel overlooks the Lundin Links and Leven Links championship golf courses and is ideally located for playing St Andrews, Crail, Carnoustie, Kingsbarns, Elie and Ladybank. edit