Beautiful banners are coming to every article and you can help!
Check out our guidelines and learn how to create your own!


From Wikitravel
Jump to: navigation, search

East Atlanta is the recently gentrified district of Atlanta. It includes the growing communities of Inman Park, the popular dining and nightlife neighborhoods of Little Five Points, Virginia-Highland, and Poncey-Highland. The Center for Disease Control (CDC) and one of the top U.S. research universities, Emory University, are located in this area.


Part of this district extends into DeKalb County, including the neighborhoods of Druid Hills, East Lake, Candler Park, Edgewood, Kirkwood, and East Atlanta. This article is not to be confused with the neighborhood of the same name. That neighborhood is referred to as East Atlanta Village.

Get in[edit]

MARTA Rail East-West Line stops in King Center (E2), Inman Park/Reynoldstown (E3), Edgewood/Candler Park Station (E4), and East Lake Station (E5). Interstate 20 is also close.


  • Freedom Park/Carter Center
  • Highland Avenue
  • Fernbank Museum




  • Thumbs Up Diner, 573 Edgewood Ave, SE, +1 404 223-0690, [1]. Known for its great breakfast options, the line is often out the door. Check the house rules before going!  edit


  • Pure [2] - Same name as the popular Vegas club, Briarcliff area.
  • Velvet Room [3] - Formerly located in Midtown, now located at the Northeastern edge of Atlanta.
  • Joe's Coffee [4] - Easily the comfiest coffeehouse in Atlanta, it sports a mix of hipster and modern decor, free internet, and late hours. If you want a quieter place for a intimate conversation or some great me-time to read your favorite book, come here.
  • Argosy, 470 Flat Shoals Avenue Southeast, Atlanta, GA 30316, (404) 577-0407, [5]. A top-notch Gastropub in the tradition of The Porter or Brick Store Pub. Often featuring Tap takeovers and special events. A can't miss stop for visiting beer-snobs  edit


Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory, 130 Clairemont Avenue, +1 404 371-0204, Hotel with suites and a conference center; has an indoor pool; one block from Decatur Square and near MARTA's Decatur Station.

Get out[edit]


This article is an outline and needs more content. It has a template, but there is not enough information present. Please plunge forward and help it grow!



Destination Docents

In other languages