|County Offaly, Ireland located on the N52 at its junction with the R437 regional road, between the towns of Tullamore and Birr.
Kilcormac used to be called Frankford. The name Kilcormac comes from the Irish Cill Chormaic. This name is based on the local patron saint - St Cormac. It is a small town whose local population were predominantly employed by Bord na Móna to work the local peat bogs. Kilcormac is in the foothills of the Slieve Bloom Mountains. The Silver River flows through the village.
On the Tullamore to Birr Road
Walk or cycle
Ballyboy village is home to the thatched pub Dan and Molly's and features traditional music and dancing at the weekends. The old mill building has an interesting medieval carved head set into the wall. An 1816 First Fruits ruined church is prominent in the street scape.