Iffendic is a commune in the department of Ille-et-Vilaine in Brittany. The Meu river goes through the town. It is at 20 Km from Rennes and is surrounded by Montfort-sur-Meu, Bédée, La Nouaye, Breteil, Pleumeleuc, Talensac, Saint-Gonlay.
Two hypothesis exist concerning the etymology of the name of the town: "district of the yews" ("yews is "ifs" in French), or "In fine" with the suffix "ic" for "boarder village" as this territory was at the boarder of the Coriosolites' and the Redones'. Iffendic was located on the crossroad of two Roman ways; the North/South way from Corseul to Nantes and the East/West way from Rennes to Carhaix. Other older traces from the Gallo-Roman period with the menhir of Pierre Longue (Neolithic) near the villages of La Barre and Vau-Savelin are also to mention. Normans devastated the district during the Xth century and the church changed of place. The church was rebuilt in 1122 by a certain Jacob, at the place where it is now. In 1189, the church of Iffendic was given to Noirmoutier en Touraine abbey which founded then a priory in the region. After the settlement of the Benedictines, the diocese of Saint-Malo kept sizeable rights on the parish of Iffendic. The parish was divided into 11 sections, in particular to collect taxes: the town centre, Allansac, la Barre, Boutavent, Canlou, Couacurel, Pintillac, Tréez, Tréhieuc, Trévit, and Vaubeuzet. During the Middle Ages, Iffendic had many buildings on its own territory, like castles and manors. The castle of Boutavent (XIIth century) accommodated the Lords of Montfort when the castle of Montfort had been destroyed. They stayed in Boutavent during nearly two centuries before settling back to their former castle: the one in Montfort. After that, the site seemed to be abandonned but nothing proves that it hasn't been inhabited then.
The population of the town is in favour of the changes brought by the French Revolution, above all after the end of the reign of the Terror. The major revolutionary event is the one celebrating the execution of Louis XVI, accompanied by a hatred oath to royalty and anarchy. It is celebrated since 1795.
The closest airport is in Rennes.
Railway station of Montfort-sur-Meu, direct lines from Rennes.
Illenoo Bus, line 2 : Breteil, Iffendic, La Nouaye, Montfort-sur-Meu, departing from the railway station of Rennes.
Take the road RN24 (Rennes / Vannes-Lorient) and the exit Talensac-Montfort.
The Gothic style church Saint-Eloi has a stained glass window (1542). The porch (1607) is topped by a gallery used as an ossuary. The stained glass window and the gate are classified as Historical Monuments by the decree of the 11th of June 1926.
The chapel has been built in 1883 where a former chapel was built by the Lords of Montfort.
The castle of Treguil is dated at least from the XVIth century. It was the property of earls of Montfort and was also part of the defence of the town. The castle, as we can see it nowadays, is a reconstruction from de beginning of the XIXth century, around 1820. The northwestern detached house is the oldest part of the castle. It houses a wooden spiral stairway and a fireplace from the XIVth or XVth century.
Traces from the medieval commercial activity of the town can be seen thanks to several shophouses in the town centre.
It was built around 1860-1863. It had a Neo-Renaissance style but has been damaged with a fire during the night of the 27th and 28th of June 1903.
This residence was built during the XIXth century where a former manor was.
Near the land of Trémelin, the valley of the Chambre au loup has been dug by a subsidence due to rifts which appeared in the fold of the schist, and to the erosion caused by the river. This valley is also called the "Small Canyon".
The land of Trémelin is a natural site stretching over more than 220 hectares. The site has a big forest, moors, and areas classified as a natural area of ecological, faunistic and floristic interest. The site has also got a leisure base.
Departmental natural area of 96 hectares, the land of Careil gathers many birds of many different species.
Near the land of Trémelin and the Chambre au loup, the land of Boutavent is marked with the imprint of an old feudal castle built by the Lords of Montfort (from the XIth to the XIVth century). It also constitutes a "conservatory" of landscapes where forests, moors and hedged farmlands are next to each other.
Created in 2003, the arboretum offers a place for a walk in the heart of the town of Iffendic. Sculptures of local artists can also be seen on the edge of the Meu river.
It stretches over more than 300 hectares and is principally located around the land of Trémelin, the Chambre au Loup and themill on Le Casse. The trees are mostly oaks, beech and pines.
Adorned of rocky puddingstone blockfield, big cracks cut the rock. In one of them, an oak seems to be fixed to the side.
It is a place for contemporary art which opened its doors in May 2010.
Discover the natural, historical and medieval site endowed with an archaeological value.
Many activities are offered: - Tree climbing circuit from 3 years old, 4 circuits for all ages. - Electrical boats, pedalo, canoeing. - Bungee trampoline, mini-golf, playgrounds. - Supervised swimming in summer. - Challenges, track games. - Hikes, horse-rides and ATV. - Accommodation, gastronomy, and reception of groups on the scene all year. - Paint-Ball.
Climbing site in the valley of the Chambre au loup which has a dozen of different climbing circuits.
- Equestrian activities centre of Les Quatres Routes in Iffendic.
The district offers many local products:
Apple juces and vegetables.
Restaurant in the heart of Trémelin.
Traditional cooking, couscous speciality, workmen meals.
Traditional cooking, home speciality: couscous, head of veal, paella.