Denbigh is a picturesque market town and one of the most historic towns in North Wales. Dinbych in Welsh means "little fortress" and the remains of the historic Denbigh Castle dominate the skyline of the town.
The town's railway station closed in 1963, today the closest railway station can be found in Rhyl, some 12 miles north of Denbigh, from Rhyl a regular direct bus service goes to Denbigh from the bus stand outside Rhyl railway station. Also regular direct bus service to and from Mold (Y Wyddgrug), Corwen / Ruthin (Rhuthun) and from Wrexham (Wrecsam) 3 times a day. Traveline Cymru  is great for planning journey with public transport.
Denbigh is easily reached by car, as it is only 6 miles from North Wales main road the A55, take exit marked St Asaph and then follow signs for Denbigh. Demnigh is 40 minutes from Chester, 1 hr 30 from Liverpool and approx 1 hr 50 minutes from Manchester.
By Foot - Denbigh is a small town, and you can easily walk everywhere in the town.
Denbigh Castle -, built as part of Edward I's 13th century campaigns against the Welsh. The castle's finest feature is its striking triple-towered Great Gatehouse bearing the unmistakable stamp of Master James of St George, the architectural genius responsible for all of Edward's major North Wales castles. Good for Ghost hunters, as the castle is haunted!! Adults £3.00, Reduced rate £2.60. Summer:- 1st April to 31st October 10.00 to 17.00
Town Walls - Stetching almost 3/4 of a mile, built around the castle. the eastern section, defended by the Countess Tower and Goblin Tower, is particularly fine.
Leicester's Church - Remains of the only large new church built in the reign of Elizabeth I. Begun by Robert Dudley, earl of Leicester, in 1578
St Hillary's Chapel - Built about 1300 as a chapel to serve the new town. The tower and a short section of the west wall survive.
Denbigh Friary - Now an ancient monument, it was founded in the late 13th Century by the Carmelite order. The buildings were changed to houses during the Dissolution and the church used as a wool store.
Eglwys Wen - less than one mile from the town for which it was the parish church throughout the medieval period, oldest part of church from the 14th century. Grave of local author Twm or Nant and other of Denbigh greats are here.
North Wales Hospital(Denbigh Asylum) - The North Wales Lunatic Asylum was the first psychiatric institution built in Wales; construction began in 1844 and completed in 1848 in the town of Denbigh. The U-shaped Tudorbethain style hospital was built due to the spreading word of mistreatment of Welsh people in English asylums; The North Wales Hospital would be a haven for welsh speaking residents to seek treatment without prejudice or a language barrier, but it was closed in sections from 1991 to 2002 and is now derelict.On October 31, 2008, Living TV's Most Haunted did a live series, The Village of the Damned on location in the North Wales Hospital which spanned over the course of a week. The producers of the show were criticized by residents of Denbigh for slurs against the town and the hospital.
On 22 November 2008, during work to renovate the building site and convert it to apartments and residential properties, the building caught fire; it was later confirmed that the main hall of the hospital was destroyed. Arson is suspected
Evan Pierce Monument - Monument to local Doctor Evan Pierce, on Vale Street. Recently renovated, nice place to relax.
Denbigh Library, Museum and Gallery - once the Market Hall building. The museum interprets the history of Denbigh showing its origins as a mediaeval settlement and its development as a cultural and industrial centre. Items featured include the town’s mediaeval charters, interpretation of the castle and town walls, civic robes and silverware and an audio-visual presentation. There are temporary exhibitions, drawing on the museum collections and those of local collectors. There is also an extensive medical collection and artefacts from the former Denbigh mental hospital. Material from the Denbighshire Record Office supplements the collection. Free Entry
St Mary's Church - The town's civic church was built in 1874 and contains several important features including a tapestry from 1530.
Capel Mawr - Built as the town's Calvanistic Methodist chapel in 1800.
Capel Lôn Swan - Denbigh's oldest chapel which was founded in 1742 and rebuilt in the 1830s.
Capel Pendref - Wales' first purpose-built Wesleyan chapel built in 1804.
Bronyffynon - Now a doctors' surgery, the building appears 18th century but conservation work revealed a medieval garderrobe and arch trusses from the late 1500s.
21-23 High Street - 21 High St is shown on maps as far back as 1611. 23 High St is of medieval origin but of late Georgian appearance, including the colonade of Tuscan columns.
Llys Gwenllian - is an earthwork motte and bailey fortress, standing against the steep slope to the Afon Ystrad. The low ditched polygonal motte and the large rectangular bailey platform, are surrounded by a ditch, with the remains of a counterscarp bank.
Gwaenynog Hall - Gwaenynog Hall has had many famous visitors over the centuries, including Dr Samuel Johnson and Beatrix Potter. It was here that the Flopsy Bunnies lived and where Mr McGregor's shed is sited. The gardens are opened to the public in the summer months.
Gwasg Gee - Gwasg Gee was one of the principal publishers of Welsh language books for almost two centuries. It ceased publishing in 2001, housed in grade 2 listed building.
Roll the Barrel - the popular roll the barrel event in Denbigh, which has been staged on Boxing Day annually since 1958. Hundreds of spectators gather at the top of Denbigh to watch the traditional Boxing Day festivities, which includes the barrel racing in addition to the Flint and Denbigh Hunt, which is presented with the stirrup cup by the mayor of Denbigh.
Denbigh Market - Held every week on wednsdays, outside town hall.
Denbigh People's Market - This small but friendly Peoples Market, sells a range of locally produced product. Held at Denbigh Town Hall on the last Friday of each month 9.00am - 2.00pm
Denbigh Midsummer Festival - A cocktail of poetry, music, dancing, walks & talks, films, boules, ball drop, local and French markets, fun fair & more!! Entrance from free to £5.
Cymru Cuba Salsa Festivals - Annual festival celebrating the links between wales and cuba - Live salsa music with world class Cuban band Omar Puentes and "Cubanias".
Denbigh Show - Offering a great variety of family entertainments, and bringing together a whole host of local organisations in a celebration of the best of the Town. The Flower Show is still a main feature of the day.
Gwaenynog Country Show - This show is held in the grounds of Gwaenynog Hall. A show for the whole family. All proceeds from the weekend are donated to local charities. Exhibits: Vintage vehicles and machinery, tractors, motorcycles. Ring Events: Dogs and Horses - lots going on in the ring daily
Children's amusements, bands - Garden open - Hot & cold food available.
Denbigh and Flint Annual Show - The Denbigh and Flint County Show presents the annual one-day event with all manner of activities. A great day out bringing town and countryside together.
Walking Festival - Organised hikes around Vale of Clwyd and Hireathog mountin ranges.
Beer Festival - annual beer festival with music including four live bands during the day. Over 35 beers and ciders to sample, all from local breweries.
Open Heritage Weekend - An array of buildings and monuments will be open free of charge, as well as many walks and tours giving you the opportunity to delve deeper into the history of each town. Everyone is invited. Many of the buildings and monuments are not normally open to the public, so this is a unique opportunity to discover the past and explore some fascinating historic buildings.
Theatr Twm o'r Nant - Local amateur dramatics, some professional shows, and monthly independent cinema courtesy of Denbigh Film Club.
Golf - Denbigh Golf Club, Bryn Morfydd Resort and Country Club and the excellent 9hole pay-as-you-play and driving range in Trefnant
Denbigh Gliding club - Located just outside town.
Horse Riding - Couple of equestrian clubs nearby.
Summer League - The only surviving summer football league in the U.K., founded in 1927 to give local farmers, who couldnt play on saturday afternoon the chance to play on summer evenings. One of the main rules of the League which makes it different from most other football institutions is that players have to reside within a prescribed boundary for that club. The League runs from mid April to the end of July and the matches are played on Monday and Thursday evenings, time depends on when the sun sets. currently it is based on twelve clubs made up of a number of beautiful villages and hamlets from the Vale of Clwyd and neighbouring Flintshire hills. Some of the pitches are in spectacular location. free entry.
Bryn Glas C.L. Campsite
Caer Mynydd Park
Llwyn Afon Caravan Park
Station House Caravan Park
Tyn Yr Eithin Farm
Hafod Elwy Hall
Cayo Guest House
Castle House Bed and Breakfast
The Golden Lion Inn