Elizabethtown (New York)
Elizabethtown is a city in New York.
According to H.P. Smith’s History of Essex County, written in 1885, Elizabethtown was created by the Clinton County Government on the 12th day of February, 1798. Before that date, it was a part of Crown Point. The Town’s boundaries were changed in 1808 when Moriah and Keene were created, and again in 1815 when Westport came into being. The town, which received its nickname “Pleasant Valley” from earlier travelers from Panton, Vermont, lies slightly northeast of the center of the county. The Boquet River flows northeasterly across the center of the town and the Black River forms a part of its boundary with Westport. Elizabethtown was named the County Seat in 1807 and remains so to this date. The village was incorporated in 1876, in part, to make it more difficult to move the county seat. In 1885, the Town was famous for its lawyers. Augustus C. Hand, Robert S. Hale and Orlando Kellogg, all were eminent. The Hand House on River Street stands as a monument to the stature of the lawyers who made their way to the county seat. In the nineteenth century, Elizabethtown became a resort community. Large hotels graced the center of town where city tourists would stay for the summer months. There was tennis, golf, horseback riding, walking and plenty of evening entertainment. Today, county government and its services provide most of the economy of Elizabethtown. The large hotels are gone, but smaller hotels, motels and bed and breakfasts have taken their place. The school system and churches established in the earliest days continue to thrive. People from around the country come to the Adirondack History Center Museum and the county clerk’s office to do genealogical research. The museum has exhibits on the county’s history and industry and an exquisite colonial garden.
Adirondack History Center Museum Court Street, Route 518-873-6466 - Elizabethtown's original central school provides ample space for a large collection of artifacts from over 200 years of Essex County history and culture. The exhibits cover early farming and frontier life, wilderness exploration and recreation, logging, mining, and transportation.
Cobble Hill Golf Course Corner of Route 9 and 9N 518-873-9974
Adirondack Outdoor Company 8549 US Route 9 518-873-6806
Deer’s Head Inn 7552 Court St. 518-873-6514
Arsenal Restaurant Court St. Box 577 873-6863
Bub's Pizza And Deli 3 Water St. 873-9288
Cobble Hill Inn Restaurant Route 9 873-6809
D & B Country Kitchen 873-9920
Cobble Hill Inn 7432 US Rte 9 518-873-6809
Old Mill Bed and Breakfast 8214 River Street 518-873-2294
Park Motor Inn 7529 Court Street 518-873-2233
Stoneleigh Bed and Breakfast 18 Stoneleigh Way 518-873-2669